We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Killkenny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location and great staff members. The downside is that it needs some maintenance. Some parts of the hostel need to be "re-freshed", cleaned up and organized. But that is not a big deal actually. For me, the most important thing is the atmosphere in the hostel which i really liked!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMonksBunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

It was a nice place to stay for a night. The kitchen was good for a combination of free food and our own food. The stuff was friendly and very helpful. Next to the hostel was a possibility to Park the car for free. Thank you!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christoph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I came to Kilkenny this past weekend for the rhythm and roots festival, and I feel I could not have chosen a better place to stay for the price than MacGabhainns. Comfortable beds, great kitchen and backyard areas, and clean facilities provided for an enjoyable stay, but what really made the experience worthwhile was the friendly staff. We got to know them fairly well over the few days we were there and even went out to the pubs together. The owner also took a great deal of interest in making sure everything was pleasant for us. As an added bonus you might also find two dogs running around the property. I highly recommend checking this place out if you're passing through Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hostel! Clean, cozy, and, most of all, the staff is very friendly and offering help and advice. It really felt like a home away from home and I would recommend this hostel to everyone. (Not to forget: It's located very central).

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great Hostel, very well looked after. The staff are very friendly and very welcoming. Amazing price and just a minutes walk from High street where the shops and pubs are and the Kilkenny Castle. The rooms are lovely and the beds are so soft and comfy,so that was an even bigger bonus for me. I would 100% recommend MacGabhainns Backpackers Hostel, a little home away from home :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelli1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here on a wed night in march, was travelling as a group of 3 and we turned up unannounced which wasnt a problem, staff/owners were very friendly and were more than happy to give us advice on where to go and what to do in kilkenny, located just off the main st so was only a short stroll to the heart of the action. There are 3 budget (€1/2 per day) car parks located within a 2/3min walk from the hostel which was ideal. Hostel was basic but clean, i wouldnt have an indepth knowledge of the hostel scene in ireland but the ladies I was travelling with said that this hostel was far more superior to the hostel they had stayed in in Dublin the previous night......All in all I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBriBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great little hostel, war welcoming, super friendly staff, comfy beds, close to everything, great price.....what more could you want!!! Highly recommended little hostel in Kilkenny. Only downside was the breakfast was a little limited.
Cheers guys

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.7 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
1.5 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#3 of 24 in Kilkenny
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#13 of 24 in Kilkenny
138 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 24 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: £25 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Information:Proudly voted best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011 Macgabhainns Backpackers Hostel is a small hostel located in the heart of the city centre, just ten minutes' walk from Kilkenny Castle, close to the railway and bus station.We offer a comfortable and friendly atmosphere for weary travellers.We have lots of free facilities, such as free breakfast, parking, security lockers, internet access, Wi-Fi and even a free map of the city! Breakfast includes porridge, corn flakes, toast and tea or coffee; you can also have as much free tea and coffee as you want, all day long. We even wash your dishes for you!There's a cool barbecue area in our garden. We're also located near pubs with traditional Irish music and some fine restaurants that are quite inexpensive.We were voted the best hostel in Kilkenny in 2011, and one of the top hostels in Ireland. We were approved by the Irish Tourism Board in 2012 and are recommended by Lonely Planet, Routards and Let's Go.We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing