We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IRISH HOSPITALITY AT ITS BEST” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse

William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
Ranked #69 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“IRISH HOSPITALITY AT ITS BEST”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed one night for Bruce Springsteen concert..great welcome upon arriving from Hannah the landlady! downstairs you have the irish pub that you only hear about, what an atmlosphere!!! upstairs you have immaculate ensuite bedrooms, and a breakfast that will set you up for the day!!!! every staff member smiles and says "no problem" to everything!! right in the centre of kilkenny ! great stay \and will def def be back !!!

Room Tip: dont be put off by the music downstairs it stops after 1 and you can hear a pin drop!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vera d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We made a spontaneous visit to Kilkenny on a recent trip to Ireland and hadn't booked anything in advance. We found this place very close to the railway station. It's a family run pub. The bar man was very friendly and had no problem booking us in for two nights at short notice. The pub itself is very atmospheric and very well decorated. The rooms were very clean and our double room was ensuite. After a late night in the pub, we did get up a little late and was worried we'd missed breakfast. But we were still treated to a hearty full Irish breakfast by the landlady, Hannie. I have no doubt we will be back again. Kilkenny is definitely on our list of places to visit the next time we go. And Byrnes will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights this weekend. A sound night's sleep was followed by a hearty and well-cooked breakfast which really set us up for the day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great too., close to centre, castle shops etc, as well as transport.
If you are visiting Kilkenny, i would highly recommend staying at Byrne's - i know we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hesketh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This March we stayed for three nights in this wonderful guest house on our trip to Ireland with my parents and brother. It's very nice house with very friendly staff. The rooms were very clean. Our room was ensuite too. They managed to give us a room for the whole family at a very good price.

The location was great for the city centre and there are lots of other bars on the same street. The landlady was very helpful, and told us some of the history of town and advised us on places to visit.

Also the food was tasty and the portions were very big too.

We fell in love with the town of Kilkenny and people and we will definitely be back again some time to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrinaP472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Had lunch one day. Very very poor standard of food. Had a steak bagette...not too hard to mess up or so you would think...disgusting and swimming in grease.
Not good enough these days when there's so much choice out there. I won't be back.
On the plus side the bar man was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

me and my wife and another couple went to kilkenny on fri 20th april for 2 nights we booked 2 double rooms at wm byrnes bar after reading a few reviews which didnt sound to bad, so rang and booked 2 doubles. when we arrived we were met by a young lady who showed us to our rooms,just walking up the stairs started alarm bells ringing, the stair carpet was filthy and stains all over it with junk piled all over. and oh my god the rooms were an absulute disgrace,we,ll start with our room king size bed in a small room so no room to move we couldn,t even put our suitcase on the floor,the bedcloths looked old and grubby though the sheets looked a bit cleaner. when we opened one draw handle came off and when we looked inside there was a large empty coke bottle, when we opened one of the bedside lockers we found a large empty crisp packet,the whole room was full of dust cleaning is not a top prioraty at this kip oops i mean b&b.now for the bathroom no towelrails or hooks paint peeling from the ceiling most of the grout was black and when you had a shower the water came back up{this happend in both rooms], now for the towels they had seen better days propably the 60,s threadbare is probaply the word.there was no shower mat so you stepped on to a dirty floor{accident waiting to happen},next to the bed there was a small table with what looked like a dirty rag on it and a small kettle suffice to say didnt use it god knows what we,ve found in it,best leave some things well alone.the 2nd room was a lot bigger king size bed and a single it was as equally as dirty,both had t.v,s at least ours worked 3 stations the other t.v didnt work we tried to find a differant hotel on the internet but at 5 pm we had no chance, so we decidid to chance the one night rather than drive back to dublin when we informed the barman we were staying just the one night he was alright with with it never asked why,he propably knew the reason and couldnt believe we even stayed the one.now the breakfast was not the worst we,ve had but took about to 25 mins to arrive nobody else there just us. the night we arived i noticed a couple of people on laptops,was the owners paying them to put good reviews online for them because if you saw this place you,d believe every word i have written and then thought i was being kind,and before i finish the so called smoking area or coverd out door area call it what you want consisted of a mixture of old furniture and ripped and stained sofas .on the sat we managed to book in to the aspect hotel 5 mins from the centre what a contrast recommend this one.now to finish if the kilkenny tourist board were seriouse they would shut this filthy place down to protect kilkennys image and it,s guests.should have slept in the car going now to get a tetnus jab to be safe

Room Tip: no such thing in this hovel stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank menherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Service was very friendly and the breakfasts fine.

HOWEVER...

The room initially offered had no en suite facilities, had no wardrobe and was dirty. It looked as though it was possibly a storeage room as it did have a fridge and large, empty wooden winerack. A towel I was expected to use was heavily stained and not fit for use. The shower tray in the bathroom along the corridor was dirty looked as though there was a bio hazard growing in it. Grout on the bathroom walls was old and dirty. The whole of the accomodation and bar area looked as though it needed a complete overhaul. The carpet on the stairs leading to the guest rooms was filthy dirty. There was paint peeling off and cracking on walls and ceilings, sofa seats were ripped and tired. Ceilings in bathrooms had mildew / spores growing on them. The extractor fan in one of the bathrooms was covered in cobwebs that looked as though they had been there for years. The list goes on and on... I do not recommend a stay here unless you are absolutely desperate. Credit / debit card payments were not accepted. Payment was cash only. Read into that what you will.

Room Tip: Give this place a miss... Find another B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJohn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCourts Townhouse
McCourts Townhouse
#71 of 77 in Kilkenny
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#9 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#29 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse

Property: William Byrne's Bar and Guesthouse
Address: 39 John Street Upper, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing