We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Croan Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croan Cottages
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just back from a fantastic weekend in Croan Cottages. Went with a group of 18 for a birthday celebration. Cottages were perfect and spotless, plenty of room for all of us. Niamh and Fran were great hosts.. we opted for dinner on the Saturday night and it was first class. Lovely homemade, farm fresh food. Great surroundings, loads to do I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pap32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in the cottages with out 1 and half year old he loved the chickens and the dogs we all had a great time.
Niamh and Francis couldnt be more welcoming, the cottage was spotless and had everything we needed.
Would highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

For any traveler wishing to have a fabulous self-catering experience in Ireland, Croan Cottages provides that and more. A great central location for day trips with the added benefit of returning to a quiet country cottage life at the end of the day. The owners, Niamh and Francis are generously gracious and resourceful. The cottages are equipped well enough to make the self-catering an easy task. I am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We just spent 11 days in Croan Cottages , a perfect country location and yet near to Kilkenny, Waterford , Dublin and lots of other places for shops,restaurants etc.,
The owners Francis + Niamh were very welcoming and friendly and we fell in love with Bella & Poppy ( their adorable dogs, still missing them ! )
We awoke to breathtaking views of "Escape to the Country " quality, simply stunning ! and the sound of the chickens & other poultry which after the first morning was,nt unusual but quite charming.
I have no hesitation to recommend this fabulous holiday" get away from it all" to all our friends both here in The Netherlands and in Ireland + Britain.
Hoping to return to Croan again one day soon, David + Rob, The Netherlands.
P.S.
Energy costs were minimal, we paid 11 euros for a stay of 11 days ! Great value all round for a beautiful comfortable cottage in beautiful suroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at croan cottages for a part of our honeymoon. Niamh was very welcoming and it was nice that they left cava and chocolates for us on arrival. Fantastic unique experience being on a farm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croan_Cottages, Owner at Croan Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Hi Peter, many thanks for the review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully next time we'll get 5 stars across the board!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Beautiful cottages set in peaceful, rural setting. We went there with the kids at Easter and had a very relaxing time. The kids loved playing with the animals - lambs, chicks, goats etc. and also the owners' very friendly old dogs. Francis and Niamh (the owners) were very warm and friendly, but not at all intrusive. Niamh's home cooking was delicious - we pre-ordered some food and then went off for a hike. When we came home tired, we just had time to put some logs on the fire before Niamh brought our fantastic meal over to the cottage door. If you are looking for a relaxing break in the Irish countryside with exceptional hospitality, Croan Cottages will not disappoint.

Room Tip: E-mail Francis in advance at info@croancottages.com. He is very helpful and will give you all the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McAleavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Croan Cottages for 3 nights over Easter and found it to be a beautiful place. The courtyard setting was so beautiful with the blossom trees creating a romantic light. The houses were spacious, clean and bright and still had a lovely cosy feel with an open fire. The extra bathroom was also welcomed in the 3 bed if you are sharing with kids. The option of ordering cooked meals from the owners was also a lovely touch. Although I wouldnt personally be a dog lover, the kids really enjoyed their company as they were very friendly dogs. The other animals on site were also a great treat for the kids to enjoy in a peaceful environment. We found the owners to be very helpful and friendly and we will definitely be re-visiting these houses as some stage in the future. Well worth a visit as a couple or a family - suits all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
10.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croan Cottages

Property: Croan Cottages
Address: Dunnamaggin | Dunnamaggan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing