We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Longbowe was an AMAZING find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables & Longbowe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables & Longbowe
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Longbowe was an AMAZING find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a girls weekend down in Kilkenny last weekend, and after doing a bit of research, we had decided on Longbowe, based a bit on the price and proximity to the town. We had no idea what to expect, but had there been expectations, they were well exceeded! We opened the door to find an amazing, modern house. Reviews and photos didn't even do it justice! We were like little kids running around the house exploring. As per the reviews, a lovely chocolate loaf cake was left on the table for us, and eggs were dropped into the house the next day. The house was beautiful, and just what we needed to have an amazing girly weekend in Kilkenny. It is only a 15 minute walk into town, which you don't even notice. We only got to meet Kevin (the owner) and he was so kind. I can't say enough positive things about the place. I will definitely be back. It's PERFECT for a friends weekend, families, and couples... Even on your own for a place to just relax. The rooms are bright, and the beds are extremely comfortable! I can't wait until my next trip to Kilkenny, and I definitely know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTKILKENNYKilkenny, Owner at The Gables & Longbowe, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks girls for such a flattering review, our aim always is to please and we were so glad you were pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed at the longbowe for st paddys weekend with a crowd. Brillant location and the house was amazing,lots of room,clean and very functional. Good proximity to the. Town. Would def stay again if travelling. Down to kilkenny! you will not be disapointed and the farm location adds a nice touch

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTKILKENNYKilkenny, Owner at The Gables & Longbowe, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your trip to Longbowe for St Patrick's weekend. We are gald that you enjoyed yourself with us and we are delighted that you would think of coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Longbowe is a unique and special place. Located within walking distance of Kilkenny city, yet you feel as if you're in the heart of the country. Nestled between a stone wall on one side and oak trees on the other, this really is an idyllic place. The accomodation is bright, airy and spacious, thanks to the walls of windows and the high ceilings. These walls of windows allow you to enjoy the beautiful view of fields and old trees from every room. You can also access the river walk, which runs inot the city centre, directly from the property.

It is well equipped with all modern conveniences and is beautifully decorated. We loved the design of the bathrooms, which have a spa feel to them.

The owners, Kevin and Joan, couldn't have been nicer. When we arrived, there was a delicious, freshly baked lemon drizzle cake waiting for us. During the week, Kevin dropped by with some fresh eggs. We felt they were very available to us and yet were unobtrusive.

We have stayed in many holiday rentals over the years, but this is without doubt the best we have ever experienced. We could very happily live in this house and we had booked our next stay there before we left.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCarthys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTKILKENNY, Owner at The Gables & Longbowe, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Holidayhome. As we always say "It's nice to look after nice people". Kindest Regards,Kevin & Joan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Thanks to hosts Kevin and Joan for looking after us so well - the house is so roomy; modern and with everything you could ever need. Great destination for families; couples and groups. Had the feel of the countryside and the convenience of the town. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindamaryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Kevin and Joan are lovely hosts who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our stay comfortable. They delivered fresh eggs from their free range chickens, a wonderful home baked apple cake and a bottle of wine during our stay. Longbowe is a fantastic home in a great location. The views are spectacular and the horses were very friendly, especially when there were apples on the menu! The walk into Kilkenny was easy both via the road and via the path by the river. We liked the river path most but due to a very rainy couple of days, we were only able to take that route once. Cab fares to and from town were very reasonable and the walk so pleasant that we didn't find a need to rent a car. We visited a fitness center called The Watershed which was very close to Longbowe. They had short term memberships and the facility was fantastic. I hope to have the opportunity to visit Kilkenny and to stay at Longbowe again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We love The Gables! It is warm and welcoming, located in a rustic setting, and one can not ask for more gracious or accommodating hosts. The Mahons go out of their way to make visitors feel comfortable and relaxed. The location is excellent - extensive farmland is the setting of the property, yet a short drive or 30 minute stroll will find you at Kilkenny city center with all it's wonderful shops, pubs, restaurants, and points of interest.. Among our favorite amenities at The Gables are two comfortable reading chairs near the charming fireplace for evenings spent "at home". To reiterate, we love The Gables - as evidenced by the fact that we have stayed there almost yearly since 1996!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Longbowe is a gorgeous place to stay - modern, clean, gorgeous surroundings - horses, elk, beautiful green fields - with all modern amenities. Very close to the town of Kilkenny. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racegirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
9.4 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables & Longbowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables & Longbowe

Property: The Gables & Longbowe
Address: Archersgrove | Bennettsbridge Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Unique Holiday-homes close to the Medieval City of Kilkenny.The Gables in an restored 18th century fishing lodge that sleeps 5 people. Longbowe is state of the art new-build eco-friendly holidayhome that sleeps 6 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing