We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Langton's

Langton's
Ranked #11 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Healthy, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our extensive Bar and A la Carte menus are available both in our Restaurant and Bar. Food is served all day until 10:30pm. Langton's Bar is a buzzing environment where you can enjoy authentic traditional Irish food in relaxed, comfortable and stylish surroundings. Winner and current holder of the 'National Bar of the Year' (Best Bar in Ireland) award a record 5 times! Live Irish Music from 7 to 9pm. Sample some of our 7 local beers on tap, the most available anywhere in Kilkenny. The Langton Room Restaurant The award-winning Langton Room is a unique dining experience. This elegant restaurant exudes warmth, friendliness, sophistication, charm and character. Explore our exquisite yet simple menus, created using the finest locally-sourced ingredients, offering the perfect mix of traditional Irish and international cuisine.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very nice restaurant. Great location and local music. Seemed to be one of the more popular places to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    215
    66
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not as l remember”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Had a nice meal here years ago. Went out of our way on a trip to Waterford. It was just after lunchtime & there were more staff than customers. Ordered 3 drinks & 3 meals. When the drinks arrived 2 were wrong. The food was nicely presented & very tasty. As l ate mine l noticed the plate was chipped on the edge. Price of the food was reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had visited this restaurant years ago and always wanted to return.
Unfortunately it did not live up to the memory.
Food was just average. We had wings to start with were very good, although with a nice dressing it is hard to get wings wrong. I had fish goujons which had a very greasy batter, chips were undercooked. One of our party had chicken goujons with salad, the chicken was overcooked to the point of the ends of the goujons being hard!!! Staff friendly and professional. With many good eateries in Kilkenny I think I will give this one a pass next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yugscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Dinner after drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We asked for a dinner recommendation from the patrons at Shem's pub nearby. Sending us to Langton was a good call. Braised lamb was a very good dish. My wife had another lamb dish three ways which was good but not great. Other dishes we saw looked good too.

The service was fine but slow when we wanted to cash out. We were there on a Tuesday evening and caught some good traditional Irish music performed. Overall I'd call it a safe bet for a good meal in Kilkenny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had read that this was THEE place to go, and it was just okay. Feel we wasted time on a mediocre spot....had to spend 30 minutes waiting for the bill, and the food was average at best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langton's also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Langton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing