We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park, Caravans need some attention”
Review of Nore Valley Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nore Valley Park
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Park, Caravans need some attention”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent a week staying in a caravan in the park in July with my Husband and Son. We booked as it looked very family friendly which is what we wanted for our 4 year old. We arrived aroun 2.30 and advised we could have a look around as cleaner was still in the van. When we got to the van I was not overly impressed. I know they are older vans but for the cleaner to have just left it honestly seemed as though no one had been staying in it for months, there were alot of flies and a real damp musty smell..Once I gave it a quick clean myself, put up some fly killer and some air freshner it was fine. I just think more effort could have been put into the cleaning.

The new park area and farm are all great, our son loved helping out with feeds and holding the smaller animals, he also loved the mini golf, although I think 3 euro pp is a bit much considering its not in the best of condition. The grounds themselves were very well maintained and the walk along the Nore Valley was lovely.

All in all i think the positives outweighed the negatives in the park, a few minor touch ups and would give it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    11
    12
    18
See reviews for
113
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our 7th camping trip and so far the best yet. It ticked all the boxes for us. Within easy distance of Dublin but far enough that you feel you are getting away from it all. So much for the kids, you don't need to move offsite if you don't want to. Onsite shop with home baking (bread, scones, pizza) and very well stocked with other items too. Bread, milk, rashers, icecream, charcoal to name a few. Free hot clean showers. Great views. Good playground. Totally relaxed atmosphere. We loved it.

We went with friends for a two night stay and were given a site with room for the two family tents and parking. Our own little private corner. The only tiny downside was a bit of a waft from the drains or maybe a manure pile down the way. The owner offered to relocate us and gave us another option, but given the privacy of the first pitch, we decided to stay where we were, and the smell seemed to disappear after a while.

This really is a gem of a place, the kids loved the cuddle time with the rabbits and the chicks and just the overall freedom of the farm. Another reviewer mentioned some dangers, and we did notice that there was some sharp rusty edges on gates and things like that but as long as you warn the kids, its not a massive issue. We didn't get to do the river walk as myself and my friend are heavily pregnant but we look forward to a future visit to do all the rest this place has to offer. The playground has a frame with 3 cool slides. It has only one swing and could do with another set as there was a bit of turn taking required here.

There is lovely living room with comfy couches and TV, some people were sat in watching the world cup play-offs. There was a hob which did not appear to require payment for electricity. There are two wash up areas. A small one beside the TV room and a larger area with 2/3 sinks in the main utility block. I really liked the way there was plenty of fairy liquid and sponges lying around in case you forgot yours. The toilets and showers were adequate and kept reasonably clean.

All in all a fantastic break and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyIrishCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just home from our 3rd visit to Nore Valley Campground and felt I had to write a review to say how much we enjoyed our visit. The campsite is beautifully positioned overlooking Nore Valley offering get views over the Kilkenny countryside. You can take a walk down by the river or just sit back and admire the views. We have 4 children from 6 months to 10 years and the 3 older children loved the new play frame with 3 different style slides. There is also a sandpit with diggers and dumpers, a hay jump, a maze, peddle go carts and lots of animals to see and pet. All the children there seem to love being able to get up close and personal with the animals. They got to hold rabbits and chicks and you can also assist feeding the other animals on the farm - brilliant. The facilities are also very well maintained with hot water freely available for showering, washing dishes, etc something your charged for in most campsites we've visited. All in all we had another very enjoyable stay in Nore Valley Campground and we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdeeai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

only stayed one night but found the site and staff great, Site is really good value,away from road with a well stocked shop..Clean and tidy all round ..will definately return..this site is a family site with great facilites to entertain the children ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from a weekend in the Nore Valley Park. We went as a family group - grandparents, aunt, uncle and 3 grandchildren aged 3-7. We all had a great time. The children loved it especially jumping in the hay, the tractor ride, meeting the rabbits and feeding the lambs. The little shop had all the necessities and home-made biscuits and breads. The caravan was clean and well equipped but the bed linen supplied could be upgraded. That is the only minor detail I would change in this family friendly campsite. Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a small break to nore valley,this was our first trip here and I can definitely say we will be back.
Safe for the children with a new play ground and lovely staff to make sure your stay is enjoyable. One of our boys has special needs and the staff were great with him. We all loved the animals got to feed the lambs and rabbits. Toilets and showers were all clean.
Overall a very relaxing few days.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank har76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Spent the last long weekend here and we were quite impressed with the place. The campsite is quite small, but very well kept and very organised. Showers/toilets were clean and there are tons of things to do with the kids. Sure there's a noisy donkey and other animals, but it's a farm so it would be pretty normal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Giansilvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nore Valley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nore Valley Park

Property: Nore Valley Park
Address: | Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning family run site is located in a quiet, peaceful valley and is personally supervised at all times. A high standard of cleanliness is a priority throughout the site and amenities with no noise or socialising after midnight. Free showers and hot water. Situated on an open farm. Patrons have free access to the farm and children are encouraged to assist in animal feeding. River walk through farm and woodland, children’s play area, sandpit with diggers and chess all free. Also at extra charge poolroom, crazy golf, pedal go-karts, trailer rides and 3D indoor maze. Within 10 km swimming, fishing, canoeing, golf, craft shops, horse riding and many historical sites. You can enjoy home baked bread, scones, tarts, pizza and quiches daily or start the day with a continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing