We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Kyteler's Inn

Kyteler's Inn
Ranked #11 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Medieaval building in the heart of Kilkenny dating back to 1324. Once home to Dame Alice Kyteler tried for witchcraft. Kytelers Inn is NOT a restaurant but a Pub - which is our main business. Yes we also serve bar food.There are three floors with four bars - cheek them all out for the one that suits.On offer at peak season twice nightly from 6.30pm. is a programme of trad music,balladeer, irish dancers & seanachie. You can watch & eat & drink at your leisure.Weekends and Bank holidays we also have Late Bar extensions with bands & DJ for those that want to party a bit later into the night.As it was in Alice Kyteler's day - Kyteler's Inn is a place for "merrie making" - Come and visit us to find out more..Also check us out - Trip Advisor Bars/Nightlife
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Live Music from 18,30 with a traditional irish performance, perfect Guinnes and nice food. If you mix all of these with the atmosphere you can breath inside this pub, you'll realize you are in one of the best place in Ireland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    666
    184
    60
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ireland 2014”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The food was to die for. Always piping hot and very tasty. They also had local entertainment that was very informative. They played music and told stories of the area. Very good!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mocha709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the music and the atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The food was fine, but what we really went for was a Shandy and the music - and it did not disappoint! The atmosphere was great (a terrific story about the inn's origins written on the menu), the service was wonderful. It was an very enjoyable evening. Definitely worth a visit when you're in Kilkenny!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barcapnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to this restaurant/pub for a late dinner on a Sunday night. The food was great. I had the vol a vent which the waitress recommended and it tasted great. My husband had the Irish stew and thought the flavor was better than other stews he tasted on our trip. The atmosphere was exactly what we thought an Irish pub should look like- dark wood and lots of stone. We ate in the bar area. It did get very crowded and we had to leave about 9:30 because our 8 year old daughter was with us. The music had recently started and sounded great for the short time we were able to enjoy it. Would not recommend bringing younger children here late in the evening due to the rowdy crowd, but would definitely recommended this place for a fun pub experience in Ireland!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKAGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dull food but Irish Music and dancing”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Decoration is nice and gives you the impression you would expect of a place with a Irish music. The food here is dull and somewhat overpriced. The entertainment was okay. Have heard/seen better and without a microphone it's difficult for the musicians with all the noise in the large room. The dancers did not seem very experienced, but if you have not seen Irish dancing before, this is an opportunity you should consider. I would, however, have dinner at another place and stick to ordering something small. Also, I would consider going all the way and attending an Irish dinnershow instead, as you get a far more professional show.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grylle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyteler's Inn also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kyteler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing