We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2010

myself & my fiance just had an amazing 3 night stay ,this was by far the best hotel i have stayed in throughout the country,The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming and always had a smile for you,the rooms were huge the only problem was i found our room to be very hot and a stuffy even with the window open at all times! might have just been our room... we had a buffet breakfast on each morning which was delicious & very good quality, we also had a 3 course evening meal which was beautiful and the dining area was also intimate & cosy.we had access to the thermal suite of the nadur spa as a resident which was excellent and had a sauna, steam room, outdoor hot tub and a relaxation room with views of the mountains which i found amazing and the most relaxing experience i have had at a hotel,this hotel has great attention to detail and a very high level of service with genuinely friendly and inviting staff the whole place and grounds has an ambience about it that you cannot help but be relaxed, i will definately be returning and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

Ballygarry is a hotel run with old fashioned good service. The overall ambience is excellent and they take care of guests very well. As a frequent visitor to the bar though i would say the bar food is well overpriced and average in quality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chestydeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The hotel I usually stay in was fully booked and there was a good deal online so I decided to stay here for one night only. I knew Balygarry from attendig several weddings over teh years and was apprehensive that with such bustle i might not get a decent night's sleep.

When I arrived I got an extrordinary welcome - I was greeted by name almost before I reached reception. I was a bit uneasy when i was told that there was a dance on that night but was invited to attend as a guest of teh hotel (great tactical move!) and assured that it would end by midnight.

What can I say about the room - it was magnificant - old world charm with all mod cons. Very small quibbles - the TV had seen better days and a previous occupant of my non-smoking room had clearly been taking a "fag break" by sticking his head outside the window to avoid the smoke detector (the evidence was in the gutter outside). I did hear the distant rumble of the band downstairs but, as promised, it was over by midnight and slept like a baby.

Breakfast was a buffet with tea/coffee and toast brought to the table. Well presented and hit the spot properly.

As arnold would say: I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

What can i say....Beautiful hotel,,Wonderful Staff,,,And delicious food. Top marks for this hotel A1.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

this is a lovely hotel the food was top notch and the staff were extremely nice and helpful.
There are beautiful gardens to stroll around.The outdoor hot tub was fab. We upgraded to the master suite it was lovely with fantastic views and privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexieellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Fantastic Hotel...one of the best I've ever stayed in...a wonderful experience for start to finish...it's just a lovely place, in a lovely setting, run by lovely people, great food, great bar, very friendly staff (Nuala, Ivan spring to mind)...stayed twice, in Feb 08 and April 09...worth the drive to Tralee just to stay at Ballygarry alone.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon02010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This is the first review I have written for trip advisor and only signed up to comment about the marvellous stay we had here.
We stayed in the hotel back in february and from the moment we arrived everything about the stay was fantastic. The staff were second to none, and having stayed and worked in five star hotels, they exceeded my expectations from beginning to end. The property itself was fantastic with the most relaxing and well presented spa I have been in in ireland. The rooms were spacious, immaculately clean and the beds so so comfortable.
Overall a five star experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwmbran2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
760 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
785 reviews
7.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
577 reviews
2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £91 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing