We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun for everyone”
Review of Banna Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banna Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 53 Tralee B&B and Inns
Kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family fun for everyone”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Banna beach Resort has something for everyone , and if it hasn't got it, it is very close by.. BEST PLACE IN IRELAND FOR FAMILIES !

The Accommodation ; we stayed in a bungalow / cottage .. Was very clean with all mod cons ...we were a family of three adults ( as we had my Mother in Law ) and four children .. There was 3 bedrooms two of the rooms had 2 single beds each and the third room had a double bed & en suite.. Rooms all have wooden floors & main sitting room and dining room have tiles.. Even though the house was immaculate I just gave the floors a quick spray of antibacterial cleaner & ran all the dishes through the dis washer ( but this is a personal thing) as the place was really clean .. The suite of furniture is leather & very comfortable ..we used the washer/ dryer & clothes line every day ( little washing going home ) ...the patio doors in the house looks out on to a small garden with a table & chairs ....On the fine days we had BBQ and ate out the back ... On other days we cooked in the house , there is an oven cooker top & grill aswell as a toaster & microwave ...We made breakfast in the house each morning, everything ranging from a fry to a cereal to waffles which we toasted in the in toastie bags ... On some evenings we cooked simple food such as pasta dishes and on other days we ate out in Ardfert & Tralee .. The house has everything you need in it as a home away from home.. Very comfortable and for the rainy days has a DVD which kept the kids entertained for a while.

THE RESORT ; the resort is in a beautiful location only minutes from the beach . It is close to Tralee and if like us , you like to take day trips you can go to killarney & visit Muckross house and take a trip around on a horse & carriage . The resort has everything you could need , Their is a shop in the resort which is very reasonably priced . The Diner is typical fast food. You can take the food back to your house or you can sit down and eat it.. ( kids loved the food) ..The bar has entertainment every evening for the children ranging from magicians to puppet shows to kids karaoke & bingo . There is also nightly entertainment on the astro turf such as soccer matches and sports evenings . After the children's entertainment each night their is entertainment for adults and they allow the children to stay in the bar with you or play in the playground or astro turf each evening .

ENTERTAINMENT ; If you wish to stay at the resort for children aged 4 to 12 they have a kids club which the kids can do for only a couple of days or the whole week, the activities include swimming lessons , play time at pirate Petes , treasure hunts, outdoor games when it's not raining & indoor activities when it's not so fine ..there is also a play area with full play ground .. This is outdoor .. There is a indoor play centre called pirate Petes ... There is also an amusement area & a pool tables which I really enjoyed playing pool with my sons we had great fun.

Safety: I felt safe at Banna and the children had lots of freedom to run around and had fun going from the playground to the astro turf to pirate petes.

THE LEISURE CENTRE; the kids loved the pool & it is a very well kept pool and really warm.

FOOD : As I said there is a Diner & in the peak season there is food available in the bar but it is limited to the weekends. However, they have BBQ nights during the week, or you can cook in the house or you can eat out locally ( some really nice places )..there is also a take away in Ardfert that delivers & you can BBQ yourself at the back of your house. You can also pre order cooked chickens from the Diner ...

Well being centre : massage & treatments available ..my wife had a massage & said it was excellent...

Wifi is Free in the bar but not available in the house.

TV: there are a good few channels.

Showers & heating : electric shower in en suite .

Staff: all very friendly & helpful and informative, made you feel very welcome and made it their business to try to get to know and remember your name. Especially the bar staff.

Possible improvements: have BBQs for hire .. Possibly a coffee shop ... The bar is very well laid out but certain parts of it are dark & dreary. More food available on site . Wifi available in the houses !

Little tips ; bring your own towels as you will need them if you have kids & tea towels! Bring a ball we had fun playing kerbs.. If you can, bring a BBQ ...the house has plenty of space, plenty of cutlery & crockery.. Don't forget washing tablets & dishwasher tablets .. I brought the flicker for the kids & they had great fun !

Over all Banna is a FANTASTIC HOLIDAY FOR A FAMILY...no airports .. no limit on baggage .. just fill up the car & away you go.. Plenty to do on the resort and once you have paid for your house all the entertainment is included such as the pool, outdoor & indoor play areas, Astro pitch, nightly entertainment, beach is close by .. You can have a budget holiday here by bringing your own food or you can eat out each day locally or on site .. The kids are never bored.. The staff are friendly & it is a safe environment . You can go out at night to the bar or you can just chill in your house. I think I saw security people walking all around the resort at night. Babysitters are available . If you want a night out alone and there are fantastic restaurants in Fenit approx 10 mins away .

We took a trip to tarbert & got the boat to over to Clare. The boat cost €28 return .. The kids loved it & we had a great day out !

I will be returning to Banna ! My kids loved it & we loved it! A very relaxing and enjoyable holiday !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mallero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
101
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It wasn't my intention to write a poor review on an accommodation but if only to do them and potential visitors a favour, I will. This Banna beach hotel resort boasts itself as a 5 star resort but its anything but. It's a run down old hotel with houses on site to rent which are like old rented houses and the landlord has left the country. The check in was fine but when I brought some small items to the receptionists attention....kitchen door unit falling off, bedroom lockers broken, lights not working, my concerns were noted and then duly ignore. It was only when I brought the nest of ants in the hallway to their attention that they came to the house to spray the offending insects. The grass an doubts I is tacky, run done, dirty and not worth a visit. In fact I hate to think that the accommodation may be on the failte Ireland radar as its awful

Helpful?
6 Thank roseannedunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tralee hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Well to say the least I was a bit apprehensive after reading some previous reviews, however I decided after taken the four kids to Spain last year, that this year it was definitely going to be Ireland. I searched every site you could imagine to find a holiday suitable to the four kids as they are ranging from 17 to 5... The positives are the place is just all about family . As you drive up the drive way you are greeted with an outdoor playground , which they have even added a bouncing castle to and to the right of this they have an Astro turf and basketball area, both these facilities are available for all the guests , on top of that they have a play centre for the children, they also have a swimming pool which was spotless clean & the water was warm contrary to some other reviews I had read... What more could you want for your children on the one resort , pool, playground , Astro turf, kids club,amusement arcade, right out front is a surf school & just up the road is pony trekking, then you are 5 minutes away from Banna strand, which think may be an award winning beach. You have a diner on site, as well a shop for all your needs . The house was spotless, this was my biggest worry , I will post photos but it was spotlessly clean , the house was spacious, 3 bedrooms all of which were double , electric shower in the ensuite. The kitchen was well equipped with everything , fridge freezer & washer dryer .over all this is an amazing holiday especially if you have children ! Go go go
... You won't regret it '

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soyoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This is an average resort - definately not a four star. The cottages rooms are fairly clean, but the quality of furniture, beds, TV, oven are of two-star quality. The lanscape is soar to the eye. The diner is a try-on-your-risk quality. The resort has no pleasant view over any thing - just a place to stay. Two star max.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abuyousuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just back from a week there, really enjoyed it. Went with three kids. The houses were clean and spacious. The pool wasn't roasting but it didn't bother any of us, including my 15-month-old who stayed in for ages. We didn't avail of any daytime activities but the kids loved the night-time stuff, disco, magic show, puppet show etc... We were lucky to get two fabulous days on the beach before the weather turned bad.
The indoor playground was handy when it rained to let the kids burn off a bit of energy and all the staff we came across were very nice.
The 'diner' is not recommended, food wasn't particularly nice and the shop had the basics, but that was about it and twice, I had to leave stuff there that I needed because they had no change.
But overall, we really enjoyed the week, especially the kids.

Room Tip: Book the Sand Dune cottages and if using the shop, don't bring 'big' money, like a €50 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin_IrelandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Went for toddler wk,1st house was infested with ants,came back from meet & greet with Minnie mouse to find them all over the place and in our food.2nd house was clean tg.Entertainment for the kids was a joke,teddy bear picnic didn't happen,arts & crafts they got a blob of paint on a plate & a paper one to paint on,no sea shells etc that was mentioned on the activity sheet.Pool was too cold to bring them swimming.Chippy there is a no go area.Bar has hundreds of dead flies all over the windowsill and floors.Play area is not toddler friendly,need more things for kids aged below 3.We came home 2 days early & the kids were more than happy to be getting out of there.Wont be going back there again!

Room Tip: Make sure to check the house before moving all your stuff in for ants!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradysandrasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Banna. As a family of four we regularly go there during the summer months. Our trip consists of staying in the caravan park with lots of visits to the nearby beautiful beach. We decided to visit the hotel this weekend to sample the entertainment.....well where do I start, filthy is an understatement! The entire hotel needs a complete overhaul. Its dark, shabby and unwelcoming. The toilets were foul smelling & had faecal matter smeared on the walls and doors. Its a shame really because the place has great potential and is in an excellent location. On reading some of the reviews I have noticed similar reviews to mine dating back to early last year.....what is the management of this hotel waiting for !?!?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
8.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
533 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
509 reviews
16.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
698 reviews
24.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banna Beach Resort

Property: Banna Beach Resort
Address: Banna, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing