We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Retreat with the beauty of Dingle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ballygarry House was one of our favorite locations during our trip around Ireland. The staff at this upscale manor home has an attention to detail and provides excellent service. The rooms are large, comfortable beds, lots of pillows, huge bathroom, with presser/steamer and heated towel bars. We were on the top floor and had alcove windows that overlooked the gardens and the mountains in the distance. Lisa at the front desk was extremely helpful in guiding us to a local clothes store to shop for our daughter – she took the time to write out directions and she was spot on with her advice. (By the way Lisa: our daughter LOVED the clothes you recommended, thank you very much!) The breakfast was the best in all of Ireland with made to order omelets and very attentive staff. We ate dinner in The Brooks Restaurant to celebrate our 30th Anniversary trip and we had a private table in the window alcove and the chef wrote “Happy 30th Anniversary” on both of our desserts, how sweet! The library was filled with books on Irish history and I loved reading “The Music, Songs & Instruments of Ireland” next to the fire on a cool evening. We stayed here two nights and could have spent a week. We shall forever have cherished memories of our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Ballygarry House and a very happy 30th Anniversary!! I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Lisa. The bay windows in the restaurant are very cosy and comfortable and we always do our best to go the extra mile for our guests.

I hope the gardens provided a nice romantic stroll on your anniversary!!

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friends and I recently visited the Ballygarry House for a 2 night spa break... What a treat! We opted for the £150 spa package and we had full use of the thermal suite for our entire stay. Wonderfully relaxing spa.

The food is gorgeous- we ate in the bar and in the restaurant- both equally delicious. The bar is most relaxing and you do not feel the need to get dressed up.

The highlight of our stay was the staff we met- EVERYONE was friendly, approachable and most helpful without being OTT- it was not false. Nothing was a bother to them! The gentleman at reception was exceptionally helpful and came out from behind his desk to explain where everything was- a small thing but makes a big difference!

A wonderful hotel in a stunning part of the world- shall return, may even consider getting married there... one day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorr102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the kitchen staff regarding food.

In any establishment the staff are almost as important as the hotel itself and I think that Ballygarry really reflects this. Their genuine care and hospitality is something I am very much proud of and of course when the day comes for your wedding we'll be on hand to help out in any way possible

Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at a wedding. Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was pretty with a lovely view, however the sound of the fountain/waterfall was quite loud in the room ; uncomfortable! The stereo system was a welcome addition to the usual tv. The food at the wedding was fantastic. We declined brekkie the next morning and instead opted for a light lunch before departure. The delay for a toasted sandwich was ridiculous, considering we were two of five people in the bar waiting for food. Also the price for two standard toasted ham and cheese sandwiches : ordinary sliced pan, one thin slice of ham, small amount of cheese (with tomato despite requesting no tomato) and a portion of skinny fried and a small amount of green salad leaves was ridiculously overpriced at 9.95 each. This cast a poor light on my opinion of the hotel; i love hotels i love great food and i never mind paying extra for extra taste ; a standard sandwich is not extra or exceptional; the price should reflect this.

Good stay but I wouldn't consider having a simple one night break and lunch there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChefRathMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal. Weddings are a great day out and a great catch up. It's a pity you missed breakfast it's always so popular with guests.


Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have never written a review before,(mainly because I am too lazy!) but I really feel this hotel deserves a nod for a job well done. I booked a one night family package at this hotel very much at the last minute and without much research. We had a fantastic stay. The staff were friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was cosy, relaxed and inviting. This looks and feels lime a hotel that is doing well and ploughing money back into the business.The hotel both inside and out is maintained to a very high standard and the view from our room onto the back gardens was lovely.

To my initial horror, there was a wedding in the hotel the night we were staying. My husband and I had braced ourselves for lots of late night noise and general drunken, disorderly behaviour (as one would expect from any half decent wedding!). Not only did we not see the wedding party all day but there wasn't a sound to be heard all night either.

All the little extras that have slowly been stripped away from most hotels were all here. We had chocolates in our room, bathrobes and slippers.

Our room was VERY spacious for the four of us. If I was to have any gripe it would be that our bed consisted of two singles pushed together. Not a problem in itself but it could have done with a nice thick topper so you didn't feel the join. The bathroom though spotless was a little tiered looking too. But hey, you have to put these things in perspective. Did it in any way ruin our trip? No. We got what we considered a great deal for the price we paid.

I never rate hotel food. It is by and large over priced average fair from 5 star hotels down. Dinner was really very good. Service again friendly and efficient and a nice children's menu too.

And finally I have to mention breakfast. Hallelujah! It was freshly cooked! No silver dome affair with congealed eggs and sweaty bacon laying in wait to assault you senses. It is so rare these days to get a breakfast cooked to order and there is simply no comparison.

So, all in all I would recommend this hotel to anybody as a first class place to stay. Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarghMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review its a lovely compliment to hear that we were the first and for all the good reasons.

We are constantly refurbishing and enhancing the hotel and recently added a fitness suite which guest can use complimentary.

Our staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make guests as comfortable as possible. It's something that we pride ourselves and is almost a prerequisite that we look for.

As for breakfast you cant beat freshly cooked eggs!!

Once again I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back some day.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel.. So relaxing ..rooms spacious ..breakfast so good great menu....staff very friendly. Beautiful gardens...pity it was raining. We didn't mind we had a great night sleep breakfast at a good time 1030

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonedovetttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Many thanks for your review. A lovely description to give us" Heaven". Its great to get a good nights sleep especially when your not in your own bed. The staff of Ballygarry House make all the difference and I'm glad you noticed.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful stay i had here in this lovely place. Location is perfect as it is in a quiet area & not too far from the town.
My first comment is how well the flower beds looked & how tidy the parking area was kept. The staff were so nice & helpful & you could see it was a happy working environment. The rooms are top class & food is fab. The only downfall was that i wasn't staying longer.Well done to all involved..I'll be back..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank willfmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our maintenance team will be delighted to hear your comment on the flower beds, they can be a tedious at times!!

Our team have a great and very genuine approach to service and we are very lucky with the team we have.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It's a rare thing to stay at a hotel and instantly feel at home. But this hotel manages it. A pleasant combination of upscale and homely the hotel makes up for it's slightly less central location by... Well by making you feel you didn't really need to be in the centre.

A homely bar, restaurant of quality an obliging, friendly staff all add up to a relaxing stay...

Oh an generous five euro surcharge for breakfast in your room... A treat...

Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to hear you felt so welcome and at home in Ballygarry House. We try our best to make everyone as comfortable and relaxed as possible and our team are very genuine in their welcome and care of guests.

John our head chef will be delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and didn't go further than the restaurant! It's real compliment.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
785 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 14 in Tralee
1,155 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £92 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing