We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful food and service”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Kerry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dreadful food and service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We went out for dinner here recently and regretted it, the staff were untidy with dirty uniforms unkept hair and dirty hands and fingernails they were barley 16 if that and serving alcohol.Glasses were dirty with lipstick stains on them and the food was mediocre, I ordered a curry which had clearly been made using a packet of sauce bought in the nearby store, will never go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mairead

It was with deep regret I read your recent review of your experience in the Imperial Hotel..

It is through customer feedback that a business improves, grows and progresses.

I take all your observations very seriously and would welcome the opportunity at your convenience to discuss the issues in greater detail.
You can contact me directly on 066 7127755.

Once again I would like to express my disappointment about your experience with us and look forward to hopefully hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards

Olive Sheehan
Proprietor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    63
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
35
55
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambeg, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

the Imperial is right in the centre of town and with off street parking is very convenient. the rooms, food and staff are great. the breakfasts were great and so was the bar food, very reasonable too. I will stay there again

Room Tip: enjoy, the rooms at the back were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed in Imperial Hotel last Weekend on the 13th Dec for two nights. Our room was excellent, very clean and spacious, the staff were very friendly, which made our stay very pleasant , anytime we visit Tralee again,we won't hesitate to stay in the Imperial Hotel.

Gene,Aine Young.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were quests of Kerry International Film Festival this October and spent there 4 nights. Great hotel and great friendly stuff! Some of the nicest people we have met during our trip around the world ;-) . What else?? Fantastic breakfasts - you must try scrambled eggs with IRISH salmon and/or an amazing goat cheese they serve. They have also a nice pub with a really good menu and are located in the centre of town which is always an advantage. Friendly atmosphere of this hotel is something we will always remember and hopefully return there next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawidMarcinkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location in the town centre was perfect for us and we stayed at the Imperial Hotel for a total of 3 days to attend my wife's daughters wedding. All the staff were brilliant and friendly, nothing was too much trouble from the moment we walked through the door. Food was excellent for breakfast and early bird dinner. I commented that their breakfast was far superior to the breakfast we had at the more expensive wedding venue hotel. We would have no hesitation in staying here again when we come back to Tralee.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back I think are quieter as Denny St is quite busy, we were at the back. Be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Thomas
Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback, it is always good to hear.
I will pass on your compliments to our staff , I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the food.
Once again sincere thanks for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel , we hope we will welcome you back on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

been here a couple of times this past year. food is good quality and value. staff friendly and obliging. a good central location in Tralee , close to main shops and the Kerry museum. a nice bar for a quiet drink downstairs and parking available close by or right outside pay and display.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Michael
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to submit your review.
I will pass on your compliments to our staff ,it always good to hear positive feedback from a regular guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon To The Imperial.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent a week-end there with a group of hill-walkers from Co. Wexford (40 in total). Every member enjoyed their stay and the attention to detail was excellent. We were looked after very well and all staff (especially Martin) were very helpful and patient with us. Would certainly recommend a stay there to anyone who is visiting the Tralee area as the hotel is very central to all amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhoteltralee, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Woolgreen

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us.
I will pass on your compliments to all our staff , I am glad you and your group enjoyed your stay with us , it was a pleasure to look after ye.
Once again sincere thanks for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel , we hope we will welcome you back to The Imperial on another occasion.
Kind Regards
Olive Sheehan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 27 Denny Street, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tralee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel, the distinctive style of services goes beyond automatic courtesy. Located in Tralee town centre, the Imperial Hotel has recently been totally refurbished to a very high standard. Double, twin and family rooms are available and are equipped with TV, direct dial telephone and complementary tea/coffee. All rooms have en-suite facilites. The hotel has a fine dining room as well as a large bar area frequented by guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing