We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Tralee by a long shot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best in Tralee by a long shot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Ballygarry for a friend's wedding. We had eaten lunch there a few times in the past but it was our first time staying. The thing that stands out most is the friendliness and attitude of staff. This would match the best in the world. The room was big, clean and fresh. Nightly turn down service was a nice touch. The food at the wedding was good but again the service shone through. As my wife was breast feeding she had to leave in the middle of the meal to feed. However there was absolutely no problem in getting the main course and dessert brought to the room.
Breakfast was a treat. Nice selection of fruit and cereals at buffet and then a lovely selection of cooked options to order.

All in all we were very satisfied and would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Munster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to reflect your experience. We do have great staff who enjoy what they do. We are like a big family if the truth be known. Good luck with your new arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    192
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
284
471
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a hotel I want to shout about .... but, keep secret too. It's just too good to share!
A truly beautiful hotel with wonderful staff, great rooms (both bedrooms and public rooms), fantastic food and the most relaxing Spa.
I visit Tralee a few times a year and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.
The Ballygarry is just on the outskirts of Tralee (about a 5 minute drive away) so you do, preferably, need a car.
I've stayed there about 10 times in total and have always been delighted with just about everything. The only (ongoing) criticism I have is that their scrambled eggs (at breakfast) are pale, tasteless and hard. It won't stop me returning though!
In November I also went to an Irish wedding at The Ballygarry and everything, from beginning to end, was superb. The Irish sure know how to do things well ..... there were even fireworks at the wedding!
I love this hotel and would highly recommend it, so if you book to stay there, have a great time but please leave a room for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sally

Thank you very much for your glowing review. You really have experienced all aspects of the hotel. Weddings have been the backbone of Ballygarry since my grandfather started the business in 1958. They thankfully run so fluidly & independent of the main hotel so the leisure guests can enjoy a really peaceful stay. We have introduced a full new breakfast menu for you to enjoy next time.

Don't keep us a secret & shout us from the rooftops of Brighton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Recently stayed with my mum in Ballygarry for a birthday treat. Have stayed a few times and this time was just as good.had fabulous treatments and a delicious dinner in the restaurant. Staff and service excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent response & belated Birthday wishes from all of us in Ballygarry. We pride ourselves in what we offer & food is a large part of any guest experience & I will ensure that the Chef & his team are made aware of your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

love this hotel and the spa its so relaxing. I have been in the spa three times before but only stayed in the hotel recently. But would definitely recommend it to any one. The staff are great very helpful the food is amazing but the spa is simply the best the prices are a bit pricey but well worth it got a back massage recently and my back has never felt so great which is great because I suffer from a lot of back problems. Also the products they use in the spa are fab and love the smell of them :) I did not want to leave the place :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Natasha

Thank you for your recent response. We love to get any feedback. The spa is a remarkable asset to the hotel & all of our staff genuinely like doing what they do. I believe it separates us in the hospitality sector. Good luck with your back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Myself and my husband stayed in this lovely hotel last weekend and our experience was very positive. From the moment we arrived to checkout, the food was outstanding, the service was very good and the staff are extremely warm and friendly. Our room was spacious and well maintained. There is an excellent spa in this hotel also. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Our room was located near the spa, one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Heidi,

Thank you very much for your great review, i am delighted that you enjoyed your trip so much and that our team here exceeded your expectations with regards to standard and friendliness. I assure you it will be shared with everyone here for them to read.

Thanks again Heidi, looking forward to your return visit.

Best Wishes and a Happy Christmas,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in the Ballygarry spa hotel, thoroughly enjoyable experience. Great accommodation - reasonably priced - and amazing cuisine. Not forgetting the attentive service. A+
A short trip from the town centre, a few minutes in a taxi - ample parking (free!) and easy to find.

I'll definitely be back!


Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikefoodnomnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your wonderful review, and thank you for taking the time to do so.

We really do love when we get great feedback on our team here.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Ballygarry House Hotel and Spa ,is the best hotel I have stayed in to date and I have stayed in a lot of hotels ,from the moment we drove down the tree lit drive I had a good feeling and I wasent wrong ,the staff ,the rooms,the food , the roaring fire in the bar the spa all 100 percent and I loved every minute i was there ,I will be making a lot of return visits to this lovely relaxing peaceful hotel and would highly recommend it Linda, Cork

Room Tip: Any of the rooms we were in 307 near to the spa .N o swimming pool but amazing spa available to hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 175LINDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you very much for the fantastic vote of confidence, we are delighted we impressed you so much and thank you for posting your great review.

Looking forward to your return trips.

Happy Christmas,

Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing