We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food & Great Service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oyster Tavern

The Oyster Tavern
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$31
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Oyster Tavern is one of Kerry's leading Seafood Restaurants, offering the very best in locally caught seafood. It is a well known bar and seafood restaurant throughout County Kerry since the 1970's. It has become well recognised for its excellent quality food and its extensive wine menu. There is a full bar on the premises and the establishment also has a private function room known as 'The Barn' available for birthday parties and any other special occasions. It is a family run business whereby the proprietors Jim and Margot McGrath have a well known work ethic of making everyone that enters feel so welcome with a good team of hard working and motivated staff behind them. The restaurant offers a full a la carte menu and an extensive bar menu to suit all tastes and budgets along with daily specials.
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Food & Great Service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant on numerous occasions and I am yet to be dissatisfied with the service or the food. I have eating all types of food in this restaurant, such as fish, steak, burgers and pastas and they all been of a very high standard. The deserts are amazing especially the chocolate fondant. I would recommend this restaurant to any tourists or locals who are looking for good quality food and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The waiters are very attentive and will give you the best service possible.

Try it out, you won't regret it ;-)

Helpful?
Thank KarinaDaly22071990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Karina,
Thank you very much for you fantastic review of the Oyster Tavern bar and restaurant.
Your kind words will be passed on to all the team here for them to read and appreciate.
Thanks again Karina and apologies in the delay in replying to your lovely review.
We are only starting to use Tripadvisor recently and getting our head around it.: )
Kind regards,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    29
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ardfert, Ireland
1 review
“My favorite restaurant in Kerry!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you want a warm welcome, a friendly positive atmosphere and the best seafood/steak/whatever food you're into, the Oyster should be your first stop! An array of menu choices using fresh local produce, a great bar service and a superb service from staff. It's my first choice of restaurant in Kerry as well as my favorite place for a few drinks on the weekend! You won't be disappointed here! The service here will make you want to return,they really do make sure you are being looked after at all times! My friends, my family and I would highly recommend The Oyster!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahwoulfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Sarah,
Apologies in the delay in replying to your fantastic review of the Oyster Tavern bar and restaurant. We have only recently started using tripadvisor and we are still getting our head around it. : )
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and I am personally delighted to read your lovely kind words.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon especially over the Christmas.
Thanks again Sarah.
Best wishes,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Oyster Tavern for a few years now and it never fails!! Excellent food, a warm welcome and great service, nothing is too much trouble. And the atmosphere in the bar is second to none, Love it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkib1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Nichola,
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your positive experiences in the Oyster.
Your kind words will be passed on to the team here for them to read and appreciate.
Thank you again Nichola and we will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
“fabulous restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

i have been coming to the oyster for years and i must say its a lovely restaurant to eat in. i love the chicken baguette and also the pasta was amazing the last time i was here!! i love the desserts my favorite is The chocolate fondant u have to try this its fabulous!! they have a great wine selection also. Jim McGrath the owner always has a warm welcome and the staff are always very helpful. i will definitely keep eating here as the food is great!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Louise,
Many thanks for your kind words of praise. They will be passed on to the team here at the Oyster.
It is great to read your lovely review and on behalf of Jim and the staff I hope you get the chance to return to us again soon.
Best wishes Louise,
Julie McGrath and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

What an amazing meal! I had the veg soup to start which was fresh and homemade! For the mains i had the scampi which is the best I've ever had! The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming, staff are lovely and very helpful! i would highly recommend it! And afterwards for had a drink at the bar and listened to the live music! Overall - i cant wait to come back! Its such a treat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraceMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Manager at The Oyster Tavern, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
November 29, 2014.
Dear Grace,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your positive experience with us here in the Oyster.
I am delighted to read such a lovely review and that you enjoyed your meal.
We greatly appreciate your kind words.
The staff are definitely a great asset to the Oyster and I will be sure to pass on your review to them.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Julie McGrath and team.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Tavern also viewed

Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to The Oyster Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing