We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
416 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Average stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at a rate of 144 euros for each night for 2 people bed and breakfast. Check in was friendly. Stayed in room 305. When we arrived there were cookies left which was a nice welcome. The sink in our room was blocked and we told reception. We ate in the bar. The food was nice. Michael barman was most friendly. The duty manager who served us seemed in a hurry and looked at his watch while I was deciding what to order. The hotel bar was dead..no real atnosphere. Next morning our sink was still blocked. We reported it again to the accommodation manager. Breakfast was good. Slow as it is cooked to order but in fairness was nice. We reported sink again in the evening and by this stage were fed up with it. We went out for dinner in Cassidys in tralee which I would recommend. The taxi was 8 euros on way in and 11 on way back..think taxi men make prices up. When we returned sink was fixed but smell in the bathroom was vile. On check out Lisa the receptionist apologised about the blocked sink..in fairness it was not her fault but it was off putting and if in Tralee again I would try a different hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Shelly Ann,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was very disappointed to hear that the sink in your room was blocked. I have investigated thoroughly as this is not the norm and not what we would expect to hear.

I spoke with our Housekeeping Manager who remembered that you mentioned it to her in the hallway. She did investigate and addressed the blocked sink and on leaving your room thought the problem had been rectified.

Unfortunately the sink did need further attention from our maintenance team and the problem has since been corrected.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa someday.


Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    206
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
322
516
33
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely hotel. Food was delicious- the best fish and chips I've ever had- wonderful breakfast and delicious coffee! beautifully designed lobby and public spaces. Friendly staff. One particularly nice feature was a really lovely park with a nice walking trail just a short walk from the hotel. after a day of driving, this was very welcomed. we just stayed one night- the room was fine, bathroom dimly lit, and no air conditioning (it was an unusually warm day) but even with that, we slept well. excellent value.

the hotel is located just off the highway- so you can't really walk to town if that is important to you. for us, we were happy to walk in the park nearby and enjoy a very good dinner at the hotel pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel it is very much appreciated. The walking trail is Ballyseedy Woods and it's a beautiful attraction to have near the hotel and there is some fantastic history attached to the woods

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your fish and chips and of course the most important meal of the day breakfast.....

Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding. We booked into our room which was spotless, really comfortable, nice touches like bottled water. The bathroom had a bath and a shower, only minor issue here was the lack of good lighting for putting on make up.
The gardens of this hotel are fabulous, especially at night when they are all lit up. The wedding itself was simply magnificent, the food was the best I have ever had at a wedding, the service was second to none and the staff were so pleasant and professional.
All told we cannot wait to go back here...superb hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lovely garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of Ballygarry House. We always aim to go the extra mile for our guests hence the bottled water and extra little touches.

We are very lucky with the great team we have here and the staff certainly do make all the difference.

The gardens are a lovely touch and great for an after dinner stroll after dinner.


Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the fabulous Ballygarry House Hotel yet again this week and the standard's and facilities are still among the best I have encountered. I stay away in hotels on business most weeks in Ireland and the Ballygarry is by far the best experience. Rooms, food, overall ambience/facilities and most of all the courteousness, friendliness and professionalism of the staff leaves little room for improvement. You can even get a complimentary coffee to go on checking out. Unfortunately I didn't get an opportunity to try the pool/spa on this occasion. I will continue to return to this hotel time and again.
Des Kildare

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all your visits. You will have to try out Nadur Spa and our new fitness suite if you have the time.

Coffee on departure is really popular and our guests are delighted to be offered a little pick me up for the onward journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagenalstown, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent, room was spotless. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff who were very helpful and polite. Cant wait to go back for a non business visit and try the spa!! Definately recommended. Just outside tralee.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

Nadur is a real treat and well worth another visit to Ballygarry House.

Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ballygarry House was one of our favorite locations during our trip around Ireland. The staff at this upscale manor home has an attention to detail and provides excellent service. The rooms are large, comfortable beds, lots of pillows, huge bathroom, with presser/steamer and heated towel bars. We were on the top floor and had alcove windows that overlooked the gardens and the mountains in the distance. Lisa at the front desk was extremely helpful in guiding us to a local clothes store to shop for our daughter – she took the time to write out directions and she was spot on with her advice. (By the way Lisa: our daughter LOVED the clothes you recommended, thank you very much!) The breakfast was the best in all of Ireland with made to order omelets and very attentive staff. We ate dinner in The Brooks Restaurant to celebrate our 30th Anniversary trip and we had a private table in the window alcove and the chef wrote “Happy 30th Anniversary” on both of our desserts, how sweet! The library was filled with books on Irish history and I loved reading “The Music, Songs & Instruments of Ireland” next to the fire on a cool evening. We stayed here two nights and could have spent a week. We shall forever have cherished memories of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Ballygarry House and a very happy 30th Anniversary!! I'll be sure to pass on your thanks to Lisa. The bay windows in the restaurant are very cosy and comfortable and we always do our best to go the extra mile for our guests.

I hope the gardens provided a nice romantic stroll on your anniversary!!

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friends and I recently visited the Ballygarry House for a 2 night spa break... What a treat! We opted for the £150 spa package and we had full use of the thermal suite for our entire stay. Wonderfully relaxing spa.

The food is gorgeous- we ate in the bar and in the restaurant- both equally delicious. The bar is most relaxing and you do not feel the need to get dressed up.

The highlight of our stay was the staff we met- EVERYONE was friendly, approachable and most helpful without being OTT- it was not false. Nothing was a bother to them! The gentleman at reception was exceptionally helpful and came out from behind his desk to explain where everything was- a small thing but makes a big difference!

A wonderful hotel in a stunning part of the world- shall return, may even consider getting married there... one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorr102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to the kitchen staff regarding food.

In any establishment the staff are almost as important as the hotel itself and I think that Ballygarry really reflects this. Their genuine care and hospitality is something I am very much proud of and of course when the day comes for your wedding we'll be on hand to help out in any way possible

Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
439 reviews
8.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,105 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
838 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing