We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply Grand”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

On a very busy New Year's Eve, we stopped in here for something to eat without a reservation. We ate in the bar which was wonderfully decorated for Christmas. The service was excellent (even though the place was thronged), and the food was wholesome, tasty and great value for money. A really lovely experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veniredenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    212
    60
    25
    18
See reviews for
194
249
45
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hello. I just had a very tasty lunch in your bar with my daughter - which was spoiled. Lovely staff and nice food. However, I was charged €5 for a double espresso!!! I spoke to the bar manager who said it was basically two drinks in one. I pointed out that it was not in any establishment I have ever had a double espresso at before. Normally, a 50c charge for the extra shot is applied to the single espresso price. There was no offer of reducing the price to something reasonable either. This has spoiled what would have otherwise been a very enjoyable family lunch. I will not be back and I will not be recommending you to friends, family or co workers. It's a bit Irish that in 2014 you are unable to price what is a standard beverage in every other bar or cafe in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exactiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stay at the Grand while on business on a monthly basis. My experience has been one of a service focused team friendly staff and comfortable accommodation.
The food is excellent with a nice choice on the menu. The breakfast always professionally served with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had Dinner this evening in the Bar of the Grand Hotel. It was very average. The Golden Fried chicken was okay. The potatoes and vegetables were tasteless. When I got the plate I was told that it was extremely hot, which it sure was. However when I tasted the food the evidence was very clear that everything was just re-heated under the grill and the vegetables and potatoes had been cooked since lunch time and then everything just stuck under the grill to re heat. Main course was €15.95 and the food was very average. I was not impressed. However the staff and service was very good and the setting there is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The food is amazing and we went to the restaurant both nights. The staff were friendly and the service was exceptional. The rooms were very clean and tidy and we go there every year for a weekend break. Looking forward to next year again! :) We would reccomend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riordan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

my mother and 2 sisters stayed here last weekend--first time--def not last!
Very central location in town,very nice modern room,lovely staff,great atmosphere in Bar,Loved the breakfast---ESPECIALLY the homemade scones
and very reasonable rates---was worried about parking--but got spot on the street,directly across from the hotel

Room Tip: dont know if there was leisure centre or Gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Great place, great staff, great food and atmosphere,, you would be silly to stay anywhere else whilst visiting the kingdom of Kerry,
Ger in the bar is great, but so are EVERY member of staff,
The hot toddies are mmmmmmmmmm

Room Tip: everytime I have stayed I have had a good room, x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very popular spot with both guests and locals in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel it is a traditional style pub. we offer a lively breakfast & Coffee morning our in house French pastry Chef will tempt you with his freshly baked scones Irish Brown Bread Pastries and desserts. Our bar food menu is second to none and offers a wide and extensive choice to cater all tastes. The bar is a lively place to enjoy a pint & a chat at the end of a busy day. We also have a very popular Traditional Irish Music Session every Friday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing