We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful but very Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croan Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Croan Cottages
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful but very Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

The 'cottages' were built within the last ten years and taken over by the current owners six years ago. We paid up front for two weeks. We had to change cottages on the second day because of very poor internet reception; as we were househunting and working remotely internet coverage was very important. We moved to the 2 bed cottage closest to the main house and coverage was better though intermittent. If you really do need constant internet access I would suggest you stay elsewhere. The 'cottages' are in a peaceful site. We had the place to ourselves and as they are built close together it may not be quite so peaceful with full occupancy. We stayed in two 'cottages' as explained above and both were in a tired condition; little things like a kettle that doesn't work all the time, uncomfortable lounge furniture, kitchen chairs that may collapse on you - though we did a swap with the ones next door which improved things. The bathrooms were okay though grubby grouting is a turn off and lack of a bathroom blind or curtain is fine if you are an exhibitionist - mind you apart from the owners going backwards and forward the only creature to look in might be the peacock though of course with full occupancy you would have a human audience whilst you deal with your ablutions! Really the place could do with a revamp, new furniture, better ovens, good quality kettles and kitchen equipment, it all verges on 'adequate' and no more than that. The positive things : friendly and helpful owners, friendly dogs, and pleasant walking country. Oh, at the end of our stay we had to pay an additional 60 Euros for utilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlenePerowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croan_Cottages, Owner at Croan Cottages, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
No good turn goes unpunished!

To address the problems you had with your laptop connectivity, you asked to move to a different cottage closer to the base station. Though we explained that this cottage was undergoing its annual refurbishment, that the painters had not yet finished and that the new window blinds and furniture had not yet been delivered, you insisted that you'd prefer to move and that the uncovered bathroom window would not be a problem.

We keep spare appliances and furniture items in case they are damaged during a guest's stay and can replace them immediately, if required. Of course, we can only do so if we are asked to.

We charge electricity according to consumption and we only charge guests the same amount as the utility company charges us. Usually, a week's stay incurs an electricity charge of between 5 and 15 Euro. If your charge was more, it's because you consumed more, for example, leaving the immersion heater on.

We were glad that we could help you store your stuff in the sheds at Croan (free of charge). It is a pity however that we had to incur the cost of dumping the trailer load of rubbish you left behind when you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

We arrived on a cold afternoon in late December 2009. Quickly greeted by the lovely Niamh, who had the cottage well aired and warm for us, plus the makings of a fire. Her husband Francis came to welcome us and made sure we were warm and comfortable due to the weather conditions. Sadly we left a day early again due to the weather conditions, but the walks the peace and the beauty of this place will have us coming back in the Summer.

Margaret & Liam

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Location: good, will be exceptional once new M9 motorway opened.
Cottages: clean, well appointed
Facilities: Good, heating was necessary due to cold winter but performed well
Owners: Lived on site but not in your face. Very friendly and helpful.
Rules: Very specific but fair in the main
Good Points: we were able to bring our (2) dogs, satellite TV had most channels, heating, children loved the animals, WiFi (included in price), environmentally sensitive
Points in need of improvement: Internet connection very poor (we had the cottage furthest from source), rules aroud dogs were a little confining (had to be on leads when outside ALL the time)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasnevinGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We chose Croan Cottages because of all of the pictures of animals on
their (very attractive) website. The kids in our party love animals,
so it seemed like the obvious choice. We were not dissapointed!

The description given was absolutely spot on. The cottages are first
class - very well laid out, clean, quiet and very comfortable (the
beds are great!)

The farm has a wide variety of animals including some very unusual
breeds and the kids were taken along at feeding time and actually fed
some of the animals out of their hands. I'm sure they will have
memories of this trip for the rest of their lives!

I would highly recommend Croan as a get away for families or couples
looking for a quiet rural break in Ireland.

It's also very close to Kilkenny and we managed some day trips to
Dublin and Cork.

We're already planning on going back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Can't understand the negative reviews. We have stayed at Croan Cottages for the last two years and have booked again for next year. The cottages are absolutely immaculate, set in lovely surroundings. The owners live on site and are easily accessible and very helpful. Francis even opened the bottle of wine for us when we couldn't open it! Everything is set out clearly on the web site and in the Information File in the cottage. Meals can be supplied which are very tasty but a bit pricey. Worth it though after a long journey.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandiroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

We have stayed here two times; first time we had one 2-bed cottage, and next door our friends did too. We shared cooking and had a great time.

Second time we rented a larger house to accomadate 3 children and 4 adults. House was great, location is great.

The animals on the farm mean that you can walk out the door and entertain the kids.

Would go again in the future.

Both times we availed of the food service and were delighted at the quality, albeit a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We traveled around Ireland for almost 3 weeks in April, and we went self catering for almost all of it. Croan Cottages was by far the best that we came across in our 3 weeks of traveling.
The whole set up of the place is great, the grounds and cottages are clean, safe and well appointed and laid out, lots of open spaces to let the kids (3 and 5) run around, play and explore.
The biggest thrill for the kids was the wide selection of animals, giving it the feel of having your own farm on your doorstep. The animals range from what you would expect in the shape of two adorable dogs, to lambs and chickens as well as some ducks and guinea fowl! We still get told almost nightly about the chickens by the kids.
The cottages are run by a husband and wife team who themselves have young children, they have a real passion for the countryside and have obviously spent a lot of time in tailoring the cottages to suit the needs of those travelers looking for a peaceful idyllic retreat.
Nowhere is the attention to detail more obvious than in the extensive information pack we found in our cottage. It has a comprehensive overview of activities available in the area, events, attractions, places of interest. The kids section was really helpful as keeping two young kids amused is a full time job!
For adults the location in the heart of the country side makes it a great place to unwind, there are lots of suggestions for things to do in the information pack and there is a wonderful array of restaurants detailed in the information pack.
All said, we had a great time in Ireland, and Croan Cottages was the best on a great vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cees_Marijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
9.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
10.5 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croan Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croan Cottages

Property: Croan Cottages
Address: Dunnamaggin | Dunnamaggan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing