We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Tralee
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“lovely hotel and staff”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel by far had the most friendly, helpful and courteous staff in our entire Ireland experience. The rooms, food, service were excellent and the hotel itself beautiful and distinguished - best value for dollars spent. Also in a beautiful location (the town itself was great) and near to wonderful, scenic countryside. For a 3 star hotel, I'd give it a 5. It was certainly "grand."

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittyboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    216
    61
    26
    18
See reviews for
194
256
48
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I am delighted to review this fantastic hotel, stayed here for Rose of Tralee Festival. I felt obliged to commend the staff of the hotel on their outstanding customer services skills and approachable nature. it was refreshing to deal with such a high level of professionalism carried out in a pleasant and professional manner. On many occassions both myself and partner were awed and highly impressed by their general knowledge, helpfulness and can do attitude. They often went over and above the call of duty and this I thank you for. I will not hesitate to recommend your hotel to potential guests and look forward to returning next year. Front desk, restaurant staff and Lucas the porter were extremely loyal and impressive employees whom should be highly valued for their courteous approach. Location is perfect and very central to everythinh tralee has to offer. pub is busy and food in rest and bar was very impressive. great atmosphere. Will def br going back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We were traveling through Ireland and drove into Tralee looking for a place to stay. We stopped at the Grand Hotel and we were amazingly happy with their pricing, friendliness, and especially the room. We were so happy that we decided to stay another night and just do not too much the following day. The manager was especially accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERRY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Although I didn't stay in the Hotel we ate in the restaurant on two consecutive nights and i have to say the staff were brilliant and very efficient. The food was beautiful and i would recommend that if you are in the area you go to the dining room. The bar food must be good as both evenings it was packed with visitors and locals so that is always a good sign. Prices were reasonable and choice was very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNDIFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Friendly service, Beautiful and luxurious room, located down the street from the museum and rose garden, very relaxing and very reasonnably priced accomodation.
Highly recommend the full Irish breakfast, and we also enjyed the prime rib dinner in the Hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My brothers and I have stayed at the Grand Hotel every year for the last 10 years. We hope to extend this streak for another 10 years!! We cannot imagine another hotel in Tralee that could offer their unique combination of great customer service, a friendly and engaging management and staff, a wonderful variety of great tasting, fresh food, and a location that can't be beat. Did I mention the excellent Guinness? If it wasn't for the lure of links golf at the Tralee Golf Club just outside of town, we might never leave the friendly surroundings of the hotel and pub.
Patrick D., Washington, DC

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcanputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Husband and I stayed at this lovely place in April for 5 nights for leisure and to attend a convention nearby. So glad we did.the welcome was big and genuine from every staff member without exception from reception and waiting staff to the manager Eileen who took time to talk with us.Our flights were cancelled due to volcanic ash and the receptionist was so kind in helping us book trains.We had wonderful food at their restaurant-do eat there -its fantastic and you can have meals in the bar also,better than other place s nearby by far. Its central for shopping and the museum and tourist information and we dis afantastic trip of the ring of Kerry from nearby Killarney. And we got about quite easily from Farranfore airport by local buses so manged without acar which was a treat! Room clean and nice and a very good price ,but it was the attitude of the staff that made it so special for me. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny503866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Tralee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Tralee

Property: The Grand Hotel Tralee
Address: Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tralee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#6 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Tralee 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tralee, we are the ideal location for exploring the majestic South West of Ireland. Centred between Killarney & The Dingle Peninsula, we are the perfect spot for those who wish to see it all. A renovated Victorian house which honours its rich history with added modern décor & luxuries. The Grand Hotel stands on the site of The Great Castle of Tralee. The Grand hotel occupies the liveliest kitchen in Tralee. Recognised amongst locals and visitors for its superb service & delicious display of culinary art. We offer extensive menus in The Pikeman Bar and Samuel's Restaurant. We serve from the crack of dawn (7.30am) until the faint dusk (9.30pm.): Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & everything in between! Our live music weekends are hosted Friday & Saturday with various performers. Our traditional Irish music sessions deem extremely popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel Tralee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tralee
Tralee Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing