We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Average Food”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had Dinner this evening in the Bar of the Grand Hotel. It was very average. The Golden Fried chicken was okay. The potatoes and vegetables were tasteless. When I got the plate I was told that it was extremely hot, which it sure was. However when I tasted the food the evidence was very clear that everything was just re-heated under the grill and the vegetables and potatoes had been cooked since lunch time and then everything just stuck under the grill to re heat. Main course was €15.95 and the food was very average. I was not impressed. However the staff and service was very good and the setting there is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    222
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
201
261
49
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The food is amazing and we went to the restaurant both nights. The staff were friendly and the service was exceptional. The rooms were very clean and tidy and we go there every year for a weekend break. Looking forward to next year again! :) We would reccomend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riordan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

my mother and 2 sisters stayed here last weekend--first time--def not last!
Very central location in town,very nice modern room,lovely staff,great atmosphere in Bar,Loved the breakfast---ESPECIALLY the homemade scones
and very reasonable rates---was worried about parking--but got spot on the street,directly across from the hotel

Room Tip: dont know if there was leisure centre or Gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great place, great staff, great food and atmosphere,, you would be silly to stay anywhere else whilst visiting the kingdom of Kerry,
Ger in the bar is great, but so are EVERY member of staff,
The hot toddies are mmmmmmmmmm

Room Tip: everytime I have stayed I have had a good room, x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this place at the last minute when our night's room booking fell through. It is a lovely hotel - nice room with sufficient space for the two of us and our luggage, nice pub and an excellent breakfast. The place is in the center of town. Really good value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kristamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went to the grand hotel for traditional pub food, as it was recommended by more than one local. However the experience was average for the two of us. I had a plate of mussels which tasted very nice and fresh, but my husband got the bangers and mash. I tasted the sausages and it had a very strange musky taste, and he said the potatoes were like instant flakes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed to hear that your husband was not happy with his dining experience in this Hotel. We have passed your comments onto our Head Chef. He will investigate the matter thoroughly and you can be rest assured that the necessary steps to rectify the matter will be taken. We take great pride in the quality and service of our food. We intend to maintain the high level of quality and service that The Grand is renowned for over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and recommend this establishment because the rooms are spaciouse, beds comfortable, linen clean & of good quality. The staff were always helpful & friendly. The location is perfect for visiting the sights of Tralee. The complimentary breakfast was yummy and filling, set us up for a wonderful day of seeing the sights. The bar/restaurant service was quick & friendly and the food was very good. We highly recommend The Grand Hotel Tralee.
Rachel King & Bob Garies of Invermere, BC Canada

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the front ones have a fun view of Denny Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelTralee, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Tralee, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi, we were delighted to read your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been well received by the Head Chef and his kitchen staff. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
180 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing