We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service.”
Review of Brooks Restaurant - CLOSED

Brooks Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a most wonderful evening with fantastic food and service. We could not fault a thing. The seafood evening was most enjoyable and look forward to dining there again very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heather g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Heather,

Our Seafood Evening was a great night and i we are delighted you were with us for it. Your kind words will be passed on to all the team here for them to read.

Looking forward to you joining us on our next Tapas Speciality night on the 9th of May.

Regards,

Tadhg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We took part in Brooks first speciality night, which was all about seafood. It was utterly delicious. On top of that the staff was friendly, attentive and seemed to enjoy this extraordinary occasion as well. A great evening all round.
P.S. We find it particularly thoughtful that Brooks offers many wines in small quantities - not only glasses but carafes as well. Good for the person who's driving or if the members of a party want different wines!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prunellamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Prunella,

Thank you for joining us for the first of our Speciality nights and we hope you can join us again for our next Tapas Night on the 9th of May. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening so much as it is great to get such good feedback on all aspects of the night.

Thanks again Prunella,

Tadhg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Visiting the Brooks Restaurant was certainly an experience to remember, but one that I never hope to repeat and would not wish upon anyone else. If you are tempted by the AA rosette, you would be better off dinning in a local and a better restaurant. Upon on arrival I went to double check my reservation for dinner and ask for a quiet and maybe by the window or corner table, to mention that we have a 10 months baby. There's been no problem until we arrived and we have been informed by the manager on duty that our table is not available anymore, and the best they could do is a table by the entrance, where all the waiting staff were passing all the time with hot dishes. Not a Safe area for an highchair. Tried to ignore and enjoy our dinner which I have to say that the food was lovely, but again the service disappointed us. Our wine glasses were never refill and for our fish main course we had to ask for lemon, which is a Must. The hotel is very nice, but the dinning experience very disappointing.


1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Jon,

I am very sorry to hear your experience with us was not to your liking, unfortunately due to the fact that the Restaurant was booked out on that evening we could not accommodate you in the table you had requested.

I am happy to read that you did enjoy the food on the evening and on a whole your enjoyed the Hotel.

Thanks Jon for taking the time to write a review of your experiences and again i apologise for the issues you had with your table in the Restaurant.

Kindest Regards,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a delightful two night stay at the Ballygarry House and were fortunate enough to be there when they had their "Seafood Spectacular" evening at the Brooks restaurant. The restaurant setting and atmosphere were very nice. The preparation, presentation and taste of each dish were a special treat. The service was top notch. Too bad we won't be in Ireland for their next spectacular - I am certain it would be worth attending.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrP_McGillicuddy, Manager at Brooks Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hi Jack,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us back in February, our Seafood Speciality Night was a great night overall and we are already looking forward to our next Tapas Speciality Night In May.

Your review will be passed on to the team here, so thank you very much for your kind words of praise.

Kind Regards,

Tadhg McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

had a fabulous meal at the hotel just before Christmas and as usual the staff were wonderful and food was terrific. if you want a great meal go to the Ballygarry its the best hotel for miles around

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooks Restaurant also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing