We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meadowlands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not Convinced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

A single visit just for one night. Pleasant hotel and received a welcome to suit the hotel. They had accommodated my request for a room on a low floor. The room was comfortable and spacious; however, there were a few faults; hadn’t realised the coffee/tea/kettle hidden beneath the TV until late at night; three milk cartons were off, after a shower I was cold…no rads but found a devise on the wall to operate a fan heater that blew out tepid air.
In the wonderfully decorated bar I ordered a dinner with glass of wine; I only ordered a house beef burger…I had to wait 35 minutes for it to be served on a plank of wood. Though tasty and homemade, for the price the portion was too small. Price with wine; €18
I paid €80 for one night BB, a price one wouldn’t pay in a decent hotel in Dublin. The full ‘Irish’ breakfast was nice but would rather have had a buffet so not to choose the awful black/white pudding (Clonakilty) and fried tomato.
The hotel is way over priced…I merely chose it because the better hotels had been booked out for the 21st.
Stay if you can afford the outrageous price but as for me, never again at that price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you received a friendly welcome and had a pleasant stay. However, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't feel that you received value for money at a rate of EUR 80.00 for one night B&B in the height of our high season. Please note that we do offer lower rates in our low season. I am also sorry that you did not realize we see the tea & coffee in the cabinet below the TV. The milk we use in the rooms is UHT but could have sent up fresh milk on request. We take pride in the food we serve at the Meadowlands and use only the freshest local ingredients. Our homemade beef burger is an 8 oz burger made to order which takes 20 minutes to cook so very sorry that it took 35 minutes during your dining experience so we will investigate further into this. We would be delighted to "convince you" of the value that we offer should you wish to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    125
    34
    6
    7
See reviews for
152
167
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the first time during Rose of Tralee Festival. From start to finish we had a very enjoyable stay. You can really feel the difference when you stay in a family run hotel, like Meadowland, friendly staff, great food and a nice atmosphere. I read a previous review saying decor was a bit tired. In these difficult times everyone has to cut their cloth to measure and I think meadowlands have focused on the important things in a hotel. For me the decor added to the charm and have to say it was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely each morning but my daughter was extra pleased with the choice of omelette and pancakes. Looking forward to our next stay already.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank-you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during the Rose of Tralee. As a family run hotel we strive to ensure friendly Irish Hospitality for all of our guests. We do hope you will return in teh near future.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the Meadowlands Hotel during the Rose of Tralee festival. Had a great time!!! The staff and service were fantastic and a special word of thanks to Aine for going out of her way to make us feel so welcome!! We'll definitely be back again and again!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martypie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank-you for such a lovely review and compliments of our family run hotel and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Thus was a first visit to this hotel but not an overnight stay, the function I was attending was well staged and the buffet food was very good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a two piece jazz ensemble playing in the bar on a Sunday afternoon, very civilised.

No hesitation in recommending here and would re-visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank-you for your review and lovely compliments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the entertainment at the hotel during your stay. We do hope you will stay with us again!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Partner and I stayed here for a night while traveling and we're really impressed by the hotel. Hotel is very close to the town centre (less than 5 minute drive) and has a shop nearby. Staff were pleasant and knowledgeable. Room and ensuite were clean but not as up to date as we have seen in other 4 star hotels. The TV which was very old was a bit annoying in the fact that with it set at the lowest volume it was was still very loud and it might have annoyed other guests. The hotel itself is very well decorated and well finished. We had dinner in the bar which was called the Johnny Frank. It had a great atmosphere possibly because the final of PGA golf was on, but there did seem to be a lot of locals which is a good sign. Food was probably the best we have had on our trip and really could not be faulted, portion sizes were also very good. Breakfast the next morning had a small selection of self service breads and juices and we were then also offered a hot selection (Irish breakfast/pancakes) all of which was nice. We could easily have stayed a few more nights no problem and we would certainly consider staying again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craigo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Meadowlands Hotel and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to have such a fantastic local trade as well as an opportunity to welcome new guests to the hotel. We are continuously upgrading the hotel and will be looking into changing the TV's in the rooms. We do hope to welcome you back- hopefully in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you have a look at the picture I uploaded of the flower arrangement, this picture is symbolic of this property. It was fresh and beautiful at one time in the not too distant past. But it has withered and has lost it's wow factor. The one thing that was quite refreshing about The Meadowlands Hotel was the young lady who greeted us at their reception desk when we arrived in the evening. She was so welcoming and nice after a long day of traveling. The rest of our experience there was definitely not 4 star quality. The rooms are tired and in need of a refresh. The beds had a "pee guard" cover on the mattress and it prevents your body from breathing at night - so I woke up sweating.

Would definitely NOT stay here again - don't even get me started on the service by the wait staff in the bar for dinner. Worst service we've had in the whole of Ireland.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Charlie,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you received fantastic service on arrival from our receptionist but very concerned over your comments regarding our food and beverage department. As a family run hotel we do take complaints very serious and would greatly appreciate if you would contact us directly so we can hear more about the service you received in our bar. We hope to hear from you.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hi stayed three nights last week over for a Birthday Party have to say couldn't fault the place didn't eat apart from breakfast which was good but room and staff were excellent, well done to everyone their a credit to Tralee

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlands2014, Director of Sales at Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank-you for your review and such positive compliments. We are delighted to hear you were impressed with the hotel and service you received. I hope you will have the opportunity to return in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Heather MacIver
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
10.0 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Hotel

Property: Meadowlands Hotel
Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME Situated on beautiful private gardens, the Meadowlands Hotel is a stylish retreat on the Wild Atlantic Way and the perfect base to explore the Kingdom of Kerry. The Gaeltacht family run hotel offers comfort, culture and a friendly welcome for business and leisure guests. STAY The Meadowlands Hotel takes pride in creating a "home away from home" experience, offering a relaxing base to unwind on holiday while incorporating modern amenities for business travellers. Guestrooms are carefully designed to ensure a restful night's sleep in complete luxury with a sense of style and individuality. LOCATION The Meadowlands Hotel is idyllically located 1 km from Tralee Town Centre and in the midst of Ireland's Top Tourist towns-Killarney and Dingle. Enjoy awe inspiring views on the Kerry section of the Wild Atlantic Way with spectacular things to see and do at every turn. Experience the culture, tours, attractions and outdoor activities that Kerry has to offer! DINE & ENTERTAIN An Móinéar Restaurant offers a warm and tranquil atmosphere with a secluded balcony for intimate dining and dinner parties. The restaurant features an outstanding menu inspired from Irish & International specialities and served in an elegant and cozy atmosphere. Menus are prepared to reflect Kerry's best locally produced ingredients with the fish and seafood sourced from the family's own fish company in the village of Dingle on a daily basis. Johnny Frank's Bar is a spacious locale which has a stunning interior that mixes the best of tradition and contemporary design to give a warm and inviting ambience. With comfort and style combined, you can relax and unwind, enjoying a choice of delicious coffees and teas, cocktails and various drinks and snacks. Superb bar food menus are offered for casual dining. The snug, fireplace, balcony, library and comfortable seating along with many music sessions ensure Caint, Ceol agus Craic! CONFERENCES & MEETINGS The Conference Centre at the Meadowlands Hotel was designed with flexibility in mind, catering for conferences, meetings, auditions and interviews. The various meeting room options accommodate numbers from 2 to 250. The Conference Centre has been equipped with superior audio-visual technology, complimentary Wi-Fi, adjustable lighting and air conditioning to create your unique atmosphere. Our highly experienced team is dedicated to ensuring that every detail of your event is run according to your plan. WEDDINGS AND CIVIL CEREMONIES Set in a tranquil corner of Tralee, the Meadowlands Hotel is a hidden gem and the ideal setting for the most memorable day of your life. With gardens offering a picture perfect photo opportunity, champagne reception, an elegant ballroom and a fairy-tale lit courtyard, the Meadowlands Hotel will be the place of dreams on your Wedding Day. SPECIAL OCCASSIONS The Meadowlands Hotel specializes in parties for all occasions and will work with you to tailor your event as you envision, catering for various events, celebrations and entertainment. There is a choice of semi-private and private function rooms available to create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Mouth-watering group menus are prepared to cater to the tastes and dining requirements of your party, including finger food, barbecue, buffet, social and gala menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing