We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must see this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You must see this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've stayed at the Ballygarry House twice this year and I have to say it is simply amazing. To say its a 'home away from home' doesn't do it justice. The service levels, the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff and the quaintness of the hotel & surroundings are second to none. The first time I stayed their it was the 5th night in a row they had a major wedding on and yet still the quality of food, attentiveness of staff, cleanliness and overall service levels were impeccable. I would have no hesitation recommending.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the function room to be sure of a quite room and be closer to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishtankdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay on both occasions. We have a great team here at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa and they make the hotel what it is with their attention to detail and customer service.

Once again many thanks for your review and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ballygarry House in the future.

Regards
Padriag McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    192
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
284
471
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuam, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

You can keep all your fancy advertising, it was by chance i was sitting at work eating my lunch when a work colleague mentioned a stay they had at the Ballygary hotel Tralee and said it was fab, we arrived and greeted by lovely smiles at reception, to give you a brief insight, this was our first break since i had my stroke, we started of in Cork and although we where enjoying this break neither of us really relaxed totally due to the riggers of the last 12 months until we got to this hotel, the staff are amazing, the hotel beautiful, we ate 1 night in the restaurant which was lovely but 2 nights in the bar which i preferred, mainly as there was a bit more for me to see, the spa was fabulous again 5 star staff. its only a stone throw to Tralee. there is only a few hotels i earmark for a return visit as i like to try different places but we will be going here again. Jon from Galway

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonmcginley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jon,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was thrilled to read it and read that you felt so comfortable and relaxed staying with us. We have a great team here and they do go above and beyond to welcome guests and make their stay as enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Myself and 4 girlfriends stayed in Ballygarry for an overnight spa break last weekend and had a really nice time. The spa was great, I opted for the pregnancy massage which was excellent and just what I needed. The other girls all enjoyed their treatments & the relaxation room & thermal suites were lovely. We had some food from the bar which was very tasty & enjoyed sitting out in the sun to eat it. The best bit for me was dinner that night in the restaurant, the food was really superb & the service v good. It was top notch & everyone really enjoyed what they that. The superior room was v spacious, well decorated and had everything we needed. I loved the cooked to order breakfast the next morning, there was a lot to choose from which is so much better than the standard buffet you get in most hotels. I must compliment Ballygarry on their excellent staff - they are all so attentive and welcoming. I hope to have an excuse to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Nádúr Spa is a great treat and a great way to rewind and relax. I have passed your review onto Gina our Spa Manager Gina and her team were delighted to read your great praise for them.

We have a great team at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa and its fantastic when we hear feedback like yours.


Kind Regards
Padriag McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night during our travels around Ireland. We would highly recommend Ballygarry House for so many reasons! First would be the service at the bar and lounge. We had such a friendly bar tender and server! They made us feel very welcomed. Second would be the cleanliness of the hotel- the main rooms, restaurant, bar area, mad our room- exceptional. In addition, our room was well-kept and up to date with beautiful furniture and decor. Third, breakfast was outstanding with a lovely buffet and a cooked to order breakfast. Service there was outstanding, too!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your outstanding review. The bar staff will be delighted with the praise you had for them. Orla our Housekeeping Manager and her team take great care of the hotel and this really shows.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we ensure that all our guest leave the hotel ready for the day ahead!!

Kind Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
394 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at a rate of 144 euros for each night for 2 people bed and breakfast. Check in was friendly. Stayed in room 305. When we arrived there were cookies left which was a nice welcome. The sink in our room was blocked and we told reception. We ate in the bar. The food was nice. Michael barman was most friendly. The duty manager who served us seemed in a hurry and looked at his watch while I was deciding what to order. The hotel bar was dead..no real atnosphere. Next morning our sink was still blocked. We reported it again to the accommodation manager. Breakfast was good. Slow as it is cooked to order but in fairness was nice. We reported sink again in the evening and by this stage were fed up with it. We went out for dinner in Cassidys in tralee which I would recommend. The taxi was 8 euros on way in and 11 on way back..think taxi men make prices up. When we returned sink was fixed but smell in the bathroom was vile. On check out Lisa the receptionist apologised about the blocked sink..in fairness it was not her fault but it was off putting and if in Tralee again I would try a different hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Shelly Ann,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was very disappointed to hear that the sink in your room was blocked. I have investigated thoroughly as this is not the norm and not what we would expect to hear.

I spoke with our Housekeeping Manager who remembered that you mentioned it to her in the hallway. She did investigate and addressed the blocked sink and on leaving your room thought the problem had been rectified.

Unfortunately the sink did need further attention from our maintenance team and the problem has since been corrected.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa someday.


Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely hotel. Food was delicious- the best fish and chips I've ever had- wonderful breakfast and delicious coffee! beautifully designed lobby and public spaces. Friendly staff. One particularly nice feature was a really lovely park with a nice walking trail just a short walk from the hotel. after a day of driving, this was very welcomed. we just stayed one night- the room was fine, bathroom dimly lit, and no air conditioning (it was an unusually warm day) but even with that, we slept well. excellent value.

the hotel is located just off the highway- so you can't really walk to town if that is important to you. for us, we were happy to walk in the park nearby and enjoy a very good dinner at the hotel pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Ballygarry House Hotel it is very much appreciated. The walking trail is Ballyseedy Woods and it's a beautiful attraction to have near the hotel and there is some fantastic history attached to the woods

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your fish and chips and of course the most important meal of the day breakfast.....

Regards
Padraig McGuillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding. We booked into our room which was spotless, really comfortable, nice touches like bottled water. The bathroom had a bath and a shower, only minor issue here was the lack of good lighting for putting on make up.
The gardens of this hotel are fabulous, especially at night when they are all lit up. The wedding itself was simply magnificent, the food was the best I have ever had at a wedding, the service was second to none and the staff were so pleasant and professional.
All told we cannot wait to go back here...superb hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lovely garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of Ballygarry House. We always aim to go the extra mile for our guests hence the bottled water and extra little touches.

We are very lucky with the great team we have here and the staff certainly do make all the difference.

The gardens are a lovely touch and great for an after dinner stroll after dinner.


Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing