We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Place in the Country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashbrook House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ashbrook House
Ranked #39 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Place in the Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We arrived very early to Ashbrook House, but our host, Dermot, was kind enough to let us check in early. It is a newer property about 6 miles outside Kilkenny. Easy to find if you follow the directions. Bed was comfy, everything clean and light. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We got lots of information about the area and had great recommendations for dinner and attractions. Paddy's nearby and Langton's in town. Dermot and Sandy are great hosts. Hope we return to Kilkenny in the future, as we would not hesitate to stay at Ashbrook House again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denman, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

just perfect -- lovely room great food and the service from Dermont and Sandra was first class.--Paddys pub was just a short stroll down the road, seemed a bit longer coming home especially after watching the world cup
(dont ask for the result)My son (27) enjoyed the friendly soccer match with Dermond s son and his mate --really worked up a thirst
would highly recommend staying at Ashbrook House-will stay again next visit
Les and Mark Eaton --NSW Australia

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Beautiful house but way out of Kilkenny. Road to house full of pot holes. Booked an en suite room, but couldn,t swing a mouse never mind a cat in the bathroom would advise booking room without ensuite as then you have the use of a beautiful large bathroom. Beds were very comfortable, No milk in room had to ask for some for tea and none left for second day there

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernIrelandBiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Lovely room, great breakfast, friendly service, a good selection of DVDs to borrow.

NB: 10 mins out of town but beautiful, quiet rural setting (although motorway going in nearby).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatshepsut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We arrived and found ourselves in a beautiful home with wooden floors. The rooms were spacious and the beds were great. The bathroom was modern, there was a t.v. and they even offer DVDs for your viewing pleasure. Kilkenny is close by, and Sandra was helpful in recommending a place for dinner. We slept like babies, and breakfast was perfect. Sandra was very friendly and even told us the story behind the certificate of the Pope's blessing of their marriage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

Sandra and Dermot are awesome and even drove us to an attraction. You can't beat their customer service and their house is very very comfy and really nice. Thanks again!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank phils4410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
6.6 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
6.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook House

Property: Ashbrook House
Address: Ballyquirke, | Clifden,, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing