We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grrrreat weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nore Valley Campground
drogheda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“grrrreat weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

we usually go camping but we decided to stay in the mobile home for the weekend . reading some of the reviews we didnt know what to do but we decided to see it for ourselfs . to our delight we were glad we did . our little girl had a ball thanks to Gareth who has the pattience of a saint with the kids as do the owners samuel and isobel too . the mobile home was nice and clean and a lovely view of the valley . the homemade brown bread is a must to try . we went into killkenny city which is less than half an hour drive loads to do rain or no rain so you will be ok for the kids . we will deffo be back .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    11
    12
    18
See reviews for
113
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Can't believe some of the reviews this place gets off people.We've been coming here regularly for about four years and it's fantastic,peace and quiet,great walks,great views and good facillities,a real outdoors place.So to the moaners,maybe your not cut out for the camping lifestyle and stick to your hotels

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank alan689908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Not going to beat about the bush here, we drove down and stayed one night and drove home as soon as I could get a refund. We had booked to stay in one of the 4 mobile homes on site. 2 adults and 4 children. First was the mould on all the curtains in every room. None of the windows closed properly or securely at all. The fridge fell apart when I opened it and the smell in the smaller toilet, well I'm not sure what it was. The beds, duvets and pillows have all seen better days and it was obvious that there had been no heating on in the mobile for a very long time (even though my deposit had been paid 2 months prior to us arriving). The mobile was generally dirty, cooker head was covered in grease and dead flies were stuck to the grease. What alarmed me the most though was the fact there was no gas boiler approved sticker, to say when it was last serviced. The sticker had been ripped off.Oh and the shower fell down when we tried to use it. Activities for the children appeared good at first, until you discover that the go-karts are €1.50 per child. Out of 15 karts, only about 6 were in working order. The "play ground" was a joke and the 3d maze, well we didn't bother, because at €1 per level, 10 levels and 4 children was quite expensive I thought. The children loved Gareth and his patience with both them and the animals. But thats it. The final nail in the coffin was waking up to find icicles on the inside of the doors and condensation frozen inside the windows. The gas was gone (Isabel said it was frozen???) and the mobile was beyond freezing. So we packed up. I requested a refund, which I received minus the night we'd stayed. It was a shame really because it wouldn't take much to make the mobiles presentable. As it is I would not recommend Nore Valley at all, to anyone. I was soooo disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We decided to take the campervan out for its final trip of 2012. I had read the previous reviews and was a bit apprehensive on what to expect at Nore Valley but we were very happy with the 3 nights we spent there. We arrived on Saturday afternoon, were greeted with a smile and informed of the activities taking place that evening (bonfire, fancy dress competition, pumpkin carving competition). We always use the awning with our camper and were not charged for this, which I thought was a nice gesture. We set up and had a good look about the place and got ready for the bonfire, it was a lovely evening, they had hot drinks, lovely home made carrot cake, juice, nuts and sweets for the kids. All the kids who partook in both competitions were given treats. The kids loved toasting marsh mallows on the bonfire. A very peaceful nights sleep was had by all. There was about 15 campers/caravans there and even a few tents. Sunday we spent at Nore Valley, we took the walk around the farm and fort, the kids loved the animals, the tractor ride and their favourite was the bouncy hay shed. Animal feeding time was at 5.30pm where the kids got to feed and hold some of the animals. You can order fresh bread, rolls, cakes etc and they will be ready for collection at reception from 8.30am the following morning, nothing like some fresh homemade bread 1st thing in the morning. The toilet facilities were clean, we looked into the kitchen and tv room, both were small but adequate and clean. Because it was Halloween the campground was quite but we really enjoyed our few days at Nore Valley and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We arrived at Nore Park without previously reading the reviews. Just as well as we probably would have not stayed based on bad reviews. However, we are glad we stayed there. On arrival we were met by a very smartly dressed gentleman who welcomed us with a smile. He explained all about the local attractions and about all the facilities and things to do on the farm. We pitched up with our motorhome at a pitch close to the shower block. We had a lovely nights sleep, very peaceful. We were awakened in the morning ( not too early) by a cockerel crowing and a couple of donkeys mewing. This was to the delight of our 2yr old daughter, who was totally in her element. We had a shower, was a bit cold in the cubicle ( but was late September) but lots of hot water to shower with. The farmers wife baked us some fresh rolls and just before breakfast at 9 am we took our girl to feed the animals. The farmer was very friendly and showed us how to feed the lambs, baby rabbits, chickens, deer, ostrich, geese, donkeys, goats, turkeys. We had a ball, and all before 10 am. We had a lovely morning, and after breakfast we cleaned up and went a beautiful walk. We had a great time. This is definitely a family orientated campsite. We would recommend to anyone to give it a try you may get a nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancroft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We went last weekend and because there were a few of us in our group we were put in the back field out of the way with no views just a mucky field,,the rest of the campsites has lovely views of the valley and nice walkways!! Plus to get to the toilets from our field the children had to cross the main entrance where there was a lot of traffic coming and going!!! Found children's activities ok besides the maze was a total rip off,,there is ten levels in the maze and you must pay a euro a level with four children we couldn't justify paying €40 for a wooden maze there in and out in less then a minute and doesn't look safe!! We made the most of our stay and had a good weekend but will not return in a hurry!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Furball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlavin, Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We are just back from a week holiday in the Nore Valley Caravan park. We had one of the best holidays in years. We have 3 children (16,10 & 5 yrs). This site suited all 3 of them. They had a ball and we had a nice relaxing time.
Samual and Isobel run a tight ship and are strict on quiet time which I agree with. The site is clean and friendly but some things need some attention and tidying up. We cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nore Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nore Valley Campground

Property: Nore Valley Campground
Address: | Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing