We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a Miss!”
Review of Glendine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendine Inn
Ranked #42 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

While there was nothing terribly wrong with the place, our experience at the Glendine Inn was "meh". Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and the manager helped us upstairs with our luggage. Our room #8 (and corridor) was stuffy and smelled of old cigarette smoke and the two windows did nothing to attract a breeze. Breakfast was on par with Motel 6 - eggs out of a box, grizzly sausages, limp toast,,, I recall someone saying in their review that this place was within walking distance to the town...? Seriously? Not on a good day would this be considered within walking distance. Seriously. There has to be better options in Kilkenny and I encourage you to find them.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker ask for a non-smoking room, if they exist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 847gregbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thanks to Alan and his staff for great comfortable stay at the Glendine We will be back
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful
Rooms very clean and well kept
Thanks to all See ye all when we're back in Kilkenny again

Room Tip: Car parking a great bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a girls weekend. Rooms have been newly decorated and are ideal as guesthouse accommodation goes, clean and well equipped. The bar downstairs has a homely feel and the staff are very friendly. When we wanted to go to town they arranged taxis for us and advised us on the best places Kilkenny has to offer. Breakfast was cooked to order and went down a treat. Would recommend this bar/guesthouse to friends when visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a difficult time finding a B&B in Kilkenny. This was our only option. We arrived in the late afternoon. The local kids were racing their cars in the parking lot. We found somebody in the pub (located on the ground floor) to check us in. We were told to pay in advance. After we saw the room, we knew why! A very old room with no heat and a window that had a big gap with a breeze coming. We were told there would be a night porter at the door after hours. This was not true. The hot water did not work. The only hot thing was the plate at breakfast. Breakfast was ok but not great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just back from break in kilkenny with my husband. we stayed at the glendine Inn a litte outside city but walking distance we were so surprised A lovely man booked us in , showed us to our room, very clean and spacious Breakfast was excellent , if I was to complain their was too much, but food cooked perfectly
The bar was quaint, local and very friendly people

All in all a perfect 2 nights in kilkenny I would highly recommend the Glendine for value and friendliness

Room Tip: Just remember 10 minute walk to city but great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stay in the glendine inn every time I visit kilkenny ( witch is quite often ) the staff are extreamily nice and welcoming . Rooms are lovely verry comfortable and lovely food verry good price . I have recommended this B&B to many of my friends and family that have stayed in kilkenny and all said the same lovely spot grate worm friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maira249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

An Australian friend and myself decided to go to Kilkenny for the night (Saturday night) over Christmas (December 2013) as she had just arrived the day before from Brisbane and wanted to see Ireland and the first port of call was Kilkenny. The room was 70 euro including breakfast (so 35 euro each) which was fine because all we really wanted was a place to rest our heads.

The rooms were fairly old and were freezing cold when we went up first with a rather large gap underneath the door. This again didnt bother us too much as we were just looking for somewhere to come back to after our night out. The rooms and the outside door were card activated and we were informed that a night porter would be on all night if there were an issues.

We arrived back to the B&B at approximately half three after being out in Kilkenny city (bearing in mind the winter we have just had the night was baltic cold) and went to go into the B&B using our key cards and neither card would work. Fortunately another woman was coming in the same time as us and let us in. We then proceeded to check could we get into our room but again the key cards did not work. The woman who just let us in said to come back to hers to ring the nightporter to come up and let us in. For the next hour we proceeded to ring downstairs with no one answering and also went downstairs to check to see if anyone was around but no one was around and the place was pitch black. As we could not stay in our own room as we were locked out and no nightporter or ANY staff working this woman kindly let us stay in her room.

What happened the next day when we went to complain was atrocious we were told to wait around till 12 till the manager "reviewed" the CCTV to make sure we were telling the truth. We stayed around until 12 but no one arrived. I proceeded to ring back the people in charge (who in turn actually own the Kilford Arms hotel in Kilkenny city) and they said he isnt around until 5 we would have to wait till then. Exacerbated at this point we made our way down to the Kingley hotel and spoke to the owner. The owner spoke to us in a dismissive and patronising manner and informed us "you must have done something to your card for it not to work as everyone elses card worked that night" when i informed him there were no staff on to re-activate the card he informed me that the nightporter was infact on and that i "must'nt have tried too hard to contact him". When we had showed him the number of times we had rang downstairs (we rang from our mobiles also) he said he couldnt make a decision without talking to the manager despite the fact he is the owner of both businesses.

In turn the nightporter rang me back (who infairness was very polite and apologetic) that afternoon to say that he infact had forgotten to transfer the phone calls from downstairs up to his room and would refund me the 70 euro. However the lady who let us (two strangers) stay in her room (one in her bed and the other on a single bed) was not refunded her money as she seemingly "got the service she paid for".

All in all it was a horrible dive to stay in with an equally horrible and obnoxious owner and I advise anyone staying in Kilkenny to avoid both places.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ash r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
816 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
1.9 mi away
Launard House
Launard House
#47 of 74 in Kilkenny
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine Inn

Address: Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glendine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing