We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here again with my mother and father for the first time in ten years and it is still as warm and welcoming as ever. The staff are extremely helpful, going out of their way to assist us with any enquiries that we had, and they are just generally nice people. The room was more spacious than the last time which was good and the location is brilliant; right in the heart of Tralee. The only negative thing about the hotel is there's no elevator, which can be very difficult for people with walking difficulties or problems as some rooms are located up quite a lot of stairs. I will definitely be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank XDweebieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay ,very central , food superb especially breakfast , rooms very well cleaned every day I really enjoyed the live music in bar at night and would definately recommend it to families its very close to shops ,restaurants and aquadome

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back home in Sweden after a five night stay at the Grand Hotel in Tralee and once again left there with a wonderful experince. Attention to detail, friendliness and versatility are just three of the words I would use to describe the staff there across all the departments at the hotel. It was my third time staying there with guests from Sweden and it just seems to get better and better. Old World charm and centrally located with a great restaurant, great bar, lovely rooms. We look forward to returning to the Grand in the future!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rhtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Grand Hotel in Tralee in County Kerry is indeed worthy of its name. i have been bringing small tour groups of Australians to Ireland for the past eight years and was looking for a new hotel for our four day stay in Tralee. I believe I have chosen the perfect place to stay. the hotel has several things going for it.
Firstly it has an ideal location right in the heart of town, on the edge of the shopping centre and just three to five minutes walk from the Town Park with its beautiful Rose Garden, the superb museum [not to be missed] and Siamsa Tire [the National Folk Theatre of Ireland].
Secondly the building itself is one of great character that is tastefully furnished, with many interesting items of historical interest. Thirdly the quality of meals is really excellent,whether you are eating in the elegant restaurant or the friendly bar. Finally, the staff are both really professional and most attentive to the needs of hotel guests.
During our stay a member of the group was hospitalized with a serious health issue, the support and concern received from the hotel staff was quite outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 333Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were passing through and stopped for a quick dinner and were very pleasantly surprised. The food was so tasty and flavourful and even though it was late in the evening all the ingredients were so fresh. Highly recommend the chicken wings especially!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend last year for his birthday. We loved it. The room was lovely, very clean and very comfortable. The staff were so nice and very helpful. Hope to go back soon. Highly recommend for a relaxing weekend away :)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The only negative things to mention here are the parkingfacilities, and the wiev from the room. Everything else was very fine. We had excellent food in the pub which very crowded, but thanks to waiter Danielle and Richard behind the bar, we had a very pleasent stay here. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
722 reviews
9.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £67 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing