We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb place”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place to stay with family. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay. Aine working in the restaurant needs a special mention, so friendly and extremely helpful. Beautiful hotel with even more beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Laura,

Its great to ready such a fantastic review. Aine will be delighted with the feedback along with the rest of staff. They really do go above and beyond to help our guests out. The gardens in the hotel are a fantastic feature and even better on a sunny day. If you visit gain you will have to go exploring and look for our vegetable patch!

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    213
    50
    17
    9
See reviews for
353
536
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently stayed in Ballygarry house as mother/daughter trip and it was really enjoyable. The hotel is situated in a beautiful spot with lovely walks nearby. It is a beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming at reception. Rooms were at little warm as the weather was hot but this was solved with a fan supplied. We stayed in a superior room. Bathrobes were supplied. We had a choice of bath or shower. We were on a spa package break. The spa was lovely, so welcoming, loved the outdoor hot tub and the facial was really good. We also had dinner included one night which we enjoyed. The breakfast was freshly made, I had pancakes each morning and my mother had eggs Benedict. We also ate in the bar and had drinks in the bar. The staff here are really professional, friendly and seem to aim to please. Looking forward to returning here soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with your mother. We have a great team of management and staff and always go that extra mile for guests.

Once again many thanks for your time to write such a lovely review.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel.The rooms are a lovely size and very clean. The food and service in the bar were excellent and the staff were very obliging and friendly. Would be happy to stay here again if I visit Tralee in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamus123208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Seamus,

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We have a great team here at Ballygarry House and they really do make the hotel what it is.

If you ever do get the chance to return to Kerry we'd be delighted to welcome you back.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Charming hotel with beautiful grounds and a wonderful restaurant. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable, and lovely. A walk around the hotel and gardens is a must. Loved this place. My only bad point about staying here is that it's not within walking distance to the city center.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room that faces the back of the hotel so you can enjoy the beautiful gardens and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJoan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the the time to write a review on Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. The gardens are a delight to walk around and I great way to enjoy the peace and quiet of Ballygarry House.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed many times and it always comes up to high standards. The hotel is just wonderful. It is not a huge hotel, which is one of the reasons we love to stay here. The staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic. Well done Ballygarry House Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Maria,

Many thanks for your lovely review. It's great to see people return to the hotel time and time again. We always try to ensure that our returning guests enjoy themselves as much as their first visit.


We have a great team of management and staff here at Ballygarry House and I can truthfully say that they always go the extra mile for our guests.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Ballygarry house for one night recently and found it a wonderful experience.
We had dinner in the hotel and it was very very good.The grounds were a joy to explore.
The bedroom was beautiful and spotless.
The spa is well worth a visit.
The staff were welcoming and very helpfull.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jose074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jose,

Many thanks for your review. It was a delight to read as you really enjoyed every aspect of the hotel our staff will be delighted with the feedback. The gardens are great for exploring especially with family and with Ballyseedy Woods on our doorstep what more could you want for exploring!!

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights last week with my wife & two small children. We were made so welcome by the great staff and this continued throughout our stay. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic! Location wise it was perfect, just on the outskirts of Tralee. I would absolutely recommend this hotel as a family base for a few days discovering Kerry. Very relaxing indeed... even with two small kids! Only thing this place is missing is a swimming pool. Apart from that it's faultless. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Owner at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Ballygarry House. I was delighted to hear that you had such a great welcome from staff. We have a great team of Management and Staff and alot of our team have young families themselves so I suppose they know what a guest needs when it come to the little ones.

Our location is a great base for exploring Kerry and there's lots to do in and around Tralee for families.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa and I would recommend a little walk around Ballyseedy Woods with the children they will love it.

Regards
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,129 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
863 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing