We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conned”
Review of Lanigans Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanigans Hostel
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Staff were great as too was the location and rooms for what we wanted. Problem was when the management conned us out of €100 and refused to refund it. Never be back and will advise others to be careful and watch out for this scam.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently stayed in Lanigans Bar and Hostel and had a great night! The location is second to none with the castle and all main streets within a five minute walk. The hostel was very clean and separate from the lively pub which means you can retire from the nightlife without having to worry about noise. We also received a lovely Irish breakfast in the morning included in the price which was a welcomed surprise! Perfect for a stag or backpacker that likes the commodities of home. Great craic to be had!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very very very bad accommodation the rooms are like prison cells, there is no blinds on the windows there was no hot water at all for showers or in hand basins I really really would not recommend anyway wit any dignity stay here the place is an absolute dive

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank carpets_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was the absolute worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. It felt like being in a prison, with the bland colors, dirty metal cages under the beds, and very little natural light. This was my first hostel experience while in Ireland, and luckily the others I stayed in were much cleaner and offered more amenities. In fact, after staying here I was terrified to stay in another hostel, but luckily not all hostels are filthy and dingy like this one. Worst experience of my entire trip. I would never stay here again under any circumstances. I work in the hotel industry and know the impact that Trip Advisor reviews can have on a business, but I really feel that Lanigans needs to step it up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank _wanderlust_0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel was the perfect bonding experience for us. It was a little cramped, but the service was great and the staff was welcoming. Overall one shouldn't expect a hotel, but on a budget it was a great deal!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilnelan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel was at a perfect location in the city. The castle and the main shopping street were all in walking distance. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable. Everyone was very personable and it was all around great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelnasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My first time at a hostel and I'm satisfied with my experience. Somewhat clean..and spacious.
I liked that Lanigan's has a pub too so breakfast and dinner arrangements were so easy (and delicious!)
Also the location of this hostel is perfect!!! If you don't plan on spending all your time in a room, than this hostel is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanigans Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanigans Hostel

Address: 29 Rose Inn Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: £17 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanigans Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lanigans Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing