We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food”
Review of La Rivista

La Rivista
Ranked #6 of 223 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

very enjoyable meal with our toddler daughter this week. Food was great & staff too. Good price on the early bird meal. Will definitely return when in Kilkenny again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farrellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    111
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic option for a group occasion”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I organised a dinner here for a large group and the staff and management could not have done more to make this run smoothly and enjoyably. The menu was great value and the food exceeded expectations: everyone was very happy with their choices with the fish of the day a particular hit. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very efficient with excellent attention to detail. An all-round great experience - I will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leelaw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grand, but not great”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Fine food and decent service, but really nothing to write home about. Staff were lovely. However, a number of items weren't presented as described: garlic bread rather than pizza bread was a disappointment; no ice cream with my dessert. We went at 6 and it was full of families, so if planning a romantic evening, leave it until later!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLoverLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Have eating here many times with no complaints, Friendly staff and beautiful food what else can you ask for. One of my favourite places to eat in kilkenny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good service and food - No complaints”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited Kilkenny for a couple of nights during the hot spell and thought we would try this place early evening after the reviews here. It was quiet, a few tables. It is always off-putting when a place is empty-ish as you don't easily get a feel for it. We were approached very quickly and given menus and greeted well. While checked upon we were again left to decide in our own time which is great practice and often a problem as you feel rushed. The waitress was excellent and really helpful and chatty too. Really the rest is simple, very good food and service throughout. I had fish and the missus had a chicken dish, all lovely and decent portion size. Starters were also on target. I asked if there were some olives available and a very nice dish of black and green were presented with plenty of top-notch versions! .....3 euro was added to the bill which was worth every cent. We had the "wine and dine" option which is a bottle of wine and 3 courses and the wine was an excellent red from Chile. I think we will visit again over the winter as it was a great value meal and great service too which is a rare thing, please try it too if you are in the region. Just down from Rothe House on the same side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rivista also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Rivista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing