We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience and very good food! ”

The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar
Ranked #26 of 223 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Grapevine Tapas Bar is Kilkenny's favourite casual dining venue.Great food, music and service.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience and very good food! ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We visited early on a Saturday evening and so had no problem with the service, unlike some recent reviewers. The selection of tapas that we chose were freshly prepared and flavoursome - the patatas bravas had a great sauce and the hummus was GREAT :-) . During our trip we had also been to Lautrec which was also good, but The Grapevine beat it hands down.

Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    30
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisburgh, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good Tapas bar!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Visited this Tapas bar last weekend in Kilkenny and we were delighted we stopped in!

They have a special of 5 tapas, 2 deserts and a bottle of house red for 49euro from Sunday to Thursday! Be sure not to miss out on this as it is great value!

There is a great selection including some unusual tapas dishes such as humous and spiced lamb with couscous!

Everything we tasted was delicious and they serve food until 10pm!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently went to the grapevine wine bar. It was brilliant. The decor is attractive and service excellent. Choice of tapas is extensive as is their wine list.
Definitely will return

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Tapas and wine”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent dinner. they recommend 5 to share between 2. and that was perfect amount of food. had a very nice bottle of house wine. very tasty food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food was fine, some dishes were very nice, we went mostly for the early bird (though it was not very inclusive). It was a bit expensive for what it was, considering portion size(small even for tapas). The service was very slow in spite of it being reasonably quiet. The staff seemed very busy but were certainly pleasant and helpful. I found it a bit dark if you were far from the window and the artwork, though interesting was not a great accompaniment for your meal. on the plus side they had a few different beers aswell as lots of wines. The olives were very nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank butlaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Grapevine Wine & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing