We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Historic

There's something about this place that keeps drawing me back. Has an Air about the place, very... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Anne N
via mobile
Quiet walk back in time !

Kells Priory is a historic ruin in a very peaceful and quiet location. We entered the property... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2018
Camino-JR
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Read all 195 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around County Kilkenny
from US$63.50
More Info
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
130
43
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
43
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill watch your step tower houses sheep pasture actual site peaceful setting off limits quiet walk hours walking definitely worth the stop great site beautiful ruins love history large site water mill lawcus farm guest house walk around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's something about this place that keeps drawing me back. Has an Air about the place, very peaceful.

Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent visit to this expansive ruin, I noticed the restoration is being done with heavy mortar which takes away from the historic look. There isn't much left in the way of carvings... just walls. I've been to scores of monastic ruins and while this one is big, I didn't feel drawn to go back, and I'm disappointed in the method of restoration.

Thank Mindie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here on our way to Kinsale after touring Jerpoint Abbey, which is only several miles away. Kells is not worth a separate trip on it's own but definitely worth seeing in conjunction with Jerpoint. We walked through-really tiptoed through-a sheep pasture to get a close look, and the massive stone walls and other structures are impressive. Construction wrappings prevented us from taking good pictures or tempting us to get closer.

Thank moretosee043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Kells Priory is a historic ruin in a very peaceful and quiet location. We entered the property from the back after a short walk past a mill, along the river and over a bridge. The site is free to visit and there are very few visitors or tourists. Ideal location when visiting the more "touristy" Rock of Cashel or Jerpoint Abbey.

Thank Camino-JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

I heard about Kells Priory when I was at Jerpoint Abbey. The two are so close to each and like Kells Priory was very quiet with very few visitors, which is the bonus of visiting here. The ruins, which are free to visit, are in fairly good condition and all you need to do is walk from the carpark and cross a paddock!

1  Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

There is no charge for this site and parking is available, both bonuses. The site is mainly ruins of the priory, most of the towers can’t be entered but the main tower can if you ask the staff in the hut and the view from the top is spectacular. I’d also recommend going to the river area round the back, also beautiful.

1  Thank feralglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We came here for a sunset walk at the recommendation of our B&B host's at Lawcus Farm Guest House which is right up the road. There is easy parking for your car and then you follow a circular path around the ruins and then down along the river, where we watched men fly fishing. You circle around by an old water wheel mill that's really beautiful and you can swim in the surrounding water. We felt the timing for this was perfect for us and really enjoyed a sunset stroll. We only saw one other couple while we were there, so it felt very private and was absolutely gorgeous.

Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This was the first ruins that we visited in Ireland and I wasn't disappointed. A tour guide came out to greet us and talk about the site. He was very friendly and well informed.

1  Thank TravelGirl492017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

The village of Kells and the alongside priory is a beautiful place to visit.
There is a circular path from the car park - free, (on the Stoneyford road) through the priory over the King's River to Mullins Mill at the bridge in Kells. After perhaps having a coffee at the little cafe, cross the bridge and go through Kells itself. Admire the old telephone box and the preserved water pump, before returning to the car park.
Please note that while some work is progressing on restoration of the Priory, the site remains largely undeveloped, which to me, adds to its charm. Unlike in the UK where the large population lends itself to archaeological sites being over developed and ending up rather twee, places like Kells Priory slumber on in Ireland. That is not to say though, that Kells Historical Society has been idle - far from it.
The path to the priory from the car park leads through a field with sheep in it. Again, this adds to its character, but it may be unsuitable for those not steady on their feet. Alternatively, start from Mullins Mill and walk from there, which is on the flat.

1  Thank Red1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Having visited the site on various occassions, this was our first time to take a guided tour of the site. Our tour guide, John, was very friendly and welcoming and more than willing to answer any questions we had. We look forward to visiting in the future to what further conservation work has been done on site.

3  Thank waterfordguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews