We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch for 33”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great lunch for 33”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our group of 33 persons was welcomed with genuine warmth and given a fine lunch in opulent surroundings. Service was first class and we were pleasantly surprised to find that one of the waitresses spoke French - as most of us were French!
All very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    222
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
200
261
49
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently visited Tralee on business and stayed at the Grand Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food was second to none. We were on what was referred to as BBD! Bed, Breakfast and Dinner and we dined out of the early bird menu which was very good. Breakfast was an absolute feast, with fresh fruit on the buffet along with a selection of fresh cereals, yogurt and the most tasty brown scones I have ever had the pleasure to sample. I can honestly say that I look forward to my next stay at the Grand Hotel in Tralee.

Room Tip: We had a small, but quiet room up the back stairs, but it was on the 3rd floor which was a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaD3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a fantastic vacation in Ireland with my wife, daughter and future son-in-law where our trip was made extra special with a stay at The Grand Hotel. The hotel overall and our room was exceptionally clean and impeccably appointed. The breakfast was terrific and quite plentiful and the location was outstanding - right in the center of town. Dick and his staff were extremely friendly, very professional and so attentive to our needs.
If you want a great place to stay that’s modern, clean and offers excellent value with an outstanding staff than look no further than The Grand Hotel in beautiful Tralee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants. UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just spent a whole week at the Grand, and have nothing but praise. We had a room up the back stairs, on the 3rd floor. Big comfortable room, with an enormous bed.
We all loved breakfast, and I would strongly recommend the breakfast scones which are probably the best I've ever had. Served warm, crusty on the outside and totally light inside. The bacon is good too! We also had several main meals at the hotel, both in the bar & in the restaurant. The standard, presentation, quality & above all taste, matches any restaurant I've ever been to. Fairly priced too. I would challenge anyone not to be satisfied by the home made steak burger, and the seafood pasta was amazing. Desserts are never disappointing either.
Bar drinks prices are low for a hotel, competing with bar prices in town.
But what really makes this hotel special is the ever smiling and helpful staff, they just make you so welcome. And it's not just the usual "Irish" welcome, as some of the staff are from other parts of Europe but still behave the same way.
I've reviewed this hotel once before, when we stayed for a couple of nights and loved it, but having stayed for a week I think it's even better!

Room Tip: be ready to climb some stairs! Eat in the restaurant if the bar is busy, it's the same price and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

35 of us descended on the grand to have a lunch. Food was excellent and good value at €20 a head. The staff were gorgeous (i know sexist) and the food great
So if you need a large party to be well fed -this is the place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've stayed for a long time, and they'll remember your needs and provide it in advance. Very good bar downstairs. Double room is big and relaxed. Single room is cozy and warm. Friendly staff. Very good location. Wifi is very fast and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely old fashioned hotel, in need of a lot of TLC
Depending where your room is situated, you either get a really good nights sleep or some amusement from the locals on way home from pub.
Wasn't too keen on the aroma wafting up from kitchen/restaurant nor sharing breakfast with ants though.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back as they are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
553 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing