We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent at every level- a must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campagne

Campagne
Ranked #3 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent at every level- a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just back from a great weekend away in Kilkenny - the highlight of which was our visit to Campagne on Friday night. The staff were genuinely warm and friendly and the food was sensational, each course presented beautifully and bursting with wonderfully honest flavours. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    114
    47
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best in Kilkenny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

An excellent meal using good local ingredients. My only complaint would be that the portions are too big! Slightly out of the way location but all the same was busy for lunch, good choice of wines by the glass, decanter or bottle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Must find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great dining experience amongst the wealth of restaurants in kilkenny. This place is a must find spot... a little off the beaten track tucked under the stone arches just a few mins walk drom the hustle bustle.

Myself and my husband went for dinner on a Tuesday night, was expecting the place to be fairly quiet but there were a nice amount of people in the dinning room and a really good atmosphere.

The service was second to none.. everyone very friendly and professional.

We had the cod & duck terrine for starters from early bird.. both excellent.. then the pig & lamb for mains... again excellent and no need for additional sides. The mash was a winner... However, the show stopper was the finale - the madeleines... understated but particularly tasty!

On a side note- pretty decent selection of wines by the glass and carafes.... valpolicella was delish!

All round great experience and would definitely go back in a heart beat!

Helpful?
Thank amanda-jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were part of a large party in Campagne over the weekend, all their accolades are well deserved. The staff are excellent and the food was first class. From phoning first to OK 2 special bottles of wine to be brought in, the staff looked after us all evening. My Turbot with hollandaise was as good a dish that I have had anywhere. Well done a big thank you to all at Campagne, we look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Absolutely perfect experience at Campagne. The ambiance and decor, service, wine and food was outstanding. When everyone at the table is convinced their chosen dish was the best, you know the chef is doing an outstanding job.
Next time I'm in Ireland I'll be sure to visit Kilkenny for the joy of returning to Campagne.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigeon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campagne also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Campagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing