We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Ranked #42 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Weekend!!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A gang of 20 of us stayed here for a stag weekend, and we had a great time. The manager Josephine was very easy to deal with and provided great communication and help with planing of the weekend. The bar and food service were excellent a big thanks to mick!! Excellent location in the centre of Kilkenny, could not ask for any more. Highly recommended and I will use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    46
    16
    13
    16
See reviews for
17
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for a stag weekend, had a great time.Would highly recommend ''The Rafter Dempseys'' service and food was excellent. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was really nice. Josephine was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycork82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wild West
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here and ended up so disappointed that there was only heat for an hour a day and it barely worked we left. The lady was so rude and said to us "are you cold" as she wore a ski jacket and layers under that. Great location. Not so great parking but if it is cold outside do not stay here. Her comment was it was set to come on at seven pm and go off at 8 pm. It was 1 centigrade outside. I asked her about this and she said it was expensive to heat. You want $110.00 from me. I expect heat. The only bad experience in 15 days in Ireland

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I recently went to Rafter Dempsey's on a Stag. We paid €200 for a room with broken heating! To be honest it is in an excellent location but the manager/owner (not sure which he was, the guy in the white shirt & tie) was the guy who annoyed me.

First of all we arranged to meet for dinner in Rafters at 7pm. We were 10 minutes late and he had given our table away (a table for 12). We had to eat somewhere else.
Secondly on the Sunday morning the stag missed breakfast by an hour. I noticed when he got down that they were still serving breakfast and asked could I get one for the stag (he paid for his B&B after all). Manager/Owner said no, but he could have one if he paid €11.

The Manager/Owner guy was totally within his right with both incidents above but he could have shown a small bit of common courtesy. The barman was a nice guy but couldn't do anything as it wasn't his place.

I would not go back and would not recommend the place to friends. Atmosphere and service count for a lot & the Manager/Owner of Rafter Dempsey's is oblivious to that!

Room Tip: Find a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endashirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were traveling around Ireland. We loved the location- we could walk around to everywhere. We had to find our own parking on the street, but happened to find a spot about a block away. The included breakfast was delicious and very filling. The staff were friendly but we didn't have a lot of interactions.

The room was good sized, but a little dated. Our room had a double and single bed. I'm not sure if any of the rooms had queen-sized bed. The bathroom was a little small, but had a nice hot shower. The only socket that we were able to find was the one that the TV was plugged into, so we were swapping things frequently. All in all, we had a nice time and would likely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquababy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

didnt stay in bnb but went for a pint with friends on a pub crawl- 1st pub we went to- lovely pint and sports on tv. goos stmosphere , hubby and i going for a few here when we revisit kilkenny in october

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for one night, staff are very accomdating, good service in bar, entertainment was brill,and breakfast was excellent food and service. Lovely place to relax after a night out, staff very nice and friendly
Will definitely be going back for a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club House Hotel
Club House Hotel
#16 of 19 in Kilkenny
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#62 of 72 in Kilkenny
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 72 in Kilkenny
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#12 of 21 in Kilkenny
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 'Rafter' Dempsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 'Rafter' Dempsey's

Property: The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
Address: 4 Friary Street | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The 'Rafter' Dempsey's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a great city centre hotel/guesthouse for anyone who wants to stay in the centre of all the shopping and nitelife attraction's that Kilkenny has to offer. A warm welcome and friendly staff await all guests, whether they want to wine or dine, or just unwind.Has won many awards for it's fantastic shopfront flower display's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The 'Rafter' Dempsey's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing