We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel in the center of Tralee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel in the center of Tralee”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staff at The Grand Hotel were very helpful and very friendly. The breakfast in the morning (full Irish, of course) is fantastic and sets you up for the day. The food in the evening was of a very high standard and was great value. The location of the hotel could not be more central. Everything in Tralee is within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. A grand hotel indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thembi_Bubessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    215
    61
    26
    18
See reviews for
194
253
48
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

An overnight stay with young kids couldn't have been more pleasant. From the minute we walked in the door the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, the journey too it was a maze (which was fun for the kids), the palace looked really well and fresh. The shower was powerful and hot.

Breakfast was one of the best I've had.

Check was easy with no surprises on the bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay in The Grand Hotel and highly recommend it if looking for somewhere to stay in Tralee. Everything about the hotel was fantastic. Our room was beautiful. Staff were so welcoming. Breakfast was made to order which is a rare find in any hotel nowadays and it was fab as was our dinner last night. Great selection on the menu. Great atmosphere about the place. Music in the bar last night was a young man called john O'Connor and he was brilliant. It was his first night there and I would recommend the hotel to hang on to him. Could not fault this hotel in anyway. Everything about it was great and will definitely be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed with my 21 year old nephew and 12 year old. We had such a lovely experience. The hotel is such an icon in the town, old and venerable yet very well-maintained with a busy bar/restaurant which is a social centre in the county. Rooms were comfortable and spotless, breakfast was fantastic (including latte's and huge homemade scones) and the staff could not do enough for us. It felt like a wonderful opportunity to be able to stay at such a centrally-located, traditiona-yet-comfortably modern hotel at such reasonable cost. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sile_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel centrally located with lovely rooms and excellent meals The breakfast was superb!! There was an excellent choice and it was no trouble for the staff to adapt each meal to your own spec!! A good variety, well cooked and presented. We ate there 2 evenings out of three and would recomend the clam chowder!! The staff are all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here and managed to get a room without booking. Rooms could do with a little make over but they were comfortable and clean.
Unfortunately for us, it was Good Friday so no alcohol was being served anywhere in the town. The Guinness had to wait until another day.
Breakfast was nice, good selection and service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden , Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After spending 3 nights sleeping by our mothers hospital bed side,we thought of booking a hotel room ,so we could have a shower,catch up with emails (free wifi) and take it in turns to sleep in a bed and get some rest ourselves.
I explained the situation to the receptionist at The Grand (that my sister, brother and I would all be using the room at different times and taking it in turns to sleep there.) She was so lovely as were all the staff, in catering for us at this difficult time. Their kindness was exceptional and went above and beyond the call of duty!
I'm afraid I have very high standards to meet where ever I go,however, I was not disappointed.
The nicest thought is you will be offered a menu for the pillows !
Duck Down, Memory Foam,Super Soft,or Hypoallergenic. What a fantastic idea. The rooms are spotlessly clean and a great size,the bed was so , so comfortable with crisp, white linen . There is a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee on a lovely tray placed on the dressing table .
The bathrooms are fabulous with superb showers over the bath and very good water pressure.
The service in the bar and restaurant was first class along with the food which was delicious!
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you and will look forward to coming back when next in Tralee .
Thank you to all the amazing staff.
Julie Day, Lisa Davis and Alan Chick

Room Tip: Any room here will be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadStGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
509 reviews
10.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing