We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have stayed in Tralee before, but now will never look further than the Grand for all of our next visits! We checked out yesterday, March 11, and I could easily have stayed a few more days. The central yet quiet location was perfect to walk everywhere, and the cozy fireplace in the lobby begged you to put your feet up and have a pint. We had a triple room that easily would have accommodated 5 with free WiFi and modern bath. The full cooked to order breakfast was delicious as was our lunch in the hotel restaurant, Samuel's the day prior. But the staff is the secret to this Grand Hotel..they are friendly, efficient, personal, and become friends before you leave. As a travel agent from the US, now living in Dublin, I believe that service is half of the stay, and the service here is over the top- We were concerned about parking as it is limited (they are working on that tho) but with good advice and assurances that we could park out front while we attended a christening with no worries-a huge relief to us-at no cost either. Hotel is literally steps away from shopping, restaurants, attractions and pubs-checkout Paddy Mac's before you come back to the Grand and relax in front of the fire! Thanks for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: There were 3 of us, my daughter is 15 an needed her own bed, the room provided had a large double, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Kathleen,

We were delighted to read your tripadvisor comments after your recent stay. Your comments are very welcome and we hope to welcome you back shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

My brother and I in our late 40s have stayed here 4 times over the last 6 or 7 years and have yet to be disappointed. We last stayed in the first week of March 2012.The hotel provides great value for money and you should ask about any offers before booking as we often get 3 nights for the price of 4 etc. The rooms are well serviced and clean and are a good size for 2 of us sharing one room and the overall ambiance of the hotel is just right. There is a lovely reading lounge on the first floor with comfy chairs. The Kerry breakfasts are excellent and set you up for long days of sightseeing. The hotel is centrally located which is great but can mean lots of noisy revellers outside particularly at weekend nights. The staff are friendly and helpful and the free and always working WiFi was an added bonus. We had snacks in the attached bar on occasions and these are good value and to be recommended. The bar seems to be one of the busiest in Tralee and attracts a range of clientele of both genders and all ages. We were also able to take our last order drinks out into the hotel lobby when the bar closed (late) and carry on drinking and conversing with some of the numerous friendly people we met during our stay..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyduff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Ballyduff100,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to hear your comments on the bar as this area of the Hotel has just been re-furbished. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is an older hotel, and there is no elevator, so be aware that you may have to be climbing a lot of steps, but it will be worth it. The rooms are nicely updated and the beds and bathrooms very comfortable and modern. The dining room is like eating in a posh club, with dark wood everywhere, and very high ceilings. Great location in the middle of downtown Tralee. The only downside we experienced was that the "free parking" seemed to be on the street in front of the hotel rather in a private lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayactive26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Stayactive26,

We were delighted to read your review on Tripadvisor. The secret of our success is the "old world charm" of the Hotel along with the kind and friendly welcome of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

After a long drive around the ring of Kerry, we ended up late in Tralee and decided to stay at The Grand Hotel. Great nights stay and props to the very cool lobby area.

Thanks to Edel for her hospitality at the front desk!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Grand Hotel a Great Location in the Kingdom

Overview

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Hotel, Tralee early February 2012 for two nights and had a very pleasant experience; the hotel offers a stay which is good value for money

Location and price

The hotel is located in the heart of Tralee with a great location on Denny Street; it offers great value for money with a breakfast that is comparable to any 5 star hotels. Parking is a total nightmare. I found it impossible to find a car parking space close to the hotel. I ended up parking the car a twenty minute walk from the hotel; however, bearing this in mind, I would not hesitate in booking this hotel again on a future trip.

Accommodation & Staffing

While I room was small it was very clean, the sheets were of a good quality and the bathroom while small was very accommodating. The hotel itself is full of character, with furniture in keeping with the architectural features of the building. The staff at the hotel could not do enough for you and we were always greeted with a smile

Food & Beverage

Without exception the food was first class, breakfast was a delight and the home made brown bread (which is made by hand in the hotel on a daily basis) is fantastic and should be sold in gift packs for export. Dinner is also of a very high standard and the price is very reasonable, the ingredients are fresh and of a very high quality. The Guinness was a great welcome to the Kingdom, the wine choice was fair, and I would have appreciated a wider variety of grapes and more knowledge from the staff of the wine on offer,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flying-Dove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a must-stay hotel - right in the middle of the town. From the minute we came in to the time we left we got VIP treatment. The staff were courteous and charming from Eileen the Manager to Billy the Night Porter.
The food was delicious. Both restaurant and bar food were excellent - great menu to choose from.
This was our third stay in this hotel and we will be returning again soon for our week-end break.
Joan & Anne

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We visited Tralee last year and stayed in another hotel but we visited the GRAND for breafast and was very suprised.Its agreat little hotel with the heart of the IRISH inside.Great food right in the centre of town.Breakfast and dinner was wonderfull, try the SEAFOOD CHOWDER is is a meal it self.The hotel makes its own BROWN BREAD it is that good we brought 3 loafs back with us to the U.K. The rooms are small but they are clean and fresh.Tea ,coffee maker in the room also a trouser press. Lots of hot water a great little hotel,The reception staff are so friendly and helpfull they make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, we had one on the back with a view of a fire escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
683 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing