We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Nore Valley Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nore Valley Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We (2ad+1ch) are just back from spending the weekend at Nore Valley Campsite and feel thoroughly relaxed and can't wait to go again!

Our 9 year old loved every minute and enjoyed all the entertainment on offer. Staff were excellent with the kids during the activities. Her only complaint was the play park, this could really do with some extra equipment being added.

We were allowed choose our own pitch which was great. Facilities were good and the little shop and home baking was apt for the farm setting. The location is fantastic, its set in beautiful countryside with peace & tranquility and only a 15 mins drive to Kilkenny city.

Everyone settled down early so this is not the place for partying.

If you are after a family orientated, relaxing campsite this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Love this campsite so much! Not far from Dublin! Perfect for children to enjoy! Go karts are a great hit with my boys, as is the maze n the trailer rides! Simple things go a long way! One of our favourite campsites around! Don't think many campsites will beat it for family fun!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank anniedwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This campsite has so much, great location, not bad facilities, views, space, river, walks, animals, etc etc but it is missing the vital ingredient - Someone to run the place with a bit of passion - so many of the games for kids are closed on Sundays, the place is generally neglected, they are in serious need of staff, the owners are not always that friendly or approachable and the attractions are very overpriced. We have visited once a year for the past five years and while have enjoyed ourselves, we swear each time that we won't return. Lesson learn't on our last visit a few weeks ago and we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mybace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoreValleyPark, Manager at Nore Valley Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We're sorry you have decided to stop coming here, and we recognize the points you have brought up. We are working hard to improve the site and keep it maintained, we hope in the future you might return and see the hard work we're trying to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we usually go camping but we decided to stay in the mobile home for the weekend . reading some of the reviews we didnt know what to do but we decided to see it for ourselfs . to our delight we were glad we did . our little girl had a ball thanks to Gareth who has the pattience of a saint with the kids as do the owners samuel and isobel too . the mobile home was nice and clean and a lovely view of the valley . the homemade brown bread is a must to try . we went into killkenny city which is less than half an hour drive loads to do rain or no rain so you will be ok for the kids . we will deffo be back .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Can't believe some of the reviews this place gets off people.We've been coming here regularly for about four years and it's fantastic,peace and quiet,great walks,great views and good facillities,a real outdoors place.So to the moaners,maybe your not cut out for the camping lifestyle and stick to your hotels

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank alan689908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Not going to beat about the bush here, we drove down and stayed one night and drove home as soon as I could get a refund. We had booked to stay in one of the 4 mobile homes on site. 2 adults and 4 children. First was the mould on all the curtains in every room. None of the windows closed properly or securely at all. The fridge fell apart when I opened it and the smell in the smaller toilet, well I'm not sure what it was. The beds, duvets and pillows have all seen better days and it was obvious that there had been no heating on in the mobile for a very long time (even though my deposit had been paid 2 months prior to us arriving). The mobile was generally dirty, cooker head was covered in grease and dead flies were stuck to the grease. What alarmed me the most though was the fact there was no gas boiler approved sticker, to say when it was last serviced. The sticker had been ripped off.Oh and the shower fell down when we tried to use it. Activities for the children appeared good at first, until you discover that the go-karts are €1.50 per child. Out of 15 karts, only about 6 were in working order. The "play ground" was a joke and the 3d maze, well we didn't bother, because at €1 per level, 10 levels and 4 children was quite expensive I thought. The children loved Gareth and his patience with both them and the animals. But thats it. The final nail in the coffin was waking up to find icicles on the inside of the doors and condensation frozen inside the windows. The gas was gone (Isabel said it was frozen???) and the mobile was beyond freezing. So we packed up. I requested a refund, which I received minus the night we'd stayed. It was a shame really because it wouldn't take much to make the mobiles presentable. As it is I would not recommend Nore Valley at all, to anyone. I was soooo disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We decided to take the campervan out for its final trip of 2012. I had read the previous reviews and was a bit apprehensive on what to expect at Nore Valley but we were very happy with the 3 nights we spent there. We arrived on Saturday afternoon, were greeted with a smile and informed of the activities taking place that evening (bonfire, fancy dress competition, pumpkin carving competition). We always use the awning with our camper and were not charged for this, which I thought was a nice gesture. We set up and had a good look about the place and got ready for the bonfire, it was a lovely evening, they had hot drinks, lovely home made carrot cake, juice, nuts and sweets for the kids. All the kids who partook in both competitions were given treats. The kids loved toasting marsh mallows on the bonfire. A very peaceful nights sleep was had by all. There was about 15 campers/caravans there and even a few tents. Sunday we spent at Nore Valley, we took the walk around the farm and fort, the kids loved the animals, the tractor ride and their favourite was the bouncy hay shed. Animal feeding time was at 5.30pm where the kids got to feed and hold some of the animals. You can order fresh bread, rolls, cakes etc and they will be ready for collection at reception from 8.30am the following morning, nothing like some fresh homemade bread 1st thing in the morning. The toilet facilities were clean, we looked into the kitchen and tv room, both were small but adequate and clean. Because it was Halloween the campground was quite but we really enjoyed our few days at Nore Valley and would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,011 reviews
7.4 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
5.3 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#2 of 19 in Kilkenny
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nore Valley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nore Valley Park

Address: | Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning family run site is located in a quiet, peaceful valley and is personally supervised at all times. A high standard of cleanliness is a priority throughout the site and amenities with no noise or socialising after midnight. Free showers and hot water. Situated on an open farm. Patrons have free access to the farm and children are encouraged to assist in animal feeding. River walk through farm and woodland, children’s play area, sandpit with diggers and chess all free. Also at extra charge poolroom, crazy golf, pedal go-karts, trailer rides and 3D indoor maze. Within 10 km swimming, fishing, canoeing, golf, craft shops, horse riding and many historical sites. You can enjoy home baked bread, scones, tarts, pizza and quiches daily or start the day with a continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing