We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best fish dish in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rivista

La Rivista
Ranked #12 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“the best fish dish in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had the fish with baby roast potatoes , lemon sauce and crushed peas . Really delicious and the service was attentive but not intrusive. Very good value.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    107
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous every time! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

On a return visit to Kilkenny this with our two year old daughter, we ate in La Rivista. The food and service gets better and better. The staff were so attentive to us and gave colouring pencils and menu to our little one. The food was simply amazing. We all had beautiful pasta dishes. Best of all the atmosphere is so calm and relaxing there. We had a wonderful meal and look forward to returning again when In Kilkenny. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Farrellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We ate here last time we visited Kilkenny and will go back on our next trip. Delicious food , presented well. Casual and informal ambience and good value and definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dustylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere and food was great - What more are you looking for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited here on a midweek night when you look at others places and they are quiet. Although it was not full there were still quite a few tables eating at 8pm. We were greeted at the door by a friendly waitress and were shown to our table. They are doing a great meal deal of 59 EUR for 3 course meal and wine for 2 people. Not many places that offer a deal like that. They also give you options for 2 courses ro one course so can eat depending on your appetite.

Service was quick for drinks as we were waiting for the others to arrive. Once there they were also served quickly. Food order was taken quickly and we had finished our 2 courses and a bottle of wine in 1 1/2 hours. Totally perfect time for a restaurant experience of this calibre. The food was tasty. However if you are not a fish eater then please ask that no fish is on the dishes. I order a bruschetta and got anchovies on it. Good selection of wine. Enough choice for the different grape varieties.

What I loved about this restaurant is that we could sit and chat after our meal. There was no "pushing" us out the door as we are finished eating. We had to ask for the bill which is a testament to their hospitality. One small thing I would criticise is the fact that you have to walk past an opening into the kitchen to go to the toilets. However there is not much can be done about this as it is how the kitchen is planned. It is the wash up area. It is clean though as there was no dishes piled up on the pass.

I would definitely eat here again and recommend it to others if visiting Kilkenny. It is a quality restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have eaten here twice and both times came out floating.

Perfect cuisine and portion size and imaginative menus and great staff and pleasant surroundings in the beautiful city of Kilkenny.

It doesn't get any better than this.

I sent my Dad and stepmom for dinner here last week and they agreed with me. Absolutely ticks all the boxes.
Well done to all concerned.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mayigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rivista also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to La Rivista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing