We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“six day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“six day break”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My Husband and I recently travelled from Scotland on a Glenton Tours six day break and stayed at this three star hotel . We have been in four star hotels which have been no better !! The food was good and the fact that we had had just a two choices menu, was perhaps more to do with Glenton keeping their tours affordable than the hotel's fault.The rooms were lovely and the beds comfortable. The staff were attentive and and did their jobs with a smile.This was highly commendable and much appreciated by us, as, tragically, the owner's 25 year old son, who had a wife and two young ,children and who was a colleague and friend of the staff,,was in a fatal car crash on the evening we arrived at the hotel. This is a lovely hotel with stunning views over very green countryrside.Would visit again.

Room Tip: I was told high floor rooms have balcony. Ask for clear view of countryside,as some rooms had tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Eunice1841,

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in Tralee. Thanks for your extremely kind comments which are much appreciated.

Bed regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    184
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
265
257
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We attended a wedding here just recently and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. From start to finish the staff were so helpful and friendly, the accommodation was 1st class-extremely comfortable bed and pillows-something you don't always get in every hotel. The food was splendid and the breakfast the following morning was top class. The full Irish was served piping hot on a piping hot plate,again not always something you get in other hotels where they serve only a buffet breakfast. Can't wait to visit and stay here again even though we don't live that very far away. I felt the b&b rate we paid for the night was also extremely good value. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin19862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Griffin19862013,

Many thanks for your kind comments. I am delighted to hear you found all aspects of your stay extremely pleasing and look forward to welcoming you to Ballyroe Heights Hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Myself and my husband got married here in september, the staff we're abseloutley amazing , attending to our every need, the food was top quality, they made everything so magical for us,the location also is an added bonus with stunning views. All in all I would highly recommend ballyroe well worth a visit, and top quality service, complete value for money. Sabine tralee

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauschlicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Sabine and Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your wedding day. You were both such a pleasure to deal with. Wishing you all the best.

Best regards,
Mark Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a family owned hotel. We spent a couple of nights here recently as we had held our wedding reception at the same venue (a long time ago). It is beautifully situated in the Kerry countryside and its main feature is the panoramic restaurant with its view of Slieve Mish mountains, Tralee Bay and even Blennerville Windmill which is miles and miles away. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a small balcony and another splendid view. The weekend we visited coincided with a terrible personal tragedy for the owners' family which resulted in a restricted service in the hotel. This was entirely understandable. The manager couldn't have been nicer and insisted on picking up the tab for an evening meal for us in a lovely restaurant nearby. He even offered to cover our taxi fares which we declined. He rang several times to make sure we had been accommodated. It was clear from talking to the various staff members that everybody was very upset but they still managed to smile and display fantastic friendliness. We would certainly visit again, hopefully at a happier time for the owners and their staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouskikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Ronnie and Aine,

Many thanks for posting your recent extremely kind and understanding review. Please contact me personally when you would like to visit again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel last weekend and although we did have a great time in Tralee/Dingle we did feel slightly let down with the hotel.

The Good Points:

Clean & modern rooms.
Great location & fab views.

The Not-So-Good-Points:

Bar/Restaurant food very disappointing.
Weddings on both nights that we stayed = noisy/drunks.
Staff could be better trained/more attentive.

Overall we enjoyed our weekend in the hotel but there were lots of little things that stopped it being a great visit. On our first night, there was a wedding on and the corridors were filled with bored kids running around screaming their heads off (11pm). We had to have our meal in the bar area (restaurant was being used by the wedding guests) and for a four star hotel it was very informal and ''dressed down''. Dirty tables when we arrived. The menu was like something from a diner rather than a hotel and the food was of an ''ok'' quality (2 of the 4 meals ordered were sent back). Cutlery was dirty and had to be sent back, the napkins were paper and the service was average. On our second night we chose NOT to eat at the hotel again and instead found a brilliant restaurant in Tralee that was (a) of a far superior quality & (b) cheaper.
In fairness once we entered our rooms we could barely hear any noise from the wedding.

On both mornings the breakfast was again ''average''. Once again, dirty cutlery that we had to ask the staff to change. Ordered our hot food and toast arrived 10 minutes before the rest of the food so again that was sent back. They really, really to up their game in the food area.

The views from the restaurant of the mountains (staff didn't know the name of the mountains) was stunning. Really outstanding views.

Overall, because we got a discounted deal we were happy enough but it could have been so much better. If we got another half price deal we would stay again but we wouldn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear trinity4,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your recent visit is not in keeping with the standard in which we set and what the customer expects from us at Ballyroe Heights Hotel. I have addressed your issues with my team.

I am glad that you were not able to hear any noise from the weddings from your bedroom and enjoyed the stunning views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A pleasant hotel 10 minutes from Tralee town. Friendly staff! Excellent bar food, great views also. Breakfast was served by a very attentive waiter, freshly cooked full Irish and buffet available. My nephew left his DVD's in the hotel room and they posted them to our home address!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Nic T,

I was absolutely delighted to read your recent review on your stay at Ballyroe Heights Hotel and that you found everything to your satisfaction. I am glad you received the DVDs which you left behind.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent a weekend in this hotel, the room was basic enough but it was spotless. The breakfast was very chaotic the waitresses seemed to be going to the same tables at one stage we got two pots of tea with no toast. I asked for 2 bacon 2 poached eggs and 2 hash browns and only got one of each which I thought was a little tight and I noticed an american gentleman sitting near me say the same thing. We had a voucher for a main course and a glass of wine, however we both asked for minerals instead as we dont drink wine but we were refused!! I though this was extremely mean and it made us not want to buy a desert or mineral after that. To be fair the food and staff could not be faulted but sometimes its the little things that matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallyroeHeightsHotel, General Manager at Ballyroe Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear sharon d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I apologise for the mix up at breakfast. On your particular voucher (50% reduction off normal prices) we do not have any leeway on offering alternatives to what is stated on the voucher.

I am delighted you found our staff and food to be faultless.

Best Regards,
Mark Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
432 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
697 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
836 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyroe Heights Hotel

Property: Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Address: Ballyheigue Road, Tralee V92 HT91, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tralee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Family Hotel in Tralee
#5 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballyroe Heights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyroe Heights Hotel exceeds customer expectations in the delivery of service and standards while offering the warm traditional welcome of a family owned property. This award winning Kerry Hotel is a modern, luxurious Hotel is set in six and a half acres of sloping gardens with spectacular views of the Sliabh Mish Mountains and Tralee Bay. The coastal route for the Wild Atlantic Way is at the door of this Tralee hotel located a mere four kilometres from Tralee town centre. This hotel, at the Gateway to the Dingle Peninsula is your best choice if you are looking for your base in Kerry. From its elevated location the hotel reception with its floor to ceiling windows captures uninterrupted panoramic views. This Kerry Hotel provides a great selection of hotel deals in Tralee including Activity Breaks, Seasonal Special Offers and Family Breaks. With great value accommodation, great views and a warm welcome from our team we are at your service to ensure you have a relaxing stay and a memorable Ballyroe Heights Hotel experience. The hotel also offers the following: Complimentary internet in reception High Speed Wi-Fi Complimentary newspapers for guests Free secure on-site parking Wheelchair accessible rooms, family rooms and cots available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ballyroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyroe Heights Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing