We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Things Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Was using this venue for a recent event, everything was very well prepared for the event, from testing of av equipment, to layout of tables, integrated sound system etc. The day went well but its made all the easier when the team at Ballygarry carry out their duties in a very unobtrusive manner. Very impressed with the attention to detail and will be recommending this venue to other colleagues who may visit this part of the country from time to time

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrenjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Barrenjoey,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read your great feedback and will pass your kind words on at our next staff meeting.

I look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to Ballygarry House.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
There are newer reviews for Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Lovely setting, bar is a bit small, but very pleasant. Main complaint is that the service is as slow as ever. On sitting down we waited over 10 minutes before a waiter came round, then another 25 minutes for the lunch to arrive. As for desert, we had to get up to the counter to attract someones attention to get service. Food was average, not good enough for the price you had to pay.
So if you are on a tight time limit for your lunch, i would give this place a miss.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank triplover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Triplover51,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have noted your comments which are not ones which we would expect to receive. The bar does get very busy, and with our recent new menu changes even more so.

I do hope you will revisit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Located a couple of miles outside town, Brook's restaurant in the Ballygarry Hotel is excellent. Staff are welcoming and professional. Food was superb, a traditional menu but many innovative and imaginative twists. If you are staying in town, you will need to get a cab there and back, but it is well worth the effort. Prices are a little above average, but food and service is top notch.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Caoimhin1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Joseph Dublin,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent meal at Brooks Restaurant. Your kind comments are much appreciated and I have passed them to all of out team.

I hope you will have the opportunity to revisit Ballygarry House again soon.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We made a stop at the bar in Ballygarry House Hotel for Chowder and Fish Cakes yesterday. I had the the Chowder which comes in at under €6 served with the usual brown bread and my husband had the Fish Cakes, which were served with Fries and Salad and were under €11. Both were delicious. The bar is very cosy, seems to have a lot of locals mixed with passing trade. Highly Recommend. It's not my first time eating in Ballygarry and I must say I have never been dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globezila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Globezila,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your meal in our Bar. I have passed this on to Brid our Bar Manager, and our restaurant team who were delighted with your kind words.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in the Tralee area. Rooms are spotlessly clean and a good, generous size. Food in both the bar and the restaurant is excellent, not fussy and with the emphasis on quality.
The Spa is a great place to spend an hour or two relaxing and the staff throughout the hotel are excellent ambassadors for the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The gardens are clean and picturesque....it would be nice to be able to take breakfast in the gardens on a fine summers day.
It's a shame that the hotel doesn't have a gym but the positive aspects more than make up for that....take a long relaxing walk around the area and a suana in the spa instead!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ormerodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My daughter booked me a treatment with a meal and overnight B&B. Our room was in the eves of the building with a fabulous view though my bed was 2 singles pushed together & I found myself slipping through the middle. However. It was a lovely comfortable room. The 3 course meal was second to none with excellent table service. The treatment was extremely relaxing and we made use if the Canadian hot tub & sauna & steamroom. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was fabulous value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently stayed here while attending a wedding and i found it a fantastic place to stay. It is situated a few minutes drive from the town of Tralee so you have the feel of a country house hotel. We where greeted with an extremely warm and friendly welcome when we checked in and the decor of the hotel is very good. Its clean and modern and the rooms where extremely cosy and comfortable. The Thermal Suite in the Spa was one of the high points and again the staff to greet us in the Spa where friendly and chatty with all guests. The Termal Suite was very clean and had a very high standard, one of the highlights being the outdoor hotub. The bar in the hotel downstairs had an intimate cosy athmosphere and the breakfast on both mornings was first class and i could not find fault with it. We attended a wedding in the hotel and the venue was pefect, beautiful surroundings and an ideal setting for the special occasion. If you are planning a wedding it would be worth checking this place out as it was voted number one venue for weddings recently and i can see why after our stay. Overall if you are staying in Tralee then you must stay at this hotel, its warm friendly athmosphere plus reasonable rates gives this 4 star hotel a 5 star feel. Its also close by to Killarney so it is very easy to commute. Also If you are looking for somewhere to eat in Tralee then i would recommend you try Bella Bia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Walshey1977,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended, and your stay in general. I have passed on your review to our staff who will be delighted with your feedback.

Kindest Regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
614 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
540 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £91 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing