We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of McCourts Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McCourts Townhouse
Ranked #72 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just back from the McCourt town house in Kilkeeny what a let down.When we arrived we had to go to the Riverbank hotel for the keys to our room.The receptionist gave us directions to our room when we opened the door what a let down. The room was so small just a bed and a wardrobe with no door and only 2 hangers 1 chair not even a kettle to make a cup of tea. The bathroom was tiny. Don't get me wrong I love to get away but I still love to relax and enjoy the accomadition but this room was so small and stuffy, the window would not even open.On top of all that we had to pay extra for breakfast which I have to say was lovely. The breakfast was served in the riverbank hotel.For the price that was payed for the 2 nights and the very basic room I can't believe breakfast was extra. They call this a boutique hotel sorry but I would have to call this a hostel of very low rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at McCourts Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry the experience is not what you expected. We offer clean and comfortable accommodation at a budget price. Our rooms are suitable for short term stays and are on a room only basis, the only facilities we offer on site is free wi-fi. As an option for our guests, we offer breakfast at the Rivercourt Hotel next door at a reduced price.

We hope you did not feel mislead as to our facilities, we are not a hotel but a townhouse as our websites states.

Again, we are very sorry you had a disappointing stay, your feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    18
    5
    19
See reviews for
10
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Two friends and I had a great night in Kilkenny and a great stay in McCourt Townhouse. We didn't need too much in the way of luxury as we knew we'd be out and about, enjoying the place. This was the perfect option-right in the middle of town and not to expensive. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyfurIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Townhouse's are in a great locations. Right next to the river and near the town area and the castle. The room itself was quite small, are bed only allowed the door to open just wide enough to allow us to walk one at time at an angle. With two large roll suitcases, carry on bags, and us.. the only available area was to sit on the bed or stand in the bathroom. The room and bathroom were extremely clean! Oddly, the Townhouse is connected to the hotel behind it (Riverside.. gorgeous and friendly staff) however you can not make out going calls from the room and there were no wake up calls. Great place and would suggest it to anyone! Parking on site! Just remember to bring an alarm!

Room Tip: Bring an alarm and if your able to to a cell phone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtrak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at McCourts Townhouse, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is unfortunate that some of our rooms are smaller. We were limited in our ability to extend some room sizes during renovation because of the buildings heritage protection status. We would be happy to see if we can accommodate you in a larger room during your next stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here with friends, brilliant location. Walking distances to all pubs and clubs in Kilkenny! Rooms are basic but clean and have a comfy clean bed!
We weren't affected by noise as our room was at the back of the building facing the rivercourt hotel! Parking is in the rivercourt and costs 3 euro! Check in, is in the
hotel and all staff were very friendly and professional! Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoisIrishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The google directions were not clear at all, and yet, it was just in the center of everything, very comfortable, the staff were extremely nice and even though the room was pretty small, it was okay. Clean and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We arrived on a Saturday night without a booking, the main hotel did not have any twin rooms left so we were given a room in the mccourts townhouse. The receptionist did advise that the room was basic - which it was, but this was ok as we expected it and had based our decision on this.
However, the townhouses are next to an extremely noisy pub, and this noise continued till 2.45am, at which time the pub closed. The people then stood outside the pub and continued making noise until nearly 4am. Not long after this the street cleaner went passed, not once but twice. At the same time we had noise from other guests running up and down the hallway all night and slamming doors.

Not at all impressed. Would have left in the middle of the night if we thought we could get a room elsewhere and had not already prepaid for the room. I assume they ask for prepayment because they know how bad the rooms are.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stayed here for a weekend, firstly you check in at the hotel & then you go into the house by going back out down the main street & in a door. The entrance & stairways are dark & slightly grubby. The room had a grubby feel small feeling. The bathroom was grubby, & the shower only had cold water & the shower head was about 5 foot high! we asked for a room change & were given one the next day (receoptionist was nice), but the 2nd room we were given was much smaller again & narrow, with just a chair as a bedside table & the other side of the bed wedged against the wall, batroom was functionally but grubby. That night the bedwoom was onto the main street & an alarm was going - not much sleep & no room available to change from the hotel - not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hig186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Imperial Guesthouse
Imperial Guesthouse
#66 of 78 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#29 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hibernian House
Hibernian House
#51 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCourts Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCourts Townhouse

Property: McCourts Townhouse
Address: John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCourts Townhouse offers guests convenient, budget accommodation in Kilkenny city centre, at affordable cheap prices. McCourts is located just above Yindees Thai Restaurant overlooking the river.With just 15 unique en-suite rooms, each with a fresh decor, comfy quilts and bed linen, McCourts budget accommodation Kilkenny is perfect for a short break in Kilkenny city or a group getaway.Secure car parking is available at a small charge. There is complimentary Wi Fi available throughout McCourts and Yindees Downtown Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your McCourts Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing