We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of McCourts Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCourts Townhouse
Ranked #70 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Naxxar, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this Townhouse only for one night. It is good to know that there is no elevators at this townhouse so you might have a problem if you are travelling heavy. There is quite some stairs and its rather narrow - depending on which floor the room is situated. In our case the room was quite good and clean however it was very far off from the main entrance and we had to go through some 3 or 4 doors after the first flight of stairs, in order to reach the room. However the staff is very friendly and wifi is available throughout. The room also had a tv and the chinese restaurant located on street level is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grechmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    18
    6
    19
See reviews for
10
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

What an ideal location.. Great for a night out in Kilkenny with friends. We came for the Cat Laughs! Rooms are a bit small but very clean & tidy. Staff were friendly & helpful. Really enjoyed weekend in Kilkenny & would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nellco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good location, clean room but a lot of moisture on the walls. The noise from the other rooms is easily heared in ours, not too private. The price was good, and the location is perfect.
There was nobody at the reception after 10pm

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Unfortunately I'm writing this review as we stay here. We prepaid for two nights so we're stuck. Our first room was tiny, and upon closer inspection, the shower and bathroom was filthy and in terrible disrepair. We wouldnt let our 5 year old go anywhere barefoot we were that concerned. We moved to another room where the bed frame squeaks so badly its difficult to sleep (not to mention the windows that didnt close and let in the road noise which was continuous all night). We thought that they would clean the room sometime during the day when we were out, but that's not a service they provide. The heater was broken too. Considering the cost, you can certainly do better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingAnger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowe J, Manager at McCourts Townhouse, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sir
I would firstly like to apologize as it seems my first response did not reach the website. I would like to thank you for your detailed account of your stay with us which was extremely helpful during this transitional period all issues that you experienced have since been resolved. We pride ourselves on offering our clientele a comfortable and affordable stay with us here at Mccourts Townhouse. Please contact me Reference your stay thanking you in advance.

John Rowe
mccourtstownhouse@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kilkenny hotels

Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely charming little place to stay. Rooms nice and clean, fairly standard but cute. The only fault I'd have would be that they don't do breakfast. Also we requested a double room and we got two very small single beds pushed together. A bit uncomfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Two women booked in for a girlie nite on the town....de room is stinking..so bad we had to buy a scented candle,tiny room...€99 was daylight robbery..de smell is so bad and when we open the window the smell from the restaurant downstairs is disgusting!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubytuby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Great location opposite castle in town and friendly staff. However room was tiny (opening the door half way hit the bed), no kettle, view of air conditioning units and roof,hens and stags wandering corridors at 3am.
Then they charge 10eur pp for breakfast and 10eur for parking. Cheeky

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ceannasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lanigans Hostel
Lanigans Hostel
#13 of 20 in Kilkenny
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#42 of 73 in Kilkenny
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCourts Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCourts Townhouse

Property: McCourts Townhouse
Address: John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCourts Townhouse offers guests convenient, budget accommodation in Kilkenny city centre, at affordable cheap prices. McCourts is located just above Yindees Thai Restaurant overlooking the river.With just 15 unique en-suite rooms, each with a fresh decor, comfy quilts and bed linen, McCourts budget accommodation Kilkenny is perfect for a short break in Kilkenny city or a group getaway.Secure car parking is available at a small charge. There is complimentary Wi Fi available throughout McCourts and Yindees Downtown Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your McCourts Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing