We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meadowlands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Returned to stay earlier this month. Reception warm and welcoming, staff very helpful and attentive, room excellent, was given an upgrade with no additional cost, lovely breakfast, will return. Paula South East Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Paula,
Thank-you for taking the time to review the Meadowlands Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back-hopefully in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Meadowlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Meadowlands for five nights from 1st June 2014. We were part of a coach trip which was not cheap, however the food we received at dinner was of very poor quality and each night took 1 1/2 to 2 hrs to be served. There were three choices of each course. Most nights the soup was always vegetable or leek and potato. The Greek salad choice was four lettuce leaves a minute few drops of sauce a teeny shaving of cheese and about six plain croutons. The bread was always dry soda bread with margarine. The baked cod was so dried out and hard, even the courier complained. One desert was a small apple crumble with a vanilla sauce, the crumble was so dry it fell off the tart, the sauce was one teaspoonful under the tart with a tiny tiny squirt of cream the size of a teaspoon. After official complaint from tour company, the next night improved but sadly went back to very bad for the following three nights. The lounge area was freezing cold, no heating which meant we were the only people hardy enough to use it. All areas very dark and gloomy. We felt there were too little staff and chef could not cope with the number of people to cook for, serving staff did their best and remained pleasant under pressure. Bedrooms excellent on a positive note

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived with a tour of 48 people so perhaps its a liitle unfair to criticise too much.
All staff were friendly and extremely helpful.Our room was large and clean but we could not read in the room due to the hotel only using 25 watt energy bulbs. This was very poor.
The Irish breakfast was brilliant, one of the best I have ever had and the same quality for 5 days.
The evening meals were poor to average (but as I mentioned there were 48 of us).
One evening the hotel ran out of dry white wine, can you believe that for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank splotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank-you for your review as we continuously strive to improve our service and facilities. Thank-you for your compliments of our staff. We will look into changing the bulbs to a higher wattage in the rooms. We will also discuss with the restaurant the poor evening service and wine to ensure this does not happen to future groups. Again, Thank-you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night in a family room and were very impressed with the bedroom. Front desk staff were extremely helpful. Beautiful décor, comfy beds and a great shower. Food was only ok, nothing fabulous and they seem understaffed in the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sarah,
Thank-you for your review. As a family-run hotel we value all reviews as we strive to create a quality and friendly experience for all of our guests. We are delighted your family enjoyed your stay and we will of course look at our staffing levels in the bar. We hope to welcome you back to the Meadowlands.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at Meadowlands for three nights during a six night tour of Southwest Ireland with Leger Holidays. The hotel appeared to have gone overboard on energy saving bulbs which left us with eye strain trying to read menus etc. No complaints about our bedroom or the friendliness of all staff but the serving staff appeared understaffed or undertrained to cope with two coach groups and mealtimes were chaotic with long delays between ordering and receiving wine and drinks.
The room used to serve meals to our group of 46 was cramped especially at breakfast when additional space was needed to lay out the buffet etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LincolnTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Lincoln Trotter,
Thank-you for taking the time to review the Meadowlands Hotel. I am sorry to read your comments about our restaurant. We discussed your comments with our restaurant staff to ensure a better service for future groups. We hope you will visit again on your next visit to Ireland.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this place on BookIt.com and saved a bunch of cash! Pretty pricey other wise. It was a great place for us to spend our last night in Ireland. Pub was GREAT...huge...and great atmosphere. Very well taken care of by three different waiters...one went out of his way to inquire about theatre tickets for us. Would highly recommend it...Only one issue: when we checked in the front desk sent us up to our room but alas they were still cleaning it! It was only a five minute wait or so...but think they needed to tell us up front. No worries...we were in Ireland!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StonesThrow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank-you for your review!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank-you for your lovely compliments of Johnny Frank's Pub and staff. Our apologies for checking into your room before it was ready. We hope you you will return to stay with us in the future. Please contact us directly for the best rates!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I returned to stay here for two nights one week apart as all other reasonably priced hotels in Tralee were booked out. On arrival they could not locate my booking and althougn they said the hotel was full found me a dark room on the ground floor that was actually for a disabled person. It had no bath just a shower. It was dark and dreary with old fashioned pine furniture. The TV was tiny and dated. A couple of hours after I arrived I got a call from reception to say they had found my booking and had mixed me up with another party of the same name. They apologised and said that when I returned the following week I would be given a superior room.
The following week I returned and was given a room on the 3rd floor. While it was better than the other room it was still dark, the slightly bigger TV was still old fashioned. There was no water coming out of the taps in the sink and there was one of those hose thoe nair dryers I the bathroom which was next to useless.
There are more modern hotels with better facilities, I.e. pool &/or gymn in Tralee for the same price. This hotel is not good value for money

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank CateCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Manager at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear CateCork,

I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room and stay at the Meadowlands Hotel. I am sorry that there was a mix up on arrival in regards to the name on your reservation- we will look at our procedures to ensure that all future guests receive a quality check-in experience. The Meadowlands is not a modern hotel and we are very proud to offer traditional quality in an unique and charming hotel with individually furnished rooms while incorporating modern facilities for our business and leisure guests. Our guests can also avail of complimentary use of the Tralee leisure and sports centre. We do hope you will return to the Meadowlands in the future and try one of our executive rooms. Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.0 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
873 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Situated on beautiful private gardens, the Meadowlands Hotel is a stylish retreat on the Wild Atlantic Way and the perfect base to explore the Kingdom of Kerry. The Gaeltacht family run hotel offers comfort, culture and a friendly welcome for business and leisure guests. STAY The Meadowlands Hotel takes pride in creating a "home away from home" experience, offering a relaxing base to unwind on holiday while incorporating modern amenities for business travellers. Guestrooms are carefully designed to ensure a restful night's sleep in complete luxury with a sense of style and individuality. LOCATION The Meadowlands Hotel is idyllically located 1 km from Tralee Town Centre and in the midst of Ireland's Top Tourist towns-Killarney and Dingle. Enjoy awe inspiring views on the Kerry section of the Wild Atlantic Way with spectacular things to see and do at every turn. Experience the culture, tours, attractions and outdoor activities that Kerry has to offer! DINE & ENTERTAIN An Móinéar Restaurant offers a warm and tranquil atmosphere with a secluded balcony for intimate dining and dinner parties. The restaurant features an outstanding menu inspired from Irish & International specialities and served in an elegant and cozy atmosphere. Menus are prepared to reflect Kerry's best locally produced ingredients with the fish and seafood sourced from the family's own fish company in the village of Dingle on a daily basis. Johnny Frank's Bar is a spacious locale which has a stunning interior that mixes the best of tradition and contemporary design to give a warm and inviting ambience. With comfort and style combined, you can relax and unwind, enjoying a choice of delicious coffees and teas, cocktails and various drinks and snacks. Superb bar food menus are offered for casual dining. The snug, fireplace, balcony, library and comfortable seating along with many music sessions ensure Caint, Ceol agus Craic! CONFERENCES & MEETINGS The Conference Centre at the Meadowlands Hotel was designed with flexibility in mind, catering for conferences, meetings, auditions and interviews. The various meeting room options accommodate numbers from 2 to 250. The Conference Centre has been equipped with superior audio-visual technology, complimentary Wi-Fi, adjustable lighting and air conditioning to create your unique atmosphere. Our highly experienced team is dedicated to ensuring that every detail of your event is run according to your plan. WEDDINGS AND CIVIL CEREMONIES Set in a tranquil corner of Tralee, the Meadowlands Hotel is a hidden gem and the ideal setting for the most memorable day of your life. With gardens offering a picture perfect photo opportunity, champagne reception, an elegant ballroom and a fairy-tale lit courtyard, the Meadowlands Hotel will be the place of dreams on your Wedding Day. SPECIAL OCCASSIONS The Meadowlands Hotel specializes in parties for all occasions and will work with you to tailor your event as you envision, catering for various events, celebrations and entertainment. There is a choice of semi-private and private function rooms available to create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Mouth-watering group menus are prepared to cater to the tastes and dining requirements of your party, including finger food, barbecue, buffet, social and gala menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing