We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor...”

William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Had lunch one day. Very very poor standard of food. Had a steak bagette...not too hard to mess up or so you would think...disgusting and swimming in grease.
Not good enough these days when there's so much choice out there. I won't be back.
On the plus side the bar man was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

me and my wife and another couple went to kilkenny on fri 20th april for 2 nights we booked 2 double rooms at wm byrnes bar after reading a few reviews which didnt sound to bad, so rang and booked 2 doubles. when we arrived we were met by a young lady who showed us to our rooms,just walking up the stairs started alarm bells ringing, the stair carpet was filthy and stains all over it with junk piled all over. and oh my god the rooms were an absulute disgrace,we,ll start with our room king size bed in a small room so no room to move we couldn,t even put our suitcase on the floor,the bedcloths looked old and grubby though the sheets looked a bit cleaner. when we opened one draw handle came off and when we looked inside there was a large empty coke bottle, when we opened one of the bedside lockers we found a large empty crisp packet,the whole room was full of dust cleaning is not a top prioraty at this kip oops i mean b&b.now for the bathroom no towelrails or hooks paint peeling from the ceiling most of the grout was black and when you had a shower the water came back up{this happend in both rooms], now for the towels they had seen better days propably the 60,s threadbare is probaply the word.there was no shower mat so you stepped on to a dirty floor{accident waiting to happen},next to the bed there was a small table with what looked like a dirty rag on it and a small kettle suffice to say didnt use it god knows what we,ve found in it,best leave some things well alone.the 2nd room was a lot bigger king size bed and a single it was as equally as dirty,both had t.v,s at least ours worked 3 stations the other t.v didnt work we tried to find a differant hotel on the internet but at 5 pm we had no chance, so we decidid to chance the one night rather than drive back to dublin when we informed the barman we were staying just the one night he was alright with with it never asked why,he propably knew the reason and couldnt believe we even stayed the one.now the breakfast was not the worst we,ve had but took about to 25 mins to arrive nobody else there just us. the night we arived i noticed a couple of people on laptops,was the owners paying them to put good reviews online for them because if you saw this place you,d believe every word i have written and then thought i was being kind,and before i finish the so called smoking area or coverd out door area call it what you want consisted of a mixture of old furniture and ripped and stained sofas .on the sat we managed to book in to the aspect hotel 5 mins from the centre what a contrast recommend this one.now to finish if the kilkenny tourist board were seriouse they would shut this filthy place down to protect kilkennys image and it,s guests.should have slept in the car going now to get a tetnus jab to be safe

Room Tip: no such thing in this hovel stay away
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank menherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Service was very friendly and the breakfasts fine.

HOWEVER...

The room initially offered had no en suite facilities, had no wardrobe and was dirty. It looked as though it was possibly a storeage room as it did have a fridge and large, empty wooden winerack. A towel I was expected to use was heavily stained and not fit for use. The shower tray in the bathroom along the corridor was dirty looked as though there was a bio hazard growing in it. Grout on the bathroom walls was old and dirty. The whole of the accomodation and bar area looked as though it needed a complete overhaul. The carpet on the stairs leading to the guest rooms was filthy dirty. There was paint peeling off and cracking on walls and ceilings, sofa seats were ripped and tired. Ceilings in bathrooms had mildew / spores growing on them. The extractor fan in one of the bathrooms was covered in cobwebs that looked as though they had been there for years. The list goes on and on... I do not recommend a stay here unless you are absolutely desperate. Credit / debit card payments were not accepted. Payment was cash only. Read into that what you will.

Room Tip: Give this place a miss... Find another B & B
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustJohn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

had a great long weekend here staff very friendly and helpfull,good place to see the city from
near to all its attractions and nightlifeon its doorstep, breakfast is nice and they also do lunch
the bar is a nice place to meet and has a glowing fire in the corner smoking area is off the bar with soft furnishings i will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atjmtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our first B&B on our Ireland trip, place was a little shabby due to renovations, but the people were really nice. Don't stay here if you do not like the pubs, there is one below the rooms and they have regulars every night was a bit loud.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My boyfriend & I decided to go to Kilkenny for a weekend, and booked this B&B at short notice. They were really nice on the phone, and said would we mind noise in the morning, because they would be doing renovations on the place. We'd planned to head out early to go sightseeing, so that wasn't a problem. On arrival in Kilkenny, we couldn't actually find the place, because the facade of the building had been taken away, there was no sign over the door to indicate what this shabby looking building was! The landlady should have said "building site" instead of "renovations". The pub was covered over with chipboard on the floor and the walls, tho the regulars were still propping up the bar. The carpet stairs up to the bedrooms was filthy, and the kitchen didn't look the best. The rooms and entire building was damp. The bathroom was old and not that clean, and the peeling paint over the shower, coupled with black damp spots hardly created an atmosphere of cosiness - or cleanliness! The string you pull to put the light on over the bathroom mirror was orange with dirt. The beer garden was full of builder's rubbish and most unappealing. The whole place was damp, depressing and stomach turning, and I shook the dust off my feet when I left! It was like being in a Kilkenny version of Angela's Ashes. Thankfully there were enough nice pubs, sights & restaurants in Kilkenny so I could go out and put this dive out of my mind! Hopefully after the renovations it'll be like a proper B&B. But I'd still be wary about the cleanliness of their kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinClara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I must highly reccomend Byrnes b+b on john street kilkenny the landlady Hannah was very friendly helpful and the rooms were spotless very comfortable and all room facilities were there the quietness was fantastic considering its on a busy thoroughfare even though we stayed one night it left a lasting impression we would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossom064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#44 of 73 in Kilkenny
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 73 in Kilkenny
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carraig Rua B&B
Carraig Rua B&B
#15 of 73 in Kilkenny
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse

Address: 39 John Street Upper, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing