We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”
Review of Banna Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banna Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Tralee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent a week in the Banna Beach Resort and I have to admit I was quite apprehensive about it as I have never seen such mixed reviews. Firstly, it is not a hotel, it is a leisure centre with a reception which is used to check in to the cottages, beside it is a bar, a shop and a diner. Check in was quick and we were handed the tv remotes which had seen better days and had their batteries held in by selotape and told that we need to return them on checkout. We were then directed to house 88 which was on a quiet stretch but you could cut across the grass to the leisure centre.

So then about the house

Good Points
- It has three reasonable sized bed rooms
- It was clean
- All the electrical appliances worked

Not so good points
- There were a number of light bulbs either blown or missing
- The house showed signs of wear and tear e.g. holes in the plaster where doors had been swung open
- Leg missing off one of the couches
- Crockery and Cutlery was a hotch potch and nothing matched
- There was only 1 scart cable for the satellite and dvd player and they both shared the same plug so an amount of switching around was required

The Leisure Centre

Good Points
- It was clean
- The pool was warm

Not so good points
- There were a few blown light bulbs in the changing rooms which made the changing rooms very dark in places
- The pool got very busy by about 11:00, generally we went between 10:00 and 11:00

We only went over to the bar twice, there is outdoor seating but a lot of the chairs have seen better days. The service in the bar was quite slow and the choices quite limited. Service in the shop was sporadic as the same woman seemed to be running between the diner and the shop. The indoor seating in the bar reminded me a bit of bars in caravan parks in the U.K. back in the 70's so if you're expecting a cosy little bar then you will be disappointed.

And so to the verdict, if you are expecting 4 star then you will be bitterly disappointed, if you are looking for a clean house with a couple of quirks and a fantastic location then this is the place for you especially if you get the weather. Would I go back ? Yes I would due to the location. Would I pay the full high season rate ? Probably not

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Banna Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The house we got was spotless and very well equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, washing machine but they are self catering so you have to bring your own towels and cleaning supplies but it tells you that on their website. They do need to make sure houses have sufficient glasses, cutlery etc.as we had to ask for cutlery. There was a problem getting the T.V channels to work but they sorted it out very quickly. All the houses open out onto a grass area which is great for the kids. Eating facilities onsite are not great and you have to travel to eat out, there is a takeaway which was ok. The pool area and playground are a great size and lovely to have a relaxing drink in the evenings and be able to see the children. We were there during the heatwave in July and the days were spent at the beautiful beaches in the area, not sure that there is enough to do onsite if the weather was not good especially for younger children. The hotel and restaurant definitely could do with an upgrade. If we could be guaranteed the weather again would go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darhan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from a week in Banna Beach Resort (August 16 - 23, 2013 ) and have to register my disappointment as this is definitely not the 4 star resort it was made out to be. We rented a 3 bed detached house and on arrival the toilet in the en-suite wasn't working and the kitchen tap was constantly dripping. In fairness the maintenance guy got it sorted very rapidly but there were several 'holes' in the walls, one of which was the size of a fist. The couches were filthy with all sorts of questionnable stains, the walls in general were scuffed and around the bin the walls were dirty and stained. Outside on the patio area there were cigarette butts everywhere and the clothes line was unusable as it was broken and rusty. You certainly wouldn't want your child to cut themselves on it as they would need a tetanus shot. The food from the chip shop was fine but the bar area leaves a lot to be desired, sticky counter tops and broken seats out in front . On a positive note the swimming pool was lovely despite the broken lockers and dirty toilets in the changing areas. If the resort had been registered as a 2/3 star I wouldn't have booked it but I really feel it doesn't merit the 4 star rating .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The houses are great - very clean, very well equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, washing machine but they are self catering so you have to bring your own towels and cleaning supplies but it tells you that on their website.Although they do need to make sure houses have sufficient glasses, cutlery etc.as we had to ask for extra glasses. The location is also good as Banna beach is one of the best beaches you would find anywhere in the world - great waves. My kids did the surfing camp for the week with Kingdom waves surf school and really loved it. There are some great restaurants in the area but you do need a car to get to them particularly in Fenit and Spa. There are also really good facilities for children - the pool is excellent as is the playground and the older kids will really love the astro turf pitch and basketball court.
The only downside is the hotel itself. While the houses are probably four star the hotel is two star. I would'nt go near the restaurant in the hotel, the take away is ok , we got some chips for the kids when we did a barbecue one night. The bar is awful - kids running around - general mayhem - they need to have a separate bar where you can have a drink away from the noise.
I found the staff to be very friendly. Finally only other thing is that the bins could do with being collected a bit more regularly.
On the whole, I feel a bit more investment in the resort could make it really somewhere special but maybe those days are gone!!

Room Tip: Make sure to pick a house with a patio that is not overlooked - we were in 85 which does not have a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilywhite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Fabulous base for a family holiday. Restaurant closed during week so bit disappointed. Lifeguard using phone while on duty and 14 year olds in sauna and jacuzzi. Will go back but for location only. Houses were great with everything that's needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaieMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We are just back from a weeks stay at this resort. I stayed with my husband and two daughters (aged 5 and 3). Overall we were disappointed with the resort. Firstly the house was not cleaned to an acceptable standard. The table and dining chairs were dirty, marked with handprints and dried food wiped/spilt by previous guests. The beds were a disgrace, the mattresses were totally worn out, lumpy, with springs almost through the mattress cover. The double bed we slept in smelled a bit damp/musty. The pillows and other bedlinen seemed very well used. The thermostat in the ensuite shower didn't seem to work and the water was scalding no matter what setting the shower was at. The cistern in the main toilet didn't work properly and took about an hour to refill. The oven thermostat didn't seem to work either.
We were appalled at the amount of litter on site, particularly in the mornings. The outdoor playground was strewn with wrappers/cups/paper and other waste each morning. There did seem to be one guy cleaning up but he seemed to be amazingly slow, we saw him clean the playground at lunchtime so anyone using it before then was fighting to keep their kids away from the rubbish. The common grassed areas were also littered and some of it was there for a few days. Dogs are welcome hence some uncleaned dog mess too.
On the upside, the pool area is nice and the kids loved it. Pirate Petes is nice as well, although it could do with a facelift. The outdoor play area is nice but needs more cleaning daily. Also the food in the bar was good. We did eat at the BBQ on the two nights it was on and thought it was great value at €10 for an adult and €5 for a child. The kids loved the kids entertainment in the evenings. Its also worth noting that the resort is not actually on the beach, its about 800m which really means a drive as the road would not be suitable for walking with kids, there is no footpath. The beach is fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

just back from Banna beach and I have to say we had such a great holiday. It is our 3rd time going. Kids made great friends and were actually crying leaving. Great facilities for kids- leisure centre, indoor play centre, play ground. Kids didn't do camps as there is so much to do in the surrounding area. lovely beaches, aqua dome, crag cave, trips to dingle / Killarney. The best part was the entertainment at night for kids. the bar isn't great but there is a lovely patio area overlooking the playground and the kids really enjoyed puppet show, magician, disco, karaoke. Staff very helpful. prices may seem high for summer months but it includes a lot of facilities/activities. Went out for dinner in the Ballyroe Heights hotel between ardfert and Tralee which is very family friendly and value for money plus has fab views. Overall it was a very easy holiday with loads to do onsite and in surrounding area.

Room Tip: Bring towels, dishwasher tabs, t towels, washing powder, selection of dvds plus enjoy a dinner in b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliviaLimerick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
7.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
873 reviews
25.0 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 39 in Killarney
510 reviews
17.5 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
7.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 14 in Tralee
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banna Beach Resort

Address: Banna, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing