We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Croan Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
62
12
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
12
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringfriendly hostsrelaxing breakcounty kilkennyshort drivefrancischickensirelandpubs
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We chose Croan Cottages because of all of the pictures of animals on
their (very attractive) website. The kids in our party love animals,
so it seemed like the obvious choice. We were not dissapointed!

The description given was absolutely spot on. The cottages are first
class - very well laid out, clean, quiet and very comfortable (the
beds are great!)

The farm has a wide variety of animals including some very unusual
breeds and the kids were taken along at feeding time and actually fed
some of the animals out of their hands. I'm sure they will have
memories of this trip for the rest of their lives!

I would highly recommend Croan as a get away for families or couples
looking for a quiet rural break in Ireland.

It's also very close to Kilkenny and we managed some day trips to
Dublin and Cork.

We're already planning on going back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Can't understand the negative reviews. We have stayed at Croan Cottages for the last two years and have booked again for next year. The cottages are absolutely immaculate, set in lovely surroundings. The owners live on site and are easily accessible and very helpful. Francis even opened the bottle of wine for us when we couldn't open it! Everything is set out clearly on the web site and in the Information File in the cottage. Meals can be supplied which are very tasty but a bit pricey. Worth it though after a long journey.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dandiroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We have stayed here two times; first time we had one 2-bed cottage, and next door our friends did too. We shared cooking and had a great time.

Second time we rented a larger house to accomadate 3 children and 4 adults. House was great, location is great.

The animals on the farm mean that you can walk out the door and entertain the kids.

Would go again in the future.

Both times we availed of the food service and were delighted at the quality, albeit a bit small.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin_IrelandLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We traveled around Ireland for almost 3 weeks in April, and we went self catering for almost all of it. Croan Cottages was by far the best that we came across in our 3 weeks of traveling.
The whole set up of the place is great, the grounds and cottages are clean, safe and well appointed and laid out, lots of open spaces to let the kids (3 and 5) run around, play and explore.
The biggest thrill for the kids was the wide selection of animals, giving it the feel of having your own farm on your doorstep. The animals range from what you would expect in the shape of two adorable dogs, to lambs and chickens as well as some ducks and guinea fowl! We still get told almost nightly about the chickens by the kids.
The cottages are run by a husband and wife team who themselves have young children, they have a real passion for the countryside and have obviously spent a lot of time in tailoring the cottages to suit the needs of those travelers looking for a peaceful idyllic retreat.
Nowhere is the attention to detail more obvious than in the extensive information pack we found in our cottage. It has a comprehensive overview of activities available in the area, events, attractions, places of interest. The kids section was really helpful as keeping two young kids amused is a full time job!
For adults the location in the heart of the country side makes it a great place to unwind, there are lots of suggestions for things to do in the information pack and there is a wonderful array of restaurants detailed in the information pack.
All said, we had a great time in Ireland, and Croan Cottages was the best on a great vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cees_Marijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We were greeted warmly by the owner albeit he was somewhat suprised to see us because he had us down as arriving the next day. Thankfully, one of the cottages was available and we weren't left stranded with a very tired baby. He took us through the cottage and explained the rules about recycling (and charges for not doing so) and answered all our questions with care. He also dug out some stair gates for the baby which I thought was very good - not provided at any of the other places we stayed on our trip.

The cottage itself was very nicely appointed and extremely comfortable. Downstairs comprised a large kitchen, dining area, sitting room and master bed/bathroom while upstairs had another bathroom and two more bedrooms. There was a small tv with a selection of DVD's as well as a bit of reading material for good measure.

We had no hot water when we arrived (due to the mix-up with our arrival date) but other than that the stay went without a hitch. The property is a bit off the beaten track but still within striking distance of Kilkenny if you have your own vehicle. The property is haven for animals which our boy loved, though there was an overly friendly peacock whose behavour was a little unnerving at times...

Apart from our initial meeting we saw very little of the owners which was fine as far as we were concerned. The only things I found a bit much were the fact that despite my requests to see the power meeting reading I was politely refused. I was assured it wouldn't cost much but I didn't like having to give my card details and consent to pay for something without being given the opportunity to see the inital meter reading.

Also, while I applaud the fact the owners are environmentally conscious the literature provided about the property read like a rule book that outlined punitive measures for non-compliance with their green policies. Again, nothing wrong with the policies but I think their approach could be a bit softer (i.e. gentle encouragement rather than threats of fines).

I would recommend Croan Cottages for anyone wanting to get away for a quiet break and thought that the accommodation and surrounds were first class. The service was a mixed bag, but we enjoyed our stay and thought we got good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukevdb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews