We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“golf trip accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel Tralee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“golf trip accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from spending 3 nights in the Grand Hotel on golf trip playingTralee GC. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Very buzzy with great atmosphere. We were in a party of 12 but the number was easily absorbed. Both breakfast and evening meals well cooked and delicious. Hotel owners engaging and customer attentive. Excellent value for money and a must to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Great to read your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your generous comments. Your party were delightful to deal with and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    204
    59
    24
    18
See reviews for
189
237
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Grand is a comfortable hotel with good restaurant and bar. The situation is ideal in the middle of town with shops and amenities in walking distance. Close to a number of great golf courses. Management and staff looked after us really well - nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are noisy - especially from road sweeper at 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. Our Town Centre Location is very convenient for our guests and more especially that we can now offer free car parking. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here during the Listowel horse racing festival. Good location for bus, train station and minibus.
Fantastic breakfast before setting off for day, with a good range of choices.
Extremely helpful and efficient staff dealing with our enquiries.
Like previous reviewers we used the pub next door, again excellent food and good value for money.
Overall a great hotel and will use them again next year for our trip to Killarney horse races

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for you high recommendation on Trip Advisor. Nearly every review we receive compliments the breakfast. Hopefully we will welcome you back for Listowel Races 2013.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Tralee doesn't seem very tourist-y which was quite enjoyable. The staff there was excellent. They were spot on with their restaurant recommendation for dinner. Breakfast was outstanding - it could be the typically Irish breakfast with everything! or it could be something lighter (I think I had an egg sandwich or something like that) The hotel itself was older but very charming. There was live music at the pub at the hotel in the evening which was delightful. Overall I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. The live music is proving to be a big hit with all our guests, once again our breakfast gets a high recommendation. Also, our staff were delighted to read your comments.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe-Claire, Quebec
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Tralee was the first stop outside Dublin on the itinerary suggested by an Irish-Canadian friend with years of experience organizing trips. Because we consulted him too close to the date of the departure we were not usually able to book any of the fine suggested accomodations. Therefore we used hotwire. When we arrived in Tralee and finally located the Grand Hotel my first thought was that I had made a big mistake, the facade not being all that impressive, and two seedy-looking people happening to exit the hotel door at that minute. Fortunately I couldn't have been more wrong. We spent a wonderful three days based in Tralee (July 13-15, 2012). The breakfast was included and suited us very well. We ate dinner at the bar the first evening and the food was good. The staff was very cordial and helpful. One of the young women on the front desk even helped us solve a minor electrical issue re our adaptor. The greatest pleasure of all was the bar. Each evening they had local Irish musicians, and it was a hoot! As another reviewer noted, the bartenders were excellent. I have given the hotel a rating of four simply because it is a three star facility. Our room was old, but comfortably furnished. A problem with the toilet was corrected with a call to the front desk. I don't know what the competition is like, but if you want a great time right in the heart of Tralee stay at the Grand.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanandlydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We were delighted to read you comments on Trip Advisor . Our Bar has recently been refurbished and we are constantly working on our rooms . Your comments on the Bar and the food have been very well received by the staff and they are look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Thanking you once again.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was 9.10 pm on Monday night when we arrived in Tralee and we were hoping to get a decent meal. The Grand Hotel was the first Hotel we stopped off at and we were greeted with exceptional attention. The lady in the bar was very helpful in trying to make us feel welcome - the bar was full but she made sure that we got seated very punctiually. She was exceptionally friendly and was very agreeable. The meal was excellent. We were four happy customers leaving. I would definitely return to this hotel for its very high standard of food and hospitality. It would be a place that I would feel welcome to stay. All of us were very happy with the courteous service and friendly atmosphere there. The staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Just read your review on Trip Advisor and have just passed your comments on to Bar Staff & Kitchen Staff. They were really delighted to hear that the food and hospitality were to your satisfaction and they will be delighted to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardglass, Co Down
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights, had a great stay. The staff were all friendly & welcoming especially the two men behind the bar on Firday & Saturday Night. Breakfast was tasty. Hotel was in the centre of town & a pass was provided for free parking around the corner. Couldn't of stayed in a nicer, more relaxed hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Hi Jane thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Your are just after “swelling the heads” on the two men behind the Bar. They were delighted to read your review. Good to hear that the free parking worked for you. Hopefully we will see you in the not to distant future.

Dick Boyle
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing