We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel best in Tralee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor West Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel best in Tralee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

We are only back from a fantastic weekend in tralee.we stayed in manor west hotel on the killarney road.the rooms were very modern and spotlessly clean.we ate in the walnut room restaurant .the extentsive menu was wonderful with a great choice to choose from..something for every taste..and great value for money.all staff we found to be very friendly and helpful..We would diffinately recommend this hotel for comfort,value for money and exceptional food.

  • Liked — Great food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    158
    40
    16
    4
See reviews for
190
166
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

Hotel was excellent - I could not fault one thing about the weekend I spent there with my boyfriend. It is situated in a Retail Park but you don't even notice that once you step inside the door. I am definately going back - again and again.

The only fault is that the hotel is in Tralee - not the most active or appealing town that ever existed.

Hotel was top class though.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — It was in Tralee
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggily87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

I have stayed in this hotel quite a number of times in 2007 and once just recently in 2008. I have to say firstly that it is a beautiful modern hotel and the rooms are fantastic. I have stayed in a double room, a double and single room and a master suite(highly recommended).The staff have always been friendly and nice and I enjoy the shopping complex next door.Unfortunatelty the breakfast is really poor and needs urgent attention by the management. I have ate in the bar for dinner and a also carvery and both were very very nice. It is then very strange when you get a really disgusting breakfast. I have tried different things on the menu and all were as bad as each other. I would not order it again, it was that bad. I also have a bone to pick with the management. This year the mini bar prices have gone way up. Vodka from 4.75 to 6.50. That in my opinon is a little bit much and I feel they are steadily going from a very reasonable hotel to a much more expensive one. Only for this I would have said I would have said I would stay again but I am a little put off by this. Is everything gradually going to increase hugely???

  • Liked — Rooms were beautiful
  • Disliked — The Breakfast!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jason2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

Good location on outskirts of the town but you do need a car. A new & modern shopping mall is right beside the hotel. We stayed in a suite on the top floor with extensive windows & huge balcony but views were disappointing. Staff were very pleasant & welcoming. We stayed 2 nights over a weekend when almost all the other guests were elderly card playing people from rural parts of Ireland. The suite was the only accommodation available & we thought it overpriced when compared to the weekend rates for a standard room. The only problem we encountered was that we could not get a dinner table before 8 p.m on the afternoon of arrival & on our 2nd. morning had to wait for a table until the staff had replenished the buffet & caught up with the back log created by the group of old folks who all seemed to eat together & at the same slow pace. We would suspect that the conditions we encountered were abnormal & had we been aware that the hotel had been virtually taken over by the group of old folks we would have booked elsewhere. One benefit was that at least they were not noisy & went to bed early leaving the bar quiet & empty unlike some wdding parties we had encountered previously.

  • Liked — Clean & spacious suite.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank battyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

I have stayed in Manor West 4 times in past year as my husband has family in Tralee. We have stayed in other Tralee hotels and there is no comparison. We got our breaks thru the Supervalue promotion so got fantastic value for money but would consider paying their full rate for the outstanding service and facilities in hotel. The decor in the hotel is lovely and everything is so modern and stylish.Staff are v friendly & efficient in general.Small complaint, had a massage & facial booked in their spa on a visit last Oct. Unfortunaley, tho I had booked it weeks in advance, they informed me on the morning that they couldn't do the pregnancy massage I was looking forward to as they hadn't the necessary pregnancy pillow they required(tho it was advertised on their brochure & website). I was v disappointed but the facial was lovely. Their leisure facilities are fab,tho water in pool has been bit on cold side several times.Have eaten in the restaurant which is lovely and we find the bar food selection is tasty & reasonable but could do with some entertainment on w/end evenings in the bar.The breakfast selection is fab, guaranteed to put on few pounds. Hope to return to MW in next few weeks with our new baby to test their child friendliness!

  • Liked — Above average rooms, decor and service
  • Disliked — Temperature in bar was quite cold on several visits, also temp in pool.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

I booked two rooms through Hotelclub.com one double for my parents and a single for myself, three nights in August £455.

Upon arrival, which was around 9pm we were told that they have put us together in a triple room. Of course being 26 years old and not getting what we had paid for, we complained to the receptionist, duty manager and then deputy manager. The problem was that the hotel was overbooked (two coaches were parked outside).

Since we'd made the booking long ago, we were very upset and unhappy that its possible that a 4 star hotel can treat you in this way. However, the deputy manager let my parents have a room which was booked for someone else. It turned out to be a master suite - very large room. My parents were still a bit unhappy with all the commotion and it was not a good start to the holiday.

After our first excursion the next day we returned around 4.30pm and I found that my room had not been made up, which I thought was a very poor "service". We ate a meal at the hotel bar which was very good - and also used the leisure facilities which are top notch.

Little else went wrong, but on the last evening my keycard stopped working, when I went back down to reception I was simply greeted with "well it was only programmed for 2 nights" no apology, yet again not really the ambience of a 4 star hotel.

All things said and done, the management did try to apologise for all the trouble with the booking, (which they did admit was their fault and misunderstanding) and sent a bottle of wine up to the room as an apology.

Thats why the hotel has many positive points, the decor, the breakfast and food, the leisure facilities, the suite was fantastic! A little bit more effort and I'd maybe say it deserves its 4th star (even maybe a 5th)....

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

I can confirm that this is a really nice hotel. I sampled the leisure club and it is good. Unlike some others I particularly liked the bar-which seemed suitable for all ages including families with good food and friendly staff.

However.......its location is right at the edge of the town and is too far out to walk comfortably into town and right by what can only be described as an American style mall. If you are travelling around say on business then this is a major plus..but if you are a tourist then I would question the point of staying in a location that could be anywhere. Unfortunately Ireland has not learnt the lessons of other countries that they need to curb this kind of development and I am certainly not going to be one to encourage it.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GRIFFYGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor West Hotel

Property: Manor West Hotel
Address: | Located next to Manor West Retail Park, Tralee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tralee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#3 Family Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor West Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury combination of modern design and sumptuous decor. An award winning restaurant, a relaxed bar and bistro complimented by luxurious contemporary surroundings, with original works from acclaimed modern Irish artists, makes the Manor West Hotel an obvious choice for business or pleasure breaks. Situated just 20 mins from Kerry airport and on the site of Kerry's largest retail park the hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Manor West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor West Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing