We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”

The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Ranked #30 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We walked past this place on our way into the city for dinner. Staff very friendly and lovely atmosphere. Not as touristy as the other pubs in the city so we liked that. Had a nice chat with the manager / owner. We liked it so much we stopped off again for one on our way home- there was a great band playing too. What else do you want- great pub so make sure you stop by for one if passing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    45
    15
    12
    15
See reviews for
17
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

House-hunting around Ireland, and everybody said I should check out Kilkenny. They were right. Fabulous town, full of pubs full of music & comedy (planned & spontaneous), antique shops full of stuffed peacocks & unstuffy people, cobbledy streets full of bun-shops & buskers... Loveliest female taxi-driver in the world said "This place is cooool!" & it is & it hots up at night.
The Rafter's was invaded by wacky hen-parties, which didn't make for a quiet life, but they were great characters & the fun was irresistible.
Brilliant hospitality & food, informal & easy-going. I'd still like to move there!

Room Tip: The room was homely & welcoming, but by the time you get back to it you'll have forgotten wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Had an awful experience with Rose Cottage in Kilkenny (I was charged even when no one was there when I arrived!). Anways, I met a wonderful cab driver named John who recommended Rafters and I was immediately given a room without having booked prior to arriving at a very reasonable rate. It was exactly what I was hoping for in a B&B. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The manager/owner was very ignorant, didn't want to give us extra towels. Rooms were too expensive @ €50 per person, as it was more like a hostel. Breakfast and service was terrible.
Next time I visit Kilkenny I won't be staying in the Rafter Dempsey's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Rooms okay, small & basic...Stayed here, pub very good nice staff manager poor though, not willing to have a conversation with the customer when not happy pawns it off on the bar staff. Poor customer relations, the manager/owner is very poor...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryFlanagan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Cosy b&b room with a good location even though the town is fairly small. The cinema is in the same street. We stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't hear any noise from the pub.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Part of a hens wkd. Stayed in a quad room. Very small window so we were all sweltering in there. Room was in need of decorating and could do with full length mirror. Great location. Overall I'd have been happy if we'd paid much less than 200 eur for the room. It was more like a hostel. We could have stayed in the 4 star Ormonde hotel for 30 eur more.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#6 of 18 in Kilkenny
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 73 in Kilkenny
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Guesthouse
Imperial Guesthouse
#63 of 73 in Kilkenny
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#49 of 73 in Kilkenny
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 'Rafter' Dempsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Property: The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Address: 4 Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The 'Rafter' Dempsey's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a great city centre hotel/guesthouse for anyone who wants to stay in the centre of all the shopping and nitelife attraction's that Kilkenny has to offer. A warm welcome and friendly staff await all guests, whether they want to wine or dine, or just unwind.Has won many awards for it's fantastic shopfront flower display's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The 'Rafter' Dempsey's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing