We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best coffee in town, and i know my coffee!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roast House

The Roast House
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Roast House brings to Tralee Speciality House Roasted coffee selected from the finest coffee bean producers in the world and freshly roasted in house, served alongside menus that are designed to support the very best of homegrown Local produce. The food is cooked simply and to perfection relying on its freshness to shine through. The Roast House is committed to bringing all that is great of Irish produce to its customers at a time that it is so important to support and value our local producers and farmers.The Roast House is open 7 days a week, serving Breakfast/Brunch & lunch. We serve Brunch on Sundays from 10.00a.m until 2.00pm
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best coffee in town, and i know my coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped here for coffee and got a good one, which is very hard to come by in Ireland. Also had some cafe - the Guinness&Bailey's cupcakes were delicious! The staff were utterly rubbish though - lazy, disinterested, inattentive college girls who spend their day gossiping with their mates and ignoring the customers - you know the type. just order at the counter and give them a reminder when they've forgotten about you. The coffee and cake are worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ianthefist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsHTralee, Owner at The Roast House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Ianthefist,

Very gald to hear you enjoyed the coffee and cake and many thanks for giving us a 4 star review even though you felt you were let down by the service. We actually had 2 reviews publish yesterday (yours and another) around the same time. The previous one giving great praise to the staff so I am sorry you didnt have the same experience. I hope you have a lovely time for the remainder od your stay in Ireland. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind Regards,

Linda Hurley

Co-Proprietor @ The Roast House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    62
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Coffee heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The coffee in this place is amazing. It is so good that you will keep coming back. They mix their own beans so it's very unique.
Apart from the coffee, the good is very very tasty, fresh and reasonably priced.
Service is excellent and friendly.
You will find it hard to get better in the south west.

Helpful?
Thank TheMongrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed we'll cooked tapas but they missed the expected kicked. It was fresh, nice but no spice. The children's menu was limited but very we'll cooked. I return if they add a Spanish kick to the tapas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljerklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Superb tapas menu & great coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Heard a lot about the tapas menu in this place and after trying it out would definitely recommend!

The meat and cheese board is very tasty, and we followed that up with three tapas, all of which were extremely nice, especially the tian of Spa crab meat and guacamole salad - very fresh! We had a shared gluten free chocolate brownie, two exceptional coffee's and two glasses of wine, all of which came to under €60.

Great music, nice layout and friendly staff. Although would love to see a chicken option from the tapas menu next time!

Would definitely recommend and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAO PAULO
Level Contributor
242 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Young atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

food was gorgeous, the burger was delicious. Spicy couscous was good, with too much fruit but lovely mint yoghurt sauce. There's a young vibe with world music playing nice lightening and decoration, young friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roast House also viewed

 
Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 
Tralee, County Kerry
Tralee, County Kerry
 

Been to The Roast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing