We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Days of Sunshine at Beautiful Croan Cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Croan Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croan Cottages
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“Seven Days of Sunshine at Beautiful Croan Cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We recently traveled as a group of eight (ages 15-43) to County Killkenny, Ireland and had the pleasure of spending seven days at Croan Cottages. We recently returned to New York and are already missing the Croan Cottages as much as beautiful Ireland. Being from a very eco-driven community, we very much appreciated the owners' commitment to environmentally friendly practices. We were also pleased to find that they were good-humored, approachable and committed to ensuring that we had a great time in Ireland. We enjoyed the spacious, comfortable cottages and found them to be very well-equipped for our vacation. The professional cook in our party was able to provide stellar meals with the equipment in the kitchen. Everyone slept well and enjoyed the comfort of their rooms. The scenery at the cottages and nearby was breathtaking. We very much enjoyed the wildlife and the quiet of the country. Interesting day trips were easy from their location. We also enjoyed daily walks from our cottages to the nearby game preserve. Our party ranged in age from 15-43 but younger children would have been equally served by the wonderful location and amenities.
We all highly recommend a stay at Croan Cottages and hope that you get the seven days of sunshine that we had.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RisingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at Croan Cottages for 3 nights at the beginning of a two-week trip to Ireland in early March. There were 5 of us, including 2 teens and my 75-yo mom. There was plenty of room for us to spread out and make ourselves at home. The cottage was simply decorated, clean and comfortable. Francis was a great host, available whenever we needed something. The location was terrific for some touring -- We did up Kilkenny (loved Kytler Inn and the Kilkenny Castle), Jerpoint Abbey and Kells Priory. At Francis' recommendation, we headed to John Delaney's for a night of authentic traditional music.

If we ever get the chance to make it back to Ireland, I would love to stay again when the farm is in full summer bloom.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We arrived on Saturday just before 4pm and found a note and key at the door for us. It was a lovely welcome note to let us know that Francis and/or Niamh would pop in to see us shortly, and to make ourselves at home. Francis arrived about 30 mins later. We were introduced to the dogs - Bella and Poppy, and went on a walk around the farm. Both Francis , Niamh and their very young children were the perfect hosts and couldn't help enough. They had us in fits of laughter. While there we enjoyed the local walks, played boules in the side garden, and visited the goats, pigs and other animals. Francis and the kids also brought us cucumbers and baby potatoes which were delicious. The cottages were picturesque on the outside with Cherry trees at the front. To us the surroundings felt very French and having the patio doors at the side of the house was just lovely. The inside of the 2 bedroom cottage was just right for the 4 of us. Lots of room in the built in wardrobes. The heating was excellent., and the showers powerful. The bathroom was a decent size and we were each provided with a bath towel as well as several hand towels in the bathroom. We paid an additional amount of 10 euro for electrical use at the end which included all the showers, heating, cooker use, and lighting - not bad at all! With regard to location it's only about 10mins drive from Kilkenny Centre if you go by the main road. We visited Nore Valley Park on a family week pass (about 26 euro) at least 4 times. it's a great place for the kids and their home made scones and cookies are delicious. We also went further afield to JFK Arboretum at a cost of 8 euro for a family and took their pony trap ride - 30 mins for 20 euro. Great fun. Other places that you should go to include Kikenny Castle and kiddies park, the Reptile Village - 24 euro approx, and if you have a sat-nav or good map go to the Dunmore Cave. Tramore Beach was a bit of a let down. The rides are very expensive. However we did take the kids to Splashworld there and they loved it - approx 26 euro for 1 adult and 2 kids. So there are lots of things to do around the area. We all loved our holiday this year and you never know, we might go back if they'll have us!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had a superb week long stay at Croan Cottages the location is ideal for exploring the counties of Kilkenny , Waterford and Tipperary.
The cottage we stayed in was extremley comfortable and very well appointed the welcome pack that was in the cottage was excellent providing information on walks and attractions on the door step and then furher afield
The owners Francis and Niamh are very friendly but most unobtrusive
We will be back

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

This was our second trip to Croan Cottages, but definitely not our last. We spent a long weekend here in June with our 2 small kids and our dog, all of whom had a great time again. This time, we chose a bigger cottage and were amazed by how spacious the interior is. The owners have upgraded the facilities to include free satellite TV and WiFi which would be useful if the weather was bad. Thankfully, we enjoyed glorious sunshine and didn't have need of either. They also provided travel cots, high chairs and stairgates which cut down a lot on the amount we had to pack. Our kids loved the farm animals when we stayed here last year and this time twin baby lambs had just been born - so cute! The resident peacock took a particular interest in our doorway at breakfast time and the kids love to throw him and the hens a couple of crusts.The stunning gardens were in full bloom and every day, Niamh and Francis dropped over some freshly picked lettuce, rhubarb and strawberries to our cottage. Apart from the tranquility and beauty of Croan, a big bonus for us is being able to bring our dog who is just as amused by the farm animals as the kids are. We're looking forward to returning again, particularly when the new motorway opens and cuts the journey time from Dublin significantly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nl2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Just come back from a week in Croan Cottages. My wife and I had a great time and will definitely be back someday - most likely with some friends and their families.
Facilities are great - farm animals roaming about the place, all you need for a relaxing break.
In my opinion, some of the comments on the site are accurate. Wireless broadband availability was hit and miss (if expecting to work while on hols, this is probably something you should bear in mind). But who works on holiday??
We found Niamh and Francis to be very friendly, but not intrusive - guess they are mindful of encroaching on privacy and comfort of their guests. No problems finding them if we needed anything. While some might find the booklet to be rules oriented, we found it invaluable to guide us to the many amenities in the area (of these, Woodstock Gardens I would highly recommend).
All in all, a very positive experience that has converted me to self-catering holidays - not something I would have even considered before!
thanks to Niamh and Francis for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here for Easter - my wife and I with our two children, who are now 11 and 4. We cycled from Thomastown - keep off the busy main road if you do so! The quiet little roads are a joy to cycle on. And the landscape is a pleasure for someone like me who takes far too many photographs.

We greatly valued the friendly and helpful attitude of the owners, Niamh and Francis, who clearly love the place and enjoy their guests. The cottages are simple and comfortable, and easy to keep clean too. The children loved the animals - hens, peacocks, guinea fowl, pigs, goats, cattle, sheep and, of course, the two dogs.

We have every hope of coming back before too long.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
10.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
10.5 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croan Cottages

Property: Croan Cottages
Address: Dunnamaggin | Dunnamaggan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing